We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“An absolutely beautiful property!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An absolutely beautiful property!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We purchased this package (golf suite in hotel, round of golf, Sunday brunch) at a silent auction for a local charity, otherwise we may not have experienced this wonderful hotel. It is close to Miami airport and not far from South Beach. The property was beautiful, the staff was super efficient and friendly, the grounds were well maintained, the view from the golf suite is amazing. It's pricey, but it's in line with the location and the quality. The 19th hole restaurant serves great food at reasonable prices. The Fontana was exquisite. The Sunday Brunch cannot be defined - outstanding. The housekeeping staff were immaculate and friendly. It is not close to shopping or tourist attractions so would recommend renting a car if you plan on leaving the property. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others, and hope to go back again at some point.

Room Tip: The golf suites are great but if there's a function on the terrace, it can be noisy. There'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LSB073060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for this feedback. Our staff and management at Biltmore always appreciate hearing from our guests. We’re delighted your and your spouse enjoyed the hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    892
    375
    161
    77
    39
See reviews for
426
499
56
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Islamorada, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I absolutely enjoy being at the Biltmore and each time I stay there, I discover something new that I love! The pool area is very pleasant and the service staff is very friendly. The food is very good anywhere you in the hotel.

Room Tip: Junior suites are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mabel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
It is always a pleasure to hear from our loyal repeat guests and know that their warm Biltmore experience keeps them returning year after year. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
115 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Its a historical place built in 1926. Very strategically located between the Miami International airport and the south beach where all the action is. Golfers will love it as it has a 18 hole Golf course. I was told that this was a hospital earlier. Very well maintained property with top class service. Excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: Choose a roof facing the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckyikon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We are very appreciative of your comments and look forward to welcoming you on your future return visits to the Biltmore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Another great stay with the family. From Pavel the bellman to Clinton and Hilda in La Fontana, we love this hotel. Got upgraded upon arrival (AMEX Platinum perk), received a welcome basket and a drink. Was offered a box refrig for keeping our drinks cold. Breakfasts are wonderful and served by very friendly staff. If I had to ask for one improvement, I would suggest complimentary coffee during the stay...only room service coffee ($20/day). Will not be our last stay.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the AMEX Platinum perks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Our entire Biltmore team appreciates these kind words. It's always a pleasure to hear from our repeat guests. We look forward to your return and to delighting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Pricey but worth it. The architecture is beautiful. Built in 1926 it was the jewel of Coral Gables, it then was a V.A. Hospital, it has now return to it's previous glory. Multiple restaurants, tea room and bars, the food is amazing. The service is impeccable. Golf Course, one of the largest pools I've seen, spa. It's location makes seeing all the sites of Miami easily accessible. If you don't stay, you should go for a meal. Of course there is also the Haunted Al Capone Room tour, quite fun.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank onceuponatime167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
At The Biltmore, our desire to ensure every guest experience is both exceptional and memorable – we’re very pleased we exceeded expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

What a star this place is. Set in the haven of Coral Gables a city within the city of Miami.
Built in the old style back in the 20's but kept in wonderful condition this is a gem to be savoured. Service from the moment the doorman meets you through every other aspect of the hotel is spot on. My king room overlooking the pool was large and tastefully decorated with a sitting area and a large bathroom. From the window you could see their 18 hole golf course past the largest swimming pool I have ever seen. 750,000 gallons of water to fill it. Food in the ambience of the Fontana courtyard restaurant with the stars above you and the warm breezes made the dining experience truly unforgettable. Service was superb and the swordfish just melted in the mouth. Even if you cannot stay go to the Cascade restaurant before you catch your plane and eat by the pool and soak up the ambience before making the 10 minute journey to the airport. You will promise yourself to stay the next time you are in Miami.

Room Tip: Take a superior king room overlooking the pool the view is stunning and the rooms large and very com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spencer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
It’s always a pleasure to hear from guests who have such a special connection with the Biltmore, as all of us here do. Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us - we could not have promoted the hotel better than your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
182 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We just spent three nights at the Biltmore in Coral Gables, Florida and were thrilled with our experience. Everything, but everything was just lovely. From the front desk person who checked us in, to the housekeeping staff, to the wait staff at the restaurants and bars, to the pool 'boys,' and doormen, every single staff person was helpful, engaging, personable and professional! Obviously, the management knows how to train its staff people and it shows.

The food at the various restaurants at the hotel is delicious and given the quality, quite reasonable. That said, we did not eat at the Palme d'Or, the gourmet restaurant, as we were engaged in the evenings, off-premises.

Our room was just lovely. It wasn't a Four Seasons, Ritz-Carlton or Park Hyatt room... as it wasn't 'over-the-top' luxury. That said, it was comfortable, spacious and oozed history, and charm. (I must add, we didn't pay Four Seasons or Park Hyatt rates, either!) Our room was in the tower and we had incredible views over the golf course and a little balcony with french doors. Our bathroom was tiled in marble with a wonderfully powerful showerhead and the sink, with gold faucets, was set into an onyx or granite countertop. And the floors throughout the bathroom and room, were the original marble floors. Last, but not least, the bed was sumptuous with luxurious bedding, down duvet and pillows!

The only negatives are: 1) that the resort is not located on the ocean and therefore, does not have a white sand beach, and 2) while the Biltmore has one of the largest freshwater swimming pools in the world (and it IS spectacular,) it is NOT heated and therefore, for adults, pretty much unswimmable. (I wish the hotel would build a heated pool somewhere on premise, which would add greatly to the many facilities of this resort.) 3) The hotel, as a famous, historic place, attracts lots of tourists, day-trippers, weddings, bar mitzvahs, benefits, corporate events, golfers and conventions. If that is bothersome to you, then the Biltmore may not be your cup-of-tea...

All, in all, the Biltmore is a sublime place to relax, unwind and enjoy "the good life," the way it was enjoyed since it was built in 1924, by folks such as the Vanderbilts, Al Capone, Judy Garland, the Duke & Duchess of Windsor, and lately, President Bill Clinton. Old world elegance and service with modern conveniences, that is the Biltmore.

Room Tip: We loved the tower room we got, but others whom we know, stayed elsewhere and loved their rooms. Do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David49b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, The Biltmore staff continuously strives to exceed our guests’ needs and expectations. We also welcome constructive feedback from our guests as an integral part of monitoring the quality of our product and services. Please know that our pool is heated, but as it is so large we have to address alternatives to further enhance conditions during the winter months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables

Property: The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
Address: 1200 Anastasia Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33134-6339
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore Hotel is a national historic landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area with close proximity to Miami Beach and downtown Miami. The 273-room resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool on the East Coast of the United States with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding The Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also recently unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, public policy conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Odigeo, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing