We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Old World Charm Resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old World Charm Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

The Biltmore Hotel has the charm of a more elegant bygone era with service that lives up to today's expectations. It doesn't come cheaply - but you get what you pay for. This is a resort!
The swimming pool is huge; there are 70 gym classes to choose from which range from Step and Spinning to Pilates/Yoga;I managed 2 yoga classes with different instructors and both were excellent; happy hour extends from 5.30 to 8 and comes with live jazz or salsa; the 18 hole golf course is world class; the town car will drive you to the nearest shopping precint; breakfast in the Fontana is around a beautiful fountain in an open air courtyard; lunch can be al fresco by the pool at Cascades and there are plenty of healthy choices on the menu. This trip we did not get to experience Palme D'Or, the top rated French restaurant, but hope to next time. We had a junior suite on the 7th floor with views of the pool and golf course. The service was attentive and Ferdinando the valet, was most informative and engaging. If you want to relax and be pampered, the Biltmore is the place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PizzaPiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
As a world-class luxury destination resort, the Biltmore enjoys a stellar reputation for professionalism, services and quality of product within the industry. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    926
    391
    166
    80
    40
See reviews for
442
515
56
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, MD
Level Contributor
99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

No! No, I was not charged a fortune for the beer that I took from the room’s fridge, as a previous reviewer implied and our bedroom with two beds was quite large.

Loved our stay in March. Lovely, helpful staff. Thermostat worked, so we were able to cool our room. Beautiful views from our corner suite with multiple large windows. We enjoyed the ‘city view’ with the distant lights at night. Classic ‘European’ feel, with old fashioned turn-down service, not just a chocolate thrown on a pillow. Perfectly clean. The Jerusalem tiles were much cleaner than carpeting and provided relief from allergies. There was a faint noise from the room above us, but not loud enough to keep us awake.

Self parking is free, although valets are available. Great fitness center included in a ‘resort fee’, with spa quality showers, sauna, scale, toiletries, etc. A ‘resort’ fee was charged by most of the hotels we stayed at in Florida.

Room Tip: The city view, with distant city lights was attractive at night. Probably more interesting and less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank treking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
The Biltmore is a designated National Historic Landmark property, known for its rustic Mediterranean charm, which is warmly embraced by our guests. We’re delighted your stay with us was enjoyable. Thanks for helping reiterate that the resort fee is charged by most hotels in Florida - and here at the Biltmore it includes in-room high speed internet, maid service gratuities, daily admission to the Biltmore Fitness Center, guest's choice of daily newspaper, unlimited local calls, long distance access on credit card and outbound collect calls, bellman gratuities for arrivals and departures, town car service throughout Coral Gables and automobile self-parking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

My wife and I recently completed a two-night stay at the Biltmore. As a long time traveler, I can say that “ I finally found what I was looking for.” So many hotels and resorts try to be something that, perhaps, they can never be. Hard as they try, through design, décor and service, they try to create a feeling of luxury and belonging for their guests to experience, they always to my mind fall short. But the Biltmore is the “real deal”, the “genuine article” – authentic luxury accessible to the guests – brought about by the combination of a physically extraordinary setting, including a unique swimming pool both in size and surroundings, maintaining the details of the historic building that it is, showing wear (a chipped stone balustrade there, some clearly layered paint here) that only establishes its authenticity, beautiful, comfortable rooms and outstanding, caring personal service.

Last points – the cuisine in every venue is excellent and reasonably priced and the Biltmore Bar is extraordinary, straight of the 1920’s, with a bartender and manager that really know what they’re doing.

Room Tip: Great view and light on south side overlooking pool and golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MBSNewYork-NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
As a world-class luxury destination resort, the Biltmore enjoys a stellar reputation for professionalism, services and quality of product within the industry. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY/NJ
Level Contributor
68 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

I was here for business, so I am thankful I didn't pay to stay here. I was so unhappy, I changed hotels.

The rooms are small, which is understandable for an old hotel. Unless you are staying here for a business conference, I cannot imagine why someone would stay here. Golf perhaps? The place is old and run down. And the food is atrocious.

I will say that the pool area is decent and the grounds are well manicured. Otherwise, look elsewhere because the nightly rate cannot be justified.

I have seen this with "landmark" or "historic" hotels time and time again. They never get subtle modernizations while maintaining their historic Gatsby era charm.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMKC08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
We welcome constructive feedback from all of our guests as an integral part of monitoring services and product throughout the resort. It’s our desire to ensure every guest experience is both exceptional and memorable. We were surprised to see the the comments regarding cuisine quality, as our restaurants, both Palme d'Or and Fontana, have received top Zagat ratings in South Florida for four years running. If there is any other aspect of the hotel that you would like to discuss, please contact us directly so that we may address with you more thoroughly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, Berkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Just stayed at the Biltmore - service first class. Beautiful building and grounds. My husband says the golf course was perfect. Fernando one of the bell boys was super (as were all the staff) and just couldn't do enough. We were certainly sad to leave and will definitely be back. Although the hotel is inland in a residential area it is very easy to get to the beach and easy to escape too! Loved it from check in to check out. Fabulous pool, amazing number of restaurants and bars, spa was great as was the hairdressers. Huge bedrooms and lovely period features from a hotel with real character. Faultless

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking both the golf course and to the front of the hotel having amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherinePaul78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Our entire Biltmore team appreciates these kind words. It's always a pleasure to hear from our repeat guests. We look forward to your return and to delighting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

My sister and I had a girls weekend at the Biltmore in October 2011 to celebrate our birthdays. We have very mixed feelings about our stay, as some aspects of the stay were stellar, and others left us wishing we has stayed at a reliable chain hotle, instead of a presumabley high end historic hotel.

At check-in, we were greeted with grace and extra treats: a bottle of wine brought to our room and breakfast vouchers for our stay. The bellboy was conscientious and showed us how to work everything in the room and had our bags delivered.

The room, a junior suite, was pleasantly decorated, but rather cold, even when we turned up the heat. Walking down the hallway to our room was always interesting because you hit a certain point and there was a sudden temperature drop. The bathroom was beautiful and spacious. The bedroom had two beds, with lovely linens and duvets; white and fluffy. The television had crazy reception and poor interactivity with the controller. We gave up on watching television as it was an effort in futility. It is suppossed to be set up to interact with the room billing, but it was not functional. TV spontaniously came on and off by itself a few times; there may have been a timer setting on it, but we never figured it out.

Our junior suite, while pretty and comfortable, positively reeked of mildew. It was an awful, pervasive smell. We notified staff, but did not come away with any resolution, or any sense that the staff were caring or concerned. We simply received a very false sounding, "I am so sorry." No offer to move us, or try to seek out the cause. The smell invaded our luggage and our clothing, which was very unfortunate for us, because we left on a cruise right after our stay at the Biltmore and the smell went with us.

The housekeeping staff did a beautiful job of caring for the room in a non-invasive way. We never saw them or heard them, but our room did get cleaned.

We pre-booked spa treatments, which were enjoyable, but the up-selling after the treatments completely undermined the relaxation we were going for. Attempts to lead clients in their bathrobes around the store, pushing items at them, is not a great way to keep the happy mojo flowing. While having treatments, we found the staff were clearly experts at allowing the clients to set the tone: friendly and chatty or quietly relaxing. The pricing was about what I would expect to pay at a higher end spa.

The restaurants were absolutely exquisite. The service was always impeccable and the food was perfect every time. The staff were always attentive, whether picking up a fallen napkin, helping us with a wine selection, or identifying when we were ready for the next course. Our restaurant expereinces were the highlight of our stay. Well done.

I agree with what other posts have remarked: weddings seem to take precedence over hotel guests. Restaurant service, valet parking, desk service...were all slow or non-existent when wedding parties were present. At times, we were even asked to leave areas or asked to wait so that wedding parties could have free access.

We used the gym areas and also attended a yoga class. The gym personel were not very professional, using electronic devices and having personal conversations while guests waited for service. You must sign a waiver form to use the gym, which we did on the first day. the next day, we walked into the gym and a staff member literally ran after us and told us to leave because we did not stop at the desk and sign the waiver. Wow. Very poor service when staff try to make guests feel that they were somehow wrong in that situation.

Like so much of our expereince at the Biltmore, the yoga class was a combination of good and poor take-away sentiment: the class was in a very small room, with way too many people in it and not enough equipment for all the attendees. The instructor was great - mild-mannered, patient, explained everything for those who are new to yoga. She was also rather late. There must have been a kitchen right next to the yoga room, because there was a lot of pots and pans kinds of banging going on and the occassional tirade of swearing. At one point it sounded like someone needed some serious medical treatment or maybe just a mouth washing with soap.

We spent some time walking the grounds, and again I have to agree with other reviewers: the upkeep of this hotel is faltering. There is definite decay in general maintenance; walkways and stairs are crumbling, paint flaking away, worn-looking edifices... It is a beautiful building with interesting history, I hope the owners can find the means to refurbish what they have before it becomes unamanageable.

I would not recommend this hotel to others, simply because at times, I felt hotel guests were not treated in the manner that this calibre of hotel should be treating its customers. Additinally, the mold and mildew are not just offensive, but a health hazard to those with allergies and asthma.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not reek of mold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lavendou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Biltmore. I am sorry the experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincere apologies. With regard to the staff comments you expressed, we have dealt with the particular personnel involved and are confident these issues have been effectively resolved. We also inspected your accommodations and those surrounding rooms. There was no evidence of mold or mildew present. However, given South Florida's occasional humidity in summer and early fall, we will monitor HVAC in this specific area of the hotel more closely This incident is certainly not reflective of our normal standards or service culture. As well, we'd welcome the opportunity to personally address these issues with you directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed here last year in November for just one night. I had great expectations as the reviews from other travellers were faultless. The building is very impressive and quite sprawled out. The decorations is definitely old world charm but very well maintained. The rooms were well appointed and comfortable, linens were soft as well as the pillows. Bathroom was spacious enough. Breakfast was not included on the price, and we felt it was too expensive so we skipped altogether as it was not value for money. Everything is as it should be for a 5 star luxury hotel but.... if I compare to other 5 star hotels I have stayed in over many trips it is just lacking that something. If we were to pay for 5 star quality, I think I rather go to Miami Beach and stay at The Delano Hotel for the same price or the Four Season in Downtown Miami.

The evening we spent there, we went to the bar where there was a fashion show from the local boutiques in Coral Gables, seemingly this happens quite often and it was fun to have models going around the tables showing various outfits. Drinks were quite expensive but the sliders were divine. Was a nice experience? yes. Lovely setting, and Coral Gables is pleasant enough but it doesn't have the vibe or atmosphere of Coconut Grove. It is pricey for a 5 star hotel but you do not get anything extra or make feel like a 5 star traveller....and that is just it, if you go to these hotels you want to be made feel special.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. At Biltmore, one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Biltmore is also a designated National Historic Landmark property, known for its rustic Mediterranean charm, which is usually embraced by our guests. I sincerely regret that your experience did not meet expectations. We would welcome an opportunity to address these issues with you directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables

Property: The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
Address: 1200 Anastasia Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33134-6339
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#1 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore Hotel is a national historic landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area with close proximity to Miami Beach and downtown Miami. The 273-room resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool on the East Coast of the United States with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding The Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also recently unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, public policy conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelsClick, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing