We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't give your email address”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Having had a satisfactory stay at this hotel I have been hounded by emails from them. Despite unsubscribing they still keep coming. While the hotel is okay it isn't worth the continual badgering. It is difficult to make a reservation and stay without giving one's email so I won't be staying again.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
4  Thank nickdodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

We did respond to this comment several weeks ago, but it appears that was never posted on this website. We do understand the concern with being "overly e-mailed"; we will happily remove your e-mail address if you communicate directly with our PR office, as we cannot tell by the information attached to your comment what that address actually is.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,851)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,073 - 1,079 of 1,851 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

This might not be the place for design addicts, because the mixture of moresque, art deco and belle epoque with some sugar plum expects some tolerance in matter of taste. Nevertheless: This is a real Grand Hotel, where an experienced crew makes the guest feel home. You need a short ride into the center of Coral Gables? No problem, the Biltmore's town care takes you und picks you up. You are checking in late after a long flight? You'll find a bottle of a very good Californian pinot noir and some fruit in your room (complimentary). You like to swim? The pool has more than olympic size. Linens , pillows, beds: pure luxury. If you go to Miami (and can afford it): again, again and again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spikefriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

We are very appreciative of your comments and look forward to welcoming you on your future return visits to the Biltmore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Biltmore in Coral Gables is an iconic treasure. It is full of the history of this beautiful part of Miami (Coral Gables FL) and the hotel does a great job in trying to preserve the old world beauty of this lovely hotel. It is my first choice when visiting Coral Gables and Miami. The staff work hard at European style service. We hosted a wedding for my daughter and the staff were wonderful to work with. We will return on future trips to Miami.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you for this feedback. Our staff and management at Biltmore always appreciate hearing from our guests. We’re delighted you, your family and your guests enjoyed the hospitality for this very special occasion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We repeat stay after a few years specially to enjoy its Sunday brunch, still spectacular (but this time missing lobster!) I Advise you to visit the excellent assortment of desserts before you start eating. But nevertheless we detected a decline in service staff (always demanding more than looking for a tip) which is worrying for a hotel of its category.
Otherwise, spacious and comfortable suites, spectacular pool, golf ... but little else. Therefore, according to your needs or interests in Miami, there are other very good hotels in other areas of the city

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flannaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback. Your comments regarding an observed decline in service are of concern, because among the many charges included in our $20 daily resort fee (a standard charge in South Florida hotels) is the inclusion of bellman gratuities for arrivals and departures. To that end, we encourage you to contact the Managing Director’s office directly, so we may address this issue thoroughly with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

While not the most "all cons" hotel in Miami, it is a great location and very historic for those of you looking for a bit of peace and quiet -- and tranquility -- in Coral Gables. The conference facilities were acceptable, and I was very impressed with the catering spreads for breakfast. For lunch, the staff were even willing to organize a special meal to accommodate my dietary concerns at the last minute (i.e. something a bit abnormal). It was appreciated.

The highlights of the service experience, however, were Jorge (?) at the concierge in the morning who went above and beyond to help me get something that I could eat for breakfast and gave me great tips about where to go running when I discovered that the gym was closed in the morning. I also had a rather amazing bell boy when I checked in during the evening who was very solicitous and keen to be of good service (although it felt a bit overanxious / trying to hard on another level). Bottom line = was pleased by how responsive and careful people were.

The facilities are grand, but a bit aging. That having been said, there is a charm to them that is still of a high quality. The gym is fully kitted out and quite good when it is open.

The bathroom was recently renovated, which meant it was quite decent. I can imagine that, a few years ago, it would have been a bit tatty. But they did well to keep the updates with some graceful stone and have everything looking very slick. The bed and the bedding was very nice. One of the big issues, however, is the lighting in the room. When you enter the room, there is only one switch that turns on a dim light that is not much brighter than an iPhone. Getting to any of the table lamps was a bit challenging because of the layout of the room and furniture. While I appreciate mood lighting and that not every hotel has ceiling lighting, this was one of the most extreme "light challenges" of all of my travels.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank sd_in_switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

We closely monitor the quality of our services and product to assure they are consistent with a world-class luxury resort. Your positive feedback is most appreciated, and your comments about the lighting and furniture placement in your room have been passed along to the appropriate departments for remedying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I have stayed at the Biltmore on several occasions, since it is a large meeting/conference hotel, and the groups to which I belong go there every couple of years for conferences. This will be my last visit.

Yes, the property is lovely - nice grounds, historic building, etc. But management has adopted a not-so-nice "don't give a damn about individual guests" approach. If you have clout as part of a big, expensive wedding or a repeat group, you might get better treatment.

First the small stuff. A lobster sandwich for lunch was dripping with mayo and stuffed full of the sourset, most vinegary olives imaginable. Olives? In a lobster salad? What are they thinking? Lobster is delicate and succulent. The olives overwhelmed it totally. We sent it back, only to find out that instead of taking the $21 item off the bill, they charged us $9 for the fries it came with.

The room was the big deal breaker, particularly when we got back at 10 pm to find ear splitting music from two weddings. Management offered us a room a couple of floors higher, which softened the din a bit, but was still not conducive to sleep. Then they said to be patient, since the bands would quit by 1 am. Really? $500 for a room, and I have to wait till 1 am before I can even think about sleeping? No way. We checked out. The next day my wife found a charge for the full amount on her AmEx.

Skip this place. It's resting on its historic laurels and way, way overrated.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank luv2travl003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Biltmore. We sincerely regret that the experience fell so short of your expectations. This matter is of grave concern, as we take great pride in our commitment to guest satisfaction. As a goodwill gesure, we have credited your folio for the full amount of your room charge and room tax. Additionally, we have addressed the problems that you encountered with your meal at the poolside restaurant with the appropriate manager and are confident that the issues have been effectively resolved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have stayed a here a couple times since my son has enrolled at University of Miami. I chose it because of its close proximity to the campus and really didn't realize what a brilliant choice I had made until I arrived. Staying at the Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables is like stepping back in time while still rooted in our modern times. As you walk into the lobby you see two enormous bird cages and the beautiful birds that reside there. It is easy to imagine the splendor and opulence of another era where movie stars, tycoons and dignitaries came to escape the winter months so many years ago. Despite the grandeur of the high painted ceilings and immense lobby the Biltmore has a relaxed and welcoming feeling. The property has been well maintained and the lake size swimming pool has recently been completely renovated. Unfortunately I haven't had time to take advantage of all the hotel has to offer in terms of golfing, swimming or dining at the restaurants. However, the breakfast buffet is excellent and the service and staff are always friendly and helpful in every way. The bar/lounge has a nice happy hour and is a great place to cool off and unwind after a day in the Miami heat.
The size of the rooms are ample and furnished very tastefully. My one complaint is each time I first entered my room after check-in it smelled slightly musty but I suppose that it might be because of the high humidity and the fact that the room may not have been occupied immediately prior to my arrival. A little spritz of air freshener does the trick.
I can't imagine staying anywhere else when visiting Coral Gables. It is a easy drive to the sights, sounds and tastes of Miami, South Beach, Coconut Grove and Key Biscayne.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebB818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

We like to describe the Biltmore as “a bit of Paradise away from the hustle and bustle of busy Miami”. We’re pleased to hear that you left with unique and cherished memories from your stay at the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 12 in Coral Gables
1,432 reviews
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#4 of 12 in Coral Gables
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel St. Michel
#6 of 12 in Coral Gables
248 reviews
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Coconut Grove
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
#49 of 127 in Miami
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables

Address: 1200 Anastasia Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range: $311 - $708 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore Hotel is a national historic landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area with close proximity to Miami Beach and downtown Miami. The 273-room resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool on the East Coast of the United States with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding The Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also recently unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, public policy conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing