We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Feels like a trip to the past. The grounds and the pool are lovely. The neighborhood around the hotel seems quiet and full of large trees. It doesn't feel like you are in the middle of a big city. This can be a problem because taxi service in Miami isn’t very efficient, but the hotel itself is very nice, pretty, and relaxing.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Maelisita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for this feedback. Our staff and management at The Biltmore always appreciate hearing from our guests. We’re delighted you and your family enjoyed the hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    374
    161
    77
    39
See reviews for
425
499
56
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

On the positive side of the ledger, the service at the Biltmore is very good and the hotel is pretty, with a grand old Floridian feel. I would add that I really enjoyed breakfast in the lovely outdoor courtyard but the price was outrageous.

However, on the negative side, the pool is large (as advertised) but that only takes away from the lounging area, which is very small. So getting chairs is competitive and there is no room to move with the sun. The worst part is the enormous pool is so cold that it is unusable so you are surely then relegated to the tight lounge area.

Our first room had a very small shower pan so the water can't help but flow out on the bathroom floor, which makes for an annoying mess. Our second room had a larger shower so be careful to ask. Other negatives in the rooms would include spitty water flow from the faucets and limited electrical outlets which are in inconvenient places.

As to the amenities, the gym is nice but there are a lot of locals who use so equipment can get competitive during the week. And for one of the worst baits and switches in history, the tennis courts next to the hotel don't belong to the hotel. If you want to play tennis, you have to book through some local service or the pro will take you off premises for a lesson.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 243345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Here at The Biltmore we welcome constructive feedback from all of our guests as an integral part of monitoring the quality of our product and services. In regards to your comments, we are researching the issues you mentioned; we are confident that the shower issue you mentioned has been effectively resolved. Additionally, we would welcome an opportunity to personally address the other issues with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had a delightful stay at this classic majestic hotel where staff are well trained and personable. The architecture is beautiful and our room was clean. The mattress was a little soft for my liking, but linens were of excellent quality, clean and plentiful, even though the hotel was full during our stay. Food was good and the outdoor courtyard at Fontana Restaurant is a magical spot indeed. Valet parking was expensive but the service there was also excellent and self-parking is available if desired. Our junior suite was small but comfortable and had everything we needed. I was surprised to find no exhaust fan in the windowless bathroom. The long layout of the bath was welcome as it allowed for comfortable use of the space by two people at one time. Two unusual procedural points: gratuities are included in the room rate - this includes valets, bellmen, and waitstaff in the restaurants. Additional tipping is optional but clearly not expected by the staff. And, if charging anything to your room your room key is required for swiping to make the charge to your room. The location of the hotel was very convenient for visiting UM and the neighborhood in which it is situated is gorgeous - beautiful old tree lined streets with interesting homes - just perfect for a walk after dinner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moonshadower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We like to describe the Biltmore as “a bit of Paradise away from the hustle and bustle of busy Miami”. We’re pleased to hear that you left with unique and cherished memories from your stay at the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
189 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Fantastic Easter Sunday, managed to get a table at the last min, the hotel is stunning the pool beautiful and huge, service was a excellent, amazing choice of food, and as much as you can eat caviar so I did, champagne as much as you can drink, a very special treat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank princessofvisconde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Our entire Biltmore team appreciates these kind words about our Sunday Champagne Brunch. We look forward to your return and to delighting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel and grounds were lovely and the staff very attentive. My only criticism was a critical lack of chairs around the pool. For the price I don't expect to have to lay on the cement due to a lack of seating.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, The Biltmore staff continuously strives to exceed our guests’ needs and expectations. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

What a beautiful hotel. My husband, daughter and I just returned from a 2 night stay there and it was lovely. The room (junior suite) was very comfortable and updated. We had a balcony with table and chairs. The service at the Biltmore is wonderful. We enjoyed a day sitting by the pool and the staff was right there all day asking if we needed anything. Dined one night at the Fontana and had a terrific dinner. The food was excellent and again the service was great.

Would definitely stay there again!
wpecc

Room Tip: We had a quiet room on the 3rd floor (a junior suite) with a balcony and a view of the golfcourse in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wpecc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We are very appreciative of your comments and look forward to welcoming you on your future return visits to the Biltmore, when we promise to have more pool chairs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

On Sundays the hotel holds two tours. One at 1:30 p.m. the other at 2:30 p.m. In our personal experience the tour was top in my list of thing to do in Miami. Please be prompt, nobody is waiting for you or will back track the super interesting history of the hotel. At some point, I felt transported to the times of all the adverse, unplanned events that almost destroy this great place. I always hear people stating that Miami does not have any history. My respond is, "not because you don't know it or it is not as long as other cultures is not history. Look for it, please. Some brave, entrepreneur people came to South Florida.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mariemma b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
The Biltmore is a designated National Historic Landmark property known for its rustic Mediterranean charm, which is warmly embraced by our guests and visitors. We’re delighted that you enjoyed the Sunday tour of the property, which we provide for the enjoyment of both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables

Property: The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
Address: 1200 Anastasia Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33134-6339
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#1 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore Hotel is a national historic landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area with close proximity to Miami Beach and downtown Miami. The 273-room resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool on the East Coast of the United States with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding The Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also recently unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, public policy conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing