We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 6, 2008

Stayed here with my wife and 5 year old daughter, the room in the main tower was beautiful and very good size, especially the bathroom, all renovated and had a beautiful view of the course.
Service was friendly and prompt. Huge Pool has sun on one side and a hallway and dining on the other, which is a great place for lunch or breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssource
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,819)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,425 - 1,431 of 1,819 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2008

This is an absolutely beautiful hotel! My family and I stayed the weekend of March 21, 2008. We are a family of five and were able to all stay in one room (junior suite). The room was huge, extremely clean, decorated tastefully and had a lovely view. There was not one single speck of mold in the bathroom - which is not only amazing for a hotel but almost impossible for a hotel in Florida! The architecture was fabulous - picture postcard perfect. The service was gracious and very prompt. When we checked in, I called the front desk to request a roll-away and it arrived in under 10 minutes and was large and very clean. Another request was for towels and more than enough were brought in fairly quick time. Front desk staff, valets and restaurant staff were all very courteous and attentive. I only have two complaints: the bed could have been more comfortable (pillowtop sagging toward middle) and the gorgeous courtyard restaurant was quite expensive with very small portions served.
The Biltmore is in a residential neighborhood with very little to do in the immediate area but is very convenient to the University of Miami. Before booking, I read some negative reviews of this hotel on another travel site but I do not share those opinions and would absolutely recommend staying here.

1  Thank maximizinglife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2008

My wife and I just finished a wonderful cruise an had booked a further 5 days at the Biltmore. The first problem was trying to get a cup of coffee. We went to the general restaurant and was told that it was being set for the evening we were directed by a rather offish hostess to "the coffee shop". This is only a shop to get coffee in a cardboeard cup to take away. when we asked where we could sit down and be served with coffee in a real cup , she was very rude and told us we could not get it. This is a 5 star hotel - one of the leading hotels in the world group. We then asked at front desk and again was told to go back to the Coffee Shop. when we said that we wanted just a cup of coffee. we were brushed off. We ended up in our room having to have room service. we booked dinner in the restaurant for the next night and was not asked whether we wanted to sit inside or on the terrace. When we arrived the next day, the hostess immediateley told us that outside was not available. when we queried why we were not given the opportuniity when we booked she just ignored our comment. Eventually a manager sympathised and offered us a complimentary brunch. When we went to check out- this Complimentary meal was charged at $165. I had to argue the point to ge it removed from the account. The bellmen, concierge and waiting staff were excellent but the other did not know how to communicate or look after their guests. The Swimming Pool is reknown to be the biggest in the USA - it is also the coldest. I wondered why it was so empty!!!.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JONBAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2008

I've traveled the world and stayed at a number of 3,4, and 5 star hotels, and I've never had such a poor experience as I've had at the Biltmore.

When my wife and I first arrived at the hotel there was no bellman to take our luggage to our room + we had to wait 15 minutes on line (only 2 people ahead of us) just to check in.

We had the buffet breakfast the next morning and it was $25 per person for a very average buffet. The first was not fresh at all.

We had to call room service twice to request that they clean and service our room that day. In every other 5 star hotel I've been to they cleaned our room 2-3 times a day, and we never had to ask them to do it.

It gets worst...

We book a conducted tour of Miami for the following day, the concierge flat out lied to us. He said the tour would in a small van with at most 7 people, and not a big tour bus with 50 people.

So we booked the tour, $75/per person. Long behold we were picked up by a big tour bus with 50 people!?!

I've never had a concierge flat out lie to me like that. It's outrageous.

My wife and I were completed shocked by the complete lack of service and professionalism at this hotel, if you ask me it should be stripped of it's 5 star rating.

If you're considering staying here, I would strongly recommend against it. Save your money and go to a Westin or the Intercontinental instead.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank apmfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2008

The Biltmore is beautifully restored and does a good job of sharing its interesting history. On our second stay, we were upgraded to a lovely suite with patio. The views were lovely. The rooms were very comfortable and the bathroom above average. The staff was very good.
The only thing that left a bad taste in our mouths was the Fontana Restaurant. We did not feel that the service or food merited the high prices charged. The service was disinterested at best--too bad, as the setting was charming.Because we were tired after a long trip, we opted to eat there twice--and each time were disappointed. The room service offerings were very limited.

Stayed: March 2007
Thank efghij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2008

We stayed for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed everything. Stayed in a deluxe room with a view of the golf course. A solidly built hotel with real plaster walls, etc. It was relaxing lounging by the pool and listening to the band. The staff were friendly and courteous. The grounds were beautiful and perfectly groomed . This is definitely Mercedes Benz country, but don't worry if you don't have one, they treat everyone well. It is located in a quiet residental neighborhood. We would definetely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Edward62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2008

We stayed one night at the Biltmore. From arrival to departure, the staff was super accommodating and professional. We utilized the bellstaff, bar area, pool dining and 1200 Courtyard breakfast dining and all staff members were friendly, courteous and helpful.

Our room (#1000) was a standard Queen-bed room, great view of Coral Gables. Very comfy bed, and we really liked the extra counter space in the bathroom.

Overall, a very relaxing stay and an easy 10 minute drive down 42nd Ave. from the airport.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank H00fhearted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 12 in Coral Gables
1,395 reviews
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#4 of 12 in Coral Gables
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables

Address: 1200 Anastasia Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range: $324 - $595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore Hotel is a national historic landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area with close proximity to Miami Beach and downtown Miami. The 273-room resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool on the East Coast of the United States with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding The Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also recently unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, public policy conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing