We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A historic jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A historic jewel”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have stayed a here a couple times since my son has enrolled at University of Miami. I chose it because of its close proximity to the campus and really didn't realize what a brilliant choice I had made until I arrived. Staying at the Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables is like stepping back in time while still rooted in our modern times. As you walk into the lobby you see two enormous bird cages and the beautiful birds that reside there. It is easy to imagine the splendor and opulence of another era where movie stars, tycoons and dignitaries came to escape the winter months so many years ago. Despite the grandeur of the high painted ceilings and immense lobby the Biltmore has a relaxed and welcoming feeling. The property has been well maintained and the lake size swimming pool has recently been completely renovated. Unfortunately I haven't had time to take advantage of all the hotel has to offer in terms of golfing, swimming or dining at the restaurants. However, the breakfast buffet is excellent and the service and staff are always friendly and helpful in every way. The bar/lounge has a nice happy hour and is a great place to cool off and unwind after a day in the Miami heat.
The size of the rooms are ample and furnished very tastefully. My one complaint is each time I first entered my room after check-in it smelled slightly musty but I suppose that it might be because of the high humidity and the fact that the room may not have been occupied immediately prior to my arrival. A little spritz of air freshener does the trick.
I can't imagine staying anywhere else when visiting Coral Gables. It is a easy drive to the sights, sounds and tastes of Miami, South Beach, Coconut Grove and Key Biscayne.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebB818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We like to describe the Biltmore as “a bit of Paradise away from the hustle and bustle of busy Miami”. We’re pleased to hear that you left with unique and cherished memories from your stay at the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,007
    449
    182
    88
    51
See reviews for
498
569
60
378
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Overall, the hotel was grand and charming. There are large bird cages in the lobby. The atmosphere was not new and slick. There is a very large outdoor pool with an open bar/ restaurant on one side. Staff from check in to car valets, to drivers, to pool boys were all excellent.
Our room wasn't very quiet. We could hear talking through the adjoining room. Also, other guests were loud getting off elevator. Housekeeping staff were excellent and quiet in the halls.

Room Tip: We had a balcony on the 6 th floor overlooking the courtyard and the golf course beyond. gorgeous v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Biltmore. We regret that the experience did not completely meet your expectations. With regard to the comments you expressed about the noise, we encourage you to contact the Managing Director's office directly, so we may address these issues thoroughly with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Second time I have been here - business with a personal stay tagged on the end. Great location, service generally good - except the whole breakfast customer service is poor, otherwise great place to stay, gym has just been refreshed in the past 12 months with new treadmills etc, and some great runs around the area. Housekeeping is very thorough and friendly as is concierge and the bars.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venividiviciBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We welcome constructive and timely feedback from all our valued guests as a means of monitoring our level of services and product quality to assure they are consistent with a world-class luxury resort. We made Restaurant Management aware of your comments on the breakfast service and appropriate measures have been taken to avoid such occurrences in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The hotel BAR was our first stop every night before dinner. Gorancho was the best bartender we've ever met. Such a nice man, very informative, quiet spoken and we wanted to take him home. i will be back just beacuse of him .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank svesaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managine Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
At The Biltmore, our desire to ensure every guest experience is both exceptional and memorable – we’re very pleased we exceeded expectations with regards to our valued team member Gorancho!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Take some time to sit in the lobby and appreciate the beauty and timelessness of this property. The walls are covered with old photos and there are display cases with treasured artifacts from years gone by in the lobby. The staff is wonderful and they're commitment to service quality is obvious. Special kudos must also go to the engineering staff as one could only imagine the challenges of integrating the conveniences of today into a 90 year old property.

The hotel is expensive as are the ancillary services (spa, restaurants, lounges, etc.), so plan ahead. There's really nowhere to walk to so plan for that as well. Don't let that spoil your stay though. This is a truly nostalgic property that must be admired by both the novice and experienced traveller.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share this positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again at the Biltmore soon. And for next time, please know that The Biltmore offers complimentary town car service to our guests to enjoy dining, museum and shopping experiences throughout the city of Coral Gables.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Perfect place for a restful week in Miami. Luxury started with the room -- plush towels, smooth sheets, quiet and spacious. Ate frequently at Fountain(morning)/Fontana(evening) where service was excellent. Enjoyed drinks at Cascade bar by the huge pool (January water too cold for this old florida girl though). Loved the high tea in the lobby. Note that hotel auto-adds 18% service charge at all eating places. We'd rented a car, but could have used hotel complimentary town car drop-off if we had only wanted to go to Coral Gables. If husband or I were a golfer, this place would have been even more fun, but we simply enjoyed the serenity and good location (not far from airport, and central to various sights, but off in its own little world).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
As a world-class luxury destination resort, the Biltmore enjoys a stellar reputation for professionalism, services and quality of product within the industry. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Please note that the 18% gratuity added onto the check is for the guest’s convenience and it is entirely at the guest’s discretion to either, increase, reduce or completely eliminate the amount of gratuity, depending on the perceived level of service received. This option is clearly stated on the guest’s check and has been received most positively by Biltmore patrons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hotel... full of charm & history .
Everywhere is a pleasure to explore. Only ate breakfast there & that was marvellous.
Coral Gables itself is a very nice area with lots of shops & restaurants within a 10 min drive of the hotel..... They provide a town car to take you & pick you up too. Would recommend this hotel highly although not if you want the beach on your doorstep.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonBeachlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We are very appreciative of your comments and look forward to welcoming you on your future return visits to the Biltmore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
1,346 reviews
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables

Property: The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
Address: 1200 Anastasia Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#1 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore Hotel is a national historic landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area with close proximity to Miami Beach and downtown Miami. The 273-room resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool on the East Coast of the United States with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding The Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also recently unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, public policy conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing