We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Has always been great,but seems to be getting better.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
“Has always been great,but seems to be getting better.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

I have stayed at the Biltmore for short "get away" trips for the past 10-15 years. Each time I am their it seems to just get better the rooms are great the food is great and the service is great. However, this past trip was the best stay yet. You don't want to leave the property once you get their and if any problem does arise a simple call to the office and David Castro Front Office Mananger not only makes the problem go away he makes you feel like a member of the family.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
It's always a pleasure to hear from our loyal repeat guests and know that their welcoming Biltmore experience keeps them returning year after year.We take special pride in all our staff and are very appreciative when they are recognized for their outstanding service and professionalism and more importantly their warm hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    925
    391
    166
    80
    40
See reviews for
442
515
56
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
152 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

The Biltmore is such a lovely place to stay! Everything about the historic old hotel, from the manicured grounds and spectacular swimming pool to the friendly bellhops to the efficient front desk and clean, sizeable rooms to the elegant main lobby to the free NY Times in the morning spells luxury and service. Sure, you pay a lot, even with bargain rates, but just being in this wonderful old palace with attentive help makes the splurge more than worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank todbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
We are appreciative of our guests' positive comments and please to know that they were able to enjoyed the resort to its fullest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

Any time that you stay at a historic property, you know that the property won't be brand new but there are certain standards that you expect to be met at a five star property regardless of the age of the property. The room was huge - our suite was a one bedroom corner suite with three sets of beautiful windows, letting in lots of sunlight. But many of the basics you would expect to find in a suite, especially when you are traveling with a family, were not there: no refrigerator, no dining table, no cooktop/ kitchenette. Luckily the minibar was missing a drink so we were able to stash one cup of milk inside for our toddler. It would have been difficult traveling with a little baby as there was nowhere to store drinks or food. We would have been better of staying in a regular hotel room at a fraction of the price.
Regarding the Biltmore Kids amenities - make sure to request them at check in. The front desk staff does NOT offer the amenities (kids' bathrobes, cookies and milk at turndown) to you. You have to know about the amenities and ask or you won't ever receive them. (We first learned about the amenities after reading about them in the hotel brochure AFTER the kids went to sleep - too late!) We actually asked for them the next day and we never did receive the milk and cookies, despite being promised that room service was on the way to the room to deliver them. Lesson learned - ask often and early!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamaicaMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Biltmore welcomes constructive feedback from all of our guests as a means of monitoring services and product quality, ensuring they're consistent with our profile; that of a world-class luxury resort. In regard to the guest room comments, our accommodations are spacious and well appointed. However, as is commonplace in most luxury resorts, other than condo-hotels, cook-tops or kitchenettes are not standard components in the guest room. Our kids and family friendly amenities do not require actions steps from our guests, as they are meant to be seamlessly presented. Management has addressed this issue with appropriate staff to ensure that delivery of these amenities is consistent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

We have been going to the Biltmore for ten years! Always an exceptional stay. We have never been disappointed in any aspect of the hotel. The rooms are beautiful. The food is outstanding. The staff is helpful and professional. We won't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: If you want to go to sleep before 12 ask for a room away from the ballroom. The music from the part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimberly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
It is always a pleasure to hear from our loyal repeat guests and Biltmore Management and staff is very appreciative of the their positive remarks on our property and services. We look forward to welcome our value guests back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

First class first class
Amazing Sunday brunch not cheap!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ottog01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Thank you for your comment on your recent visit. Although the concept of brunch is not for all dining tastes, the Biltmore Sunday Champagne Brunch is recognized as one of the best in the country, having received numerous reviews and accolades from both patrons and the industry for its quality, price value, presentation, service and unique setting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

My wife and I spent three nights at the Biltmore last week. We were dropping off our son for his freshman year at UM. The hotel offered a special UM rate that put the price down into the manageable range. The junior suite was perfect for us. The view from the window spanned the courtyard area of the Fontana restaurant where we ate breakfast (and one dinner). The room itself was plenty large, with a divided sitting area and a cooling tile floor instead of the usual industrial carpet. The complex is truly a pleasure to walk around. The lobby is the best examples I have seen of the 1920s Renaissance/Moorish style. Large pillars fan upward into a blue, arched ceiling. The lagoon pool seems like it's an acre large. Again, it's a wonderful throwback to the early glamor era of Miami. It's a very relaxing place to spend some time in the late afternoon (I'm not a sun worshipper).

Hotel restaurants are often iffy. This place has two very good ones; Fontana and Le Palme D'Or. We partook of the value Miami Spice menus at each. Value indeed, a three course meal for $35. Excellent value at both venues. Stunning value at Le Palme D'Or.

Room Tip: Look for advertised specials in the off season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Biltmore's management is always appreciative of feedback from our valued guests.Our restaurants continue to receive recognition for their culinary creativity and impeccable service. This guest's gracious comments will certainly be shared with all of our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

Having a student at University of Miami we very much wanted to love the Biltmore because of its proximity to the school and 5 star rating. Sadly not everything was to love. The facilities and grounds of the hotel are lovely and the restaraunts were also very good. The rooms however were very poor. Our room though rated a deluxe was anything but and had a mildew smell. Most dissapointing though was the service. Roomservice was very unreliable as was housekeeping. On one afternoon we returned to the room to find takeaway food containers with food in them in the room. They were not ours...housekeeping appeared to have left them behind after cleaning the room. Some days they simply forgot to make up the room. The Spa was attractive but the quality of the services was low. I had a deep tissue massage that was not at all a deep tissue massage and the 28% tip that was already included on my bill was excessive even if it had been an outstanding massage. Our experience was quite dissapointing on the whole as it is a lovely hotel and if properly managed and with the rooms renovated could be a very special place

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
We are appreciative of our guests' sincere feedback and will certainly address the related issues. During this specific period, the hotel was experiencing unusual challenges, all of which may have impacted the typical experience for this guest. We're also confident that the circumstances which caused such have been effectively resolved. In regard to accommodations, our rooms are spacious and well appointed; although, as is common with historically designated properties, there are a handful of rooms that are undersized and décor is to be refurbished. We have placed these few rooms out of inventory until they've been appropriately updated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables

Property: The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#1 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore Hotel is a national historic landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area with close proximity to Miami Beach and downtown Miami. The 273-room resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool on the East Coast of the United States with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding The Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also recently unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, public policy conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Amex, Booking.com, Cancelon, Expedia, HotelsClick, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing