We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Old World Elegance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
161 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Old World Elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We just spent three nights at the Biltmore in Coral Gables, Florida and were thrilled with our experience. Everything, but everything was just lovely. From the front desk person who checked us in, to the housekeeping staff, to the wait staff at the restaurants and bars, to the pool 'boys,' and doormen, every single staff person was helpful, engaging, personable and professional! Obviously, the management knows how to train its staff people and it shows.

The food at the various restaurants at the hotel is delicious and given the quality, quite reasonable. That said, we did not eat at the Palme d'Or, the gourmet restaurant, as we were engaged in the evenings, off-premises.

Our room was just lovely. It wasn't a Four Seasons, Ritz-Carlton or Park Hyatt room... as it wasn't 'over-the-top' luxury. That said, it was comfortable, spacious and oozed history, and charm. (I must add, we didn't pay Four Seasons or Park Hyatt rates, either!) Our room was in the tower and we had incredible views over the golf course and a little balcony with french doors. Our bathroom was tiled in marble with a wonderfully powerful showerhead and the sink, with gold faucets, was set into an onyx or granite countertop. And the floors throughout the bathroom and room, were the original marble floors. Last, but not least, the bed was sumptuous with luxurious bedding, down duvet and pillows!

The only negatives are: 1) that the resort is not located on the ocean and therefore, does not have a white sand beach, and 2) while the Biltmore has one of the largest freshwater swimming pools in the world (and it IS spectacular,) it is NOT heated and therefore, for adults, pretty much unswimmable. (I wish the hotel would build a heated pool somewhere on premise, which would add greatly to the many facilities of this resort.) 3) The hotel, as a famous, historic place, attracts lots of tourists, day-trippers, weddings, bar mitzvahs, benefits, corporate events, golfers and conventions. If that is bothersome to you, then the Biltmore may not be your cup-of-tea...

All, in all, the Biltmore is a sublime place to relax, unwind and enjoy "the good life," the way it was enjoyed since it was built in 1924, by folks such as the Vanderbilts, Al Capone, Judy Garland, the Duke & Duchess of Windsor, and lately, President Bill Clinton. Old world elegance and service with modern conveniences, that is the Biltmore.

Room Tip: We loved the tower room we got, but others whom we know, stayed elsewhere and loved their rooms. Do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David49b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, The Biltmore staff continuously strives to exceed our guests’ needs and expectations. We also welcome constructive feedback from our guests as an integral part of monitoring the quality of our product and services. Please know that our pool is heated, but as it is so large we have to address alternatives to further enhance conditions during the winter months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    865
    359
    154
    74
    38
See reviews for
403
485
54
314
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Love this hotel. For the Spectacular ball rooms no where else has such a wonderful venue. For Tango around. Friendliness of Dancers and Staff so Elegant.
Try to arrive early. To have a snack or light supper as the food olso is worth the visit
On arrival at the Hotel the Ambiance makes one feel special

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tangueroes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We are very appreciative of your comments regarding our Tuesday evening tango classes and will be sure to pass them along to our instructor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We decided to stay here on our annual visit to Miami. Although I was born and raised in Miami, I had never stayed at the Biltmore and had always wanted to see what it was like. I was leary about staying here because I had read some of the other reviews saying that the service was bad and it was over priced. I did not experience this at all. Every staff member we encountered was courteous and eager to please. The bell hop showed us to our room and gave us a bit of history on the way. He oriented us with our accomodations and showed us how to find whatever we may need.
We had to change our reservations at the last minute due to unforeseen circumstances and the hotel was sold out for our arrival day. Claudio, the reservations manager, took excellent care of us making sure we had a room available when we needed it and that would suit our needs. He went above and beyond to see to it that we could stay for the nights that we wanted and he was so pleasant.
This is an old hotel, but it has been updated in a way that preserves the historic appeal as well as providing all the modern ammenities you would expect in a luxury hotel. There was a bit of an antique smell but the place is almost one hundred years old. It is a very slight smell and after a few minutes you don't even notice it. It is incredibly beautiful. The suite we had far exceeded our expectations. It was very roomy, the view was exceptional, and it was immaculate. The bath tub was a little slow to drain, but again, not a deal breaker. The service was beyond satisfactory. Whatever I requested was provided. We wanted to see other types of rooms for comparison's sake and they graciously obliged. They even took us to see a 14th floor suite that had breathtaking views! I would have liked to have seen the infamous 13th floor, but it was occupied and we weren't able to go in.The grounds are pristine and provide for many photo ops. They have hotel tours on Sundays which I highly reccommend if you are interested in the hotel's rich history. Check in was painless as was check out. There was an error on our bill which they handled promptly and courteously. I also had the opportunity to order room service. They said it would take about 20 to 25 minutes and my breakfast arrived in 8 minutes! It was outstanding, well presented, and reasonably priced. I had always heard as a kid that this hotel was haunted and I loved hearing stories about it. I asked a couple of staff members if they had ever seen anything and one of them offered some interesting stories. Staying here actually made our annual visit to Miami much more pleasant and certainly more luxurious. We will be back next year. I am a frequent reviewer on trip advisor and try to be as detailed as I can be about my experience as well as honest. There are not many places that I would rate as excellent and this is most definately one of them.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the church across the street have a nice view and also on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank menmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We closely monitor the quality of our services and product to assure they are consistent with a world-class luxury resort. This positive feedback is most appreciated, as is the time you took to write such a detailed and positive review of The Biltmore. Many thanks - please come back soon to visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We were not staying at the hotel but during a visit to Coral Gables, we stopped for a look around. The pool must be the largest single pool that we had ever seen. We stayed for a snack at the pool and found that the food was suprisingly good value for the location.Quality and service were both excellent.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vacationcars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal poolside - and we hope that you will return soon as a hotel guest to enjoy our legendary 750,000 gallon swimming pool, the largest hotel pool in the continental United States.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a great hotel, with real old world charm. The staff made great efforts to find a room for me on short notice (on an otherwise full capacity evening) as they knew i would be participating in a breakfast conference in the hotel the next morning. They put me in an upgraded room and honored the block rate that had expired two weeks prior. Most hotels charge you the rack rate at the last minute, especially when the hotel is at, or close to, capacity. The conference facilities were very nice, and run professionally. I would have given this 5 stars, but as a matter of principle have a problem with paying $8 for a glass of orange juice and $6 for coffee. But overall, a great place with great service!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cliffster1162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, The Biltmore staff continuously strives to exceed our guests’ needs and expectations. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Checking in and out, be prepared to wait. If the bill would be under the door, that could improve the speed of check out. The phone system, does not allow you to dial the valet direct. The front
desk does speed up the process of getting the car to you quickly. Dining is strange. You need to go to a central desk before you head to the restaurant. Could use a coffee maker in the room, also needs a hair drier. How about updating the mattress.
A beautiful old hotel that needs updating and a better understanding of guest needs.

Room Tip: Dinner and breakfast will cost you almost the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GloveDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
As a world-class luxury destination resort, the Biltmore enjoys a stellar reputation for professionalism, services and quality of product within the industry. We extend every effort possible to resolve guests' issues related to their hotel experience when these concerns are brought directly to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I love Miami and have stayed at some fabulous hotels on previous visits. Most hotels downtown are very modern and hip, sometimes to the point that they are not very relaxing . The Biltmore hotel offers historic charm, classic refinement, and true "vacation experience". I relaxed and slowed my pace just by walking through the doors. The grounds were beautiful and the rooms were well appointed. Their pool and pool-side restaurant are fantastic. I also enjoyed a wonderful meal in their Zagat rated Italian restaurant. Their gym was state of the art and offered numerous classes such as yoga and pilates. It is a bit of a drive to downtown Miami, but I didn't mind at all. If I lived in Miami I could see myself taking a "mini vacation" at the Biltmore to recharge my batteries.

Room Tip: Stay in a room on a higher floor if you are there over a weekend. This is popular wedding reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mellykins153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We like to describe the Biltmore as “a bit of Paradise away from the hustle and bustle of busy Miami”. We’re pleased to hear that you especially enjoyed our fabled swimming pool, our Zagat-rated Fontana Restaurant, and our new state-of-the-art Fitness Center - and that you left with unique and cherished memories from your stay at the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables

Property: The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#1 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore Hotel is a national historic landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area with close proximity to Miami Beach and downtown Miami. The 273-room resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool on the East Coast of the United States with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding The Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also recently unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, public policy conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ and Jetsetter so you can book your The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing