We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Biltmore Hotel Miami” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reading, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Biltmore Hotel Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights at the Biltmore with the family. 2 rooms. Rooms were outstanding and well maintained reflecting the time period when it was built. The pool is enormous and a lot of fun for the kids. Golf course was in great shape. Ate dinner at the Golf Clubhouse several times which was perfect for kids. Outside seating and sports on TV. Restaurants inside were expensive but the food was great. Overall a great stay but it is expensive.
Close to Miami and South Beach for day trips.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DFC69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    879
    370
    160
    76
    39
See reviews for
421
493
55
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

I stayed at the Biltmore for 2 nights on business. There was nobody at the reception when I tried to check-in at 9pm. The room was humid and very dark, so I had trouble with doing work in the room, although eventually I managed to move the lamps and furniture around to adjust. The stay overall was ok until after I check out from the hotel. A few hours later after I checked out I realized that I had left my coat in the closest (I managed to pack everything else less expensive but forgot about the coat, because it was so hot down in Florida and I forgot I had left it in the closet.) I called the hotel immediately and was transfered to lost and found, however no one seemed to have found it. I thought it was very strange as the coat wasn't stashed away like trash but nicely hung in the closet, so I'd expect someone from housekeeping would have turned it in. But no, nothing was found. I called a couple times afterwards and heard no good news. There was not even an apology. Granted that it was the guest's responsibility to pack everything up and not leave anything behind, but as one of the "leading hotels of the world", it was not the way that guest should have been treated. The only explanation that I could think was housekeeping either tossed it away (strange since it was hung in the closet) or just stole it, which I hate to say.
would not recommend

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Riojamiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
This was simply a miscommunication. The hotel did indeed recover the guest's coat in Lost and Found and shipped it to them directly. We regret the misunderstanding and look forward to seeing her again soon at the Biltmore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
409 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Excellent example of 1920's upper-class resort . . . classic Florida pink stucco, lots of marble, large columns, high ceilings with designs,some peeling . . . huge pool with cabanas . . . golf course in great shape, well-maintained, very enjoyable, large tennis facility . . . two first-class restaurants, one French, one Italian, excellent wine list and great selection of single malts. Sunday brunch ($100 with tax and tip) absolutely outstanding! Service outstanding, with exception of front desk, which didn't seem as well-trained. All were cordial and great to deal with. Sleeping room comfortable . . . large, with large bathroom . . . marble tile floors,,which bother some folks who may prefer carpet. I stayed three nights, and on the third night only, the maid doing turndown provided a small pad and slippers next to the bed. Nice touch but only one night? Only complaint would be the noise between rooms. First night the people next door had a party next door until 1:30am. I didn't complain as I was watching TV and had the sound up. Second night, the woman wearing heels in the room above seemed to wall back and forth for about an hour and I could hear every step. Third night, a couple with a baby moved in next to me. I could hear the baby crying for and was glad it stopped before I turned out the lights. Location ifnthehotel is not on the beach and is a bit out of the way. Its really a destination resort for those planning to get everything they need onsite. Would I stay here again - absolutely!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VacaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

stayed 1 night on business trip
must say I am not a fan of big hotels anyways, but despite the impressive architecture, this one has an impersonal and a little old fashioned feel to it that I did not like at all. and there was a gekko in my room, despite being on the 14th floor!!

only plus points go tho the food af the restaurant (italian), which was excellent, and the pool which is really nice. the golf area looked very nice as well but did not try it out.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arcobaleno1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
The Biltmore is a designated National Historic Landmark property, known for its rustic Mediterranean charm, which is usually embraced by our guests. We regret that the property profile did not meet the guest's expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We've stayed at The Biltmore before, but this time we got to have a weekend there in the middle of a 10 day business trip to Florida. Beautiful hotel, lovely rooms - but staff are their best assets - all a credit to the hotel. Just a shame it never stopped raining ..............

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitby1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The location in Coral Gables is very good, and private and a quite upscale area.
The Architecture and design of the hotel is excellent.
Their golf course is immaculately maintained with great greens, good fairways.
The hotel pool is one of the largest hotel pools in North America.
The service is good, though I find when you're part of a big sprawling hotel, a little of the personal care and attention is lost, need not be always as in Disney establishments they still maintain it, as its part of their credo and culture, but it is not there in this case. But the service is not bad in any way. The food is very good as are the rooms. Its a very busy commerical hotel, so be prepared to see a lot of guests.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soaringtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
434 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

I have mixed feelings regarding our one night stay at the Biltmore. The hotel and the grounds are very beautiful. The architecture and history of the hotel is impressive. Most of the staff are very accommodating. We were less than impressed with our initial contact with hotel staff during check-in. The young ladies seemed "aloof" and less than knowledgeable about the hotel itself. Our room was on the 6th floor and very nicely appointed. We were facing the front of the hotel and the window coverings were poor at blocking the light coming in. The room itself was noisy due to the narrow hallways and thin walls. Sleeping in was definitely not possible with house-keeping beginning their day early and very loudly speaking outside the rooms. We were however impressed with the hotels attention to small details. Upon arrival to the hotel drinks were offered while waiting to check-in. The house-keepers tidy up the rooms in the evening and fill your ice bucket for you. We dined at their restaurant Fontana and were very impressed with the level of service. Very professional and knowledgeable staff. Food was very good especially the Tiramisu. The pool bar makes a fantastic Mojito as well. While impressed with some of our experiences here this was definitely our last.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Biltmore welcomes constructive feedback from all our valued guests.

We will address the issue of the room insulation, but this circumstance appears to be an isolated incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables

Property: The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
Address: 1200 Anastasia Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33134-6339
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore Hotel is a national historic landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area with close proximity to Miami Beach and downtown Miami. The 273-room resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool on the East Coast of the United States with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding The Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also recently unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, public policy conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing