We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning building but totally overpriced, not that much to write home about in terms of service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Stunning building but totally overpriced, not that much to write home about in terms of service”
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

I stayed there for 3 nights beginning of October 2012 during a business trip to the US. I had sent an email to the reception the week prior to my arrival to ask whether it was possible to have a quiet room on the upper floors and away from the lift. I never got an answer but, when I arrived there, I was told that my wish had been taken into account, since my room was on the 9th floor. However, even though it was 4.00 pm, the room was not ready and I had to wait 45 minutes to get it. The good surprise was, in addition to the fact that the room was fairly away from the lift and overlooking the gardens and golf course, it was a very spacious Junior Suite, with a lot of light. It has to be said that the building in itself is beautiful and interesting from an historical point of view but, from a practical point of view, they should do something either for the lifts, which are extremely noisy or to change the bedrooms' doors which insufficiently insulate them from the noise and the light coming from the landing.

The breakfast, which could be taken in the beautiful courtyard, when weather allows it, included a stunningly amazing, wide array of fresh fruit (ananas, strawberry, raspberry, kiwi, etc.). For the rest, it was rather standard, even disappointing for a so-called luxury hotel. Not to mention the coffee or cappuccino which had little to make you think you were really having a cup of coffee...

My accomodation in Miami was provided and paid by my company but I must confess that, even though it was not my money which was spent, I was rather shocked to notice that a daily fee of $20 was charged to the room as tips for the maid, for the service, the reception and amenities such as the fitness room. Well, honestly, the service did not strike me as being especially professional and desserving of that kind of mandatory tip automatically charged, regardless of staff daily performance. From my point of view, a tip, be the service included or not, should be left to customer discretion and linked to staff performance. Personnally, I really do not like to be forced to pay for something which does not live up to my expectations.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessandro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at The Biltmore. We regret that the experience did not completely meet your expectations. With regard to the comments you expressed about the resort fee, please know that for guests' convenience, charges for special services not included in room rate are combined into a single daily fee of $20 added to the guest account; these include in-room high speed internet, maid service gratuities, daily admission to the Biltmore Fitness Center, guest's choice of daily newspaper, unlimited local calls, long distance access on credit card and outbound collect calls, bellman gratuities for arrivals and departures, town car service throughout Coral Gables and automobile self-parking. Resort fees are standard charges at all hotels throughout South Florida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,013
    453
    182
    91
    51
See reviews for
502
570
60
383
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Celebrated the U.S. Air Force's 65th birthday at the Biltmore Coral Gables. This was our first visit. With everything we read and heard about this hotel our expectations were lofty. The staff and services were absolutely excellent. The eloquence of this historic property is amazing. Breakfast at the Cascade overlooking the famous Biltmore pool was delightful. The food and services at the ball was top notch. There are two reasons I didn't give an excellent rating. First, the drainage in our tub wasn't good. The standing water while showering was disappointing. Secondly, I unplugged the lamp on the nightstand to charge my laptop and blue sparks flew from the lamp plug. Could have seriously ruined my stay:) Though pricey, the pampering, amenities and history, definitely make it worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stikym4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share this positive feedback. As a world-class luxury destination resort, the Biltmore enjoys a stellar reputation for professionalism, services and quality of product within the industry. Regarding the comments on the tub drainage and lamp socket, please know that we extend every effort possible to resolve guests' issues related to their hotel experience when these concerns are brought directly to our attention at that time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed at the Biltmore for two nights. Great location great food great pool. I would recommend it highly
Why? Let me give an example. On checking was a line up. They provided juice to refresh. No tipping of bell staff is accepted.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank basl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We closely monitor the quality of our services and product to assure they are consistent with a world-class luxury resort. This positive feedback is most appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My favorite hotel anywhere! Lovely setting, great pool, terrific golf course, excellent health club, top notch spa, with one great restaurant and three other good ones (I love breakfast at the golf club restaurant!). The staff are nice and the rates are reasonable for a hotel with all these amenities. I thought I shouldn't write this because I love not having hordes of people there, but I acquiesced.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mojo106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
As a world-class luxury destination resort, the Biltmore enjoys a stellar reputation for professionalism, services and quality of product within the industry. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

If you have the opp to I would recommend staying here just for the history behind it all. However note it will cost you. Not so much the night stay but all the "plus plus" they like to add to everything.

The staff and service was excellence.The rooms were ok. Standard room was small and they do try and keep the old appeal of it so dont expect much decoration. Our tub did not drain well and I would have expected better toiletries. Also given that you do pay a resort fee I still have to wonder what it is for. You are not given anything extra. Even a bottle water from the mini bar is $8 bucks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fsuebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Biltmore. As one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to exceed our guests' needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We regret that your experience did not completely meet your expectations. We extend every effort possible to resolve guests' issues related to their hotel experience when these concerns are brought directly to our attention. Please see the previous review regarding our $20 resort fee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FTW
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This old historic hotel is really a treat to stay at. It boasts updated rooms with really nice bathrooms. No coffee service in the room - but it doesn't take too long to go to the LL to get a cup in the bar. The pool is magnificient!
As with any high end hotel - food, drink and accompaniments are very expensive. Examples - water in the room $8. coffee $4; margarita $17; Sunday breakfast buffet $75 (but you can eat the same food at the 19th hole restaurant for $25- just not all you can eat - but I could not finish). Gratuities are already added to everything - including your room @ $20 per day; so if you tip - just be aware that it is on top of what has already been added to your bill.
If you can get past this - then you'll have a great stay at a great hotel!

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor - lots of noisy wedding parties disturb lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pw w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share this positive feedback. Regarding the $20 daily resort fee: for guests' convenience, charges for special services not included in room rate are combined into a single daily fee of $20 added to the guest account; these include in-room high speed internet, maid service gratuities, daily admission to the Biltmore Fitness Center, guest's choice of daily newspaper, unlimited local calls, long distance access on credit card and outbound collect calls, bellman gratuities for arrivals and departures, town car service throughout Coral Gables and automobile self-parking. Resort fees are standard charges at all hotels throughout South Florida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

The pool is amazing. We get a jounior suite on 10th floor with view on the pool for less than 200 $ only asking the receptionist for a good room.

We had dinner at the fountaine restaurants, it is gut but very expensive

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luca34227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We are very appreciative of your comments and look forward to welcoming you on your future return visits to the Biltmore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 12 in Coral Gables
1,361 reviews
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables

Property: The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
Address: 1200 Anastasia Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore Hotel is a national historic landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area with close proximity to Miami Beach and downtown Miami. The 273-room resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool on the East Coast of the United States with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding The Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also recently unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, public policy conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing