We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“beautiful hotel, disappointing pool” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
hingham, ma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful hotel, disappointing pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2007

We stayed at the biltmore for two nights for a wedding last June. This is a beautiful historic hotel with a grand feeling to it. We kept hearing about the "largest pool in the continental US" and were actually disappointed by the pool area. The pool itself is so big, that the area to sunbathe is cramped and crowded. The pool side restaurant/bar is beautiful as are the multiple bar/lounge areas around the hotel. The hotel is a car-ride away from any nightlife or restaurants (other than the hotel restaurants). The room was small, but clean, nicely appointed and comfortable. In general, this hotel has a european feel to it. We enjoyed our stay and the wedding (which was held in the upstairs ballroom) was absolutely incredible. This is a fabulous site for a function.

  • Liked — historic, grand feel to the building itself, close to miami
  • Disliked — crowded pool area, no activities in walking distance
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellinrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    926
    392
    166
    80
    40
See reviews for
442
515
56
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2007

We chose the Biltmore for its reputation as a luxury property in the Miami area. We enjoyed two nights in this lovely property. The facility is magnificent though located in a residential area and not within easy walking distance of much at all. Having a car is essential. Our room was comfortable and the hotel amenities plentiful.

Some comments about an otherwise fine hotel. Our stay followed on the heels of the Dec. 9 Republican debates in Coral Gables. The hotel must have been overwhelmed by the various Senate visitors as we were somewhat neglected beginning the next day. After repeated phone calls to housekeeping throughout the day, we finally had to intervene with the hotel manager at 6:00 p.m. to have our room made up from the night before.

Staff and management apologized but never offered much beyond bewilderment as to what went wrong. Upon checkout, we were not offered the routine question as to how we enjoyed our stay - almost as if the hotel welcomed our departure. The gentleman checking out next to me complained about the "worst" valet service he had ever experienced, noting he had waited "an hour" for his car and that he had missed a meeting.

Every hotel has a bad day - and certainly this was a demanding weekend for the Biltmore - but the hotel clearly was understaffed and overwhelmed in the day(s) that followed. And there should have been more kindness extended to those of us who experienced "shortages" following the hotel's big weekend.

A.M. Sensenig, Arlington, VA.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank onecedar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2007

We had a great stay at the Biltmore. The room and architecture of the hotel are fantatsic '30's glamour and the staff even better. Defintely the best hotel experience in the US in the 6 months we lived there. I would recommend it to anyone

  • Liked — the staff
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Tezzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2007

I stayed here 1 night for a conference. This is a grand belle epoque hotel from the roaring 1920s which has been wonderfully restored. The pluses were grand public spaces, wonderful (almost obsequious) service, a very large room, a very comfortable plush bed, and a very nice bathroom with very nice stone on the walls and bathtub. However, my room was L shaped, and the space was extremely poorly organized. Instead of more comfortable modern chairs or loveseats, the room had 2 rather uncomfortable, ornate sitting chairs. There was no desk of any kind . There was only a combination bookcase sized dresser (bottom) / entertainment center (top). The top of the dresser (where the hotel places expensive snacks for purchase) served as the desk. There was a chair for this purpose - how anyone with legs was supposed to sit there was unclear... The only way to watch the 20" TV (I never understand why 5 star hotels buy the cheapest TV brands) was to lie on my bed 20 feet away or sit on the "desk" chair in the middle of the room. The 2 sitting chairs were at an impossible angle to the TV. The room's decor was French provincial meets Southern county fair - the strange decor made the furniture look cheaper than it was. The conference facilities were outstanding, but the room itself was inadequate for business travel. The hotel is in the middle of pricey houses, and there is really nothing of interest near the hotel. Both restaurants are painfully overpriced - the 1200 Grill had great appetizers, but the "Kobe-like" steak was tough, chewy and overpriced - I have had steaks at the Golden Corral and Outback that were far easier to cut than what I ate here.

  • Liked — They don't make hotels like this grand hotel anymore
  • Disliked — No desk in room, poor layout of room, location in residential area
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank tsl1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2007

I traveled to Coral Gables to meet my husband who was attending a professional conference at The Biltmore. It was my 3rd visit here. On this visit we had beautiful bed and bathrooms. I don't golf, but the pool and spa made this hotel a luxury retreat. Book your spa treatments on line for a discount.

  • Liked — the spa
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnvirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2007

If only I could live here! This exquisite hotel reeks of Hollywood Glamour from the second you walk in the door you are greeted warmly and offered a glass of champagne upon check-in....very knowledgeable bellman who gave us the history of the hotel as well as great information about the amenities. Have a drink Fridays by the pool and listen to live music or eat at any of the restaurants..or venture out into Coral Gables for many great choices. The rooms are PRISTINE...absolutely spotless. Everything about this hotel is very well-maintained and top-notch!

  • Liked — Absolutely amazing historic hotel with top-notch service
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelerM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
658 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 472 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2007

This is the second time I've stayed at this lovely hotel for a conference. The standard room was spacious, with spotless housekeeping. Our stone-tiled bathroom was very large -- 'would have been easy for a wheelchair person to maneuver. (This bedroom room is smaller than the upgraded room shown in the candid photos, but still a good size.) Most of the typical things found in a business class hotel were there (ironing board and iron; toiletries), but missing was the in-room coffee maker. Wireless internet access is $9.95/day, less for multiple days. Frankly, I'm more and more used to getting this for free at even 3-star hotels, but ironically it seems that the "better" hotels still nickle-and-dime you for this.

Other nice touches: beautiful public rooms; the check-in around 5 p.m. had a nice lady coming up and offering complimentary champagne or mineral water; charming touches like large aviaries of birds. I don'tt play golf, but heard the on-site course was good. Formal afternoon tea attracts a nice crowd.

Some drawbacks: the pool is large and lovely, but not heated. In May, this meant it was refreshing, but would have been too cold in the winter months. There is grab-and-go coffee (very good), bakery (so-so), and fruit (good - $1 for a ripe apple or banana) at the news stand, but with the coffee at $3 a cup, I would have preferred an in-room coffee maker on some mornings.

The restaurants and bars are good, but pricey enough. The less expensive palm-and-fountain 2100 courtyard restaurant has a nice Mediterranean and American menu, but you will pay $40 for dinner before drinks. The French-influenced Palm d'Or is excellent, but the cheapest option there is a $49 pre-theater dinner. I stay at enough expensive hotels, and appreciate the value of nice surroundings, but these menus felt expensive. However, there was an excellent burger and fries at the bar is $12, besdies good bar snacks like conch fritters. Excellent continental breakfast buffet is $12 that includes lots of fresh fruits, excellent bakery and cereals, cold meats and cheeses, yogurt, etc. Hot items will bring this buffet to $18, but also quite good.

The location is not near the beach, but is in a quieter residential area. The shopping districts of the Village at Merrick Park and downtown Coral Gables are about a $7-$8 cab ride away. The shopping and ambiance are a nice break. The golf course at teh hotel is right out the door. So no, the place is not South Beach, but the good news is that it is not South Beach (as I've tried to sleep in some art deco hotels there but could not avoid street noise through the night.)

Charming, helpful people throughout the hotel: the desks, concierges, maids, shop clerks, waitstaff, bellmen, doormen, etc. I appreciated that the concierge allowed me to print off my boarding pass from my computer to his printer -- that is NOT nickle-and-diming, and very helpful.

  • Liked — Lovely service and ambiance; spacious room
  • Disliked — Most dining options felt a little too pricey
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Mme_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables

Property: The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
Address: 1200 Anastasia Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33134-6339
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore Hotel is a national historic landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area with close proximity to Miami Beach and downtown Miami. The 273-room resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool on the East Coast of the United States with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding The Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also recently unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, public policy conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing