We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is strictly a case of a historical hotel forgetting that in today's environment, price and value need to be connected in some manner. The Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables has a history dating back to the mid-1920's. It was built by the founder of Coral Gables to be a playground for the rich and pampered wintering in the Miami area. Its walls are covered with the photos of the wealthy and priviledged of the first half of the 20th century enjoying what money and priviledge buy. I found the price of the hotel to have nothing to do with value. The hotel makes sure that all convenience items and services are priced alacarte. You want a soft drink in your room. There are no choices but o get it out of the locked refrigerator in your room that is jammed with various beverages, with and without alcohol. The coke will cost you $4, plus sales tax, plus service fee, plus a "restocking" fee. Your $1.50 coke will end up on your final bill as nearly $6. God help you if you want a beer or a half-carafe of wine. You could order up room service. A breakfast of buttered croissant, choice of coffee or tea and juice is $19, plus gratuity of 18%, plus sales tax of 9%, plus service charge of $3.50. For a buttered bun, coffee and a juice, you choke up around $27.00. And that is per person.
For these prices, you would expect the service of a lifetime. We were met by the super bell hop. He insisted that he grab our luggage out of the car. I explained that our room was not ready yet and I thought it would be better if the luggage stayed with me. He assured me he would make sure it got to our room when it was ready. Well, let's just say that didn't happen. In fact, someone elses luggage was in our room. It took them a while to figure out where our luggage ended up. After an hour of angst, our luggage was found and delivered to our room. I hope the other person ended with their bags. The concierge wanted to do something to make up for the mistake. I told him that a nice glass of chardonnay delivered to the room would be nice. He effusively promised to have it there as his way of apologizing. It never arrived and when I walked through the lobby later that day, he looked through me like I had just arrived from another planet.
The room we had was small, cramped and the only thing comfortable was the bed. A very nice king sized bed that was comfortable. The other furniture in the room consisted of two straight-backed chairs that were nearly impossible to use and a small table.
The Biltmore is not the choice if you're looking for value for you money. And you will spend the money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bayoumanMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Please accept my sincere apologies for the less than favorable experience you had during your recent stay with us at The Biltmore. I assure you that this matter is of grave concern, as we take great pride in our commitment to guest satisfaction. Please rest assured that we have taken the appropriate measures to address the problems with the bellstaff, and we would welcome an opportunity to address this situation with you directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,807)
There are newer reviews for The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,066 - 1,072 of 1,807 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had been wanting to visit this hotel for some time and finally were able to do so for two nights in order to celebrate a birthday. From our time of arrival and the excellent service we recieved from Kassandra at the front desk, to the knowledge of the property and further great service from Alejandro and Raoul, the staff were part of what made our stay memorable and enjoyable. The room, complete with pool view was beautiful and comfortable. Dinner at the Palm d' or presided over by matre d Patrick who organized a special plate of handmade candies complete with Birrhday candle, and the wonderful Sunday brunch, were memorable meals. We were also pleasantly surprised by the birthday bottle of wine and fresh fruit that were sent to the room the first evening.
The grounds and pool are amazingly beautiful and the pool terrific for swiming, both in terms of the ambiance and the considerately shallow depth, which means you can almost always touch the bottom.
A fantastic visit, and we will certainly come again.

Room Tip: Try for a pool or golf course view, and the deluxe room with the divder is very spacious.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JVB2040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The hotel is beautiful, my room was immaculate. I stayed for several nights while on a business trip. Absolutely everyone on the staff was pleasant, friendly, and professional. I cannot praise them enough. I highly recommend this hotel if you are traveling to Miami.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkharding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

A short trip to Miami and a return trip to the Biltmore. As expected, I received a very warm and efficient reception/check-in. My junior-suite was on a high floor overlooking the golf course and courtyard.

My colleagues and I met for dinner at Palm d'Or, their gourmet restaurant. Excellent meal in every way (I recommend the rack of lamb). There were three of us for dinner - one wasn't drinking, one was drinking white wine, and I wanted red - clearly not ideal to buy a bottle of anything! The sommelier made sure we had great options by the glass.

I have stayed here for vacation travel with family and will definitely return. It is one of the most beautiful hotels in the US!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewDemRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Flew down to Coral Gables for wedding that was taking place at this hotel -- pretty much all the guests stayed here. The property is outstanding. Our room was on the 5th floor (room 528) and we had a deluxe room, essentially the same as a junior suite, with tiled floors, a view of the pool, and a sitting area. The property itself is a 30-45 minute taxi ride from South Beach and the hotel is actually located in a residential area but we came here with a group and had little reason to leave the hotel all weekend. There is nothing to do if you leave the hotel grounds (it's a suburban neighborhood). The hotel is a 10 minute drive from the airport and, once at the Biltmore, you have everything you need for a relaxing weekend. The restaurants are outstanding, the service is great, and the pool is a nice way to spend the day. And yes, if you get cabin fever, you can still take a car into South Beach (approximately $45). Remember to check out the champagne brunch on Sunday morning - if you thought you were leaving town early, it is worth catching a later flight....

Room Tip: Choose a "deluxe" room with tile floors and you get a tremendous value of a modern room th...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_and_Lauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

As a world-class luxury destination resort, the Biltmore enjoys a stellar reputation for professionalism, services and quality of product within the industry. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and we suggest that next time you check out the myriad of activities in Coral Gables, many of which are listed in our daily guest newsletter - and to which you may avail yourself of our complimentary town car service!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The facilities are absolutely georgous with old world charm that has been restored. I was in room 371 that had a quaint little terrace which was a wonderful surprise.

The swimming pool was amazing although too cold for my liking.

The service was outstanding. Everyone said hello in passing, were quick to assist, and restaurant service was first class.

We ate at every restaurant and the food was superb. Make sure to try out homemade pasta at Fontanas. Every pasta dish can be a half order which is a great side to fabulous seafood options.

the room itself was clean, the bathroom very well maintained, and the bed was like sleeping on a cloud. I would love to take it home.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunandsandseeker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, The Biltmore staff continuously strives to exceed our guests’ needs and expectations. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We purchased this package (golf suite in hotel, round of golf, Sunday brunch) at a silent auction for a local charity, otherwise we may not have experienced this wonderful hotel. It is close to Miami airport and not far from South Beach. The property was beautiful, the staff was super efficient and friendly, the grounds were well maintained, the view from the golf suite is amazing. It's pricey, but it's in line with the location and the quality. The 19th hole restaurant serves great food at reasonable prices. The Fontana was exquisite. The Sunday Brunch cannot be defined - outstanding. The housekeeping staff were immaculate and friendly. It is not close to shopping or tourist attractions so would recommend renting a car if you plan on leaving the property. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others, and hope to go back again at some point.

Room Tip: The golf suites are great but if there's a function on the terrace, it can be noisy. There'...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSB073060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for this feedback. Our staff and management at Biltmore always appreciate hearing from our guests. We’re delighted your and your spouse enjoyed the hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 12 in Coral Gables
1,385 reviews
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables

Address: 1200 Anastasia Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range: $269 - $566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore Hotel is a national historic landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area with close proximity to Miami Beach and downtown Miami. The 273-room resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool on the East Coast of the United States with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding The Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also recently unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, public policy conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing