We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I think I'm in France.”
Review of Hotel St. Michel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel St. Michel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Ramsey, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I think I'm in France.”
Reviewed January 1, 2011

My wife and I has previously always spent a night or two in South Beach before driving on our annual trip to Key West. Last May we decided to try Coral Gables and we are SO happy we picked Hotel St. Michel. Once we stepped inside everything reminded us of Europe, France in particular. The hotel staff were very friendly, the room was immaculate and comfortable. If we come back to Coral Gables we would absolutely pick Place St. Michel again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanFromHades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    87
    40
    22
    18
See reviews for
24
97
28
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
222 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2010

I have often stayed at the Hyatt Coral Gables and the Westin Hotel Coral Gables, but now I prefer the Hotel St. Michel. I paid $119 (Florida rate) on a last minute booking because the other hotels were sold out (even at rates of $299 plus tax). Hotel is old world (built 1926), and still has charm. The TV is not large and fancy, the bathrooms are not updated, there are no fancy toiletries, no gym, no room service, no pool, etc. You want all that, then you need to go elsewhere.

The location is superb for Coral Gables. The parking is across the street in a garage for only $9/night. Breakfast served in your room at a time you request includes coffee, orange juice and croissant or muffin. The hotel is very, very quiet. Restaurant on first floor appeared to serve hearty food at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PAQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2010

The Hotle St Michel is a lovely European Style boutique right in the heart of beautiful Coral Gables. Had a 9 night stay here (12-20 Nov 2010) with my girlfriend and St Michel offered us an ideal location for everything we wanted to see and do in the Miami area. The Hotel has an old style charm about it, check-in area is basic but adequate and the old style elevator has to be manually operated by a member of staff. Our room, 316, was a good size, clean and comfortable. On a few nights I could hear noise from accross the street but that could have been down to jet lag and body clock issues as the week wore on I wasn't wakened by any noise. Bathroom and shower were spacious enough for our needs. Hotel is in a great location within Coral Gables for shopping/dining and if you wish to travel into Miami then using the trolley to Douglas Rd Metro Station and getting the train to Government Centre is easy and only takes 25mins. We didn't have a car but I believe the Hotel uses a parking facility accross the street which costs $9 per 24hrs. The staff at the front desk were friendly and helpful towards us and offered excellent information regarding the local area. We didn't eat in the restraunt or have breakfast as our booking was room-rate only. There are plenty of places to eat nearby and Al's Coffee Shop in the Atlantic Bank building accross the street is an excellent option for breakfast. Overall Hotel St. Michel was a great experience for us - great value in a tremendous location and we will be staying here again the next time we return to South Florida.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morrie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
129 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

By far the most delightful hotel in the greater Miami area, comparable only to a European equivalent.
The staff cannot do enough to make your stay comfortable including running after us for a block to return a forgotten satchel. Yes, the room are on the small side, although a couple are quite large, but they are so charming that it doesn’t matter. They certainly have everything one needs from WiFi to TV to an excellent AC and excellent windows that keep away any semblance of noise. Besides, the Coral Gables location cannot be better—you can actually walk to some of the best restaurants in Miami. We have found our new hotel for our trips to Miami.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tropicalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,433 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 932 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

We stayed at this hotel with our young family for one night on a whistle stop tour of Florida. We picked the hotel on the reviews here on trip advisor and also by looking at the hotels own web site. The hotel has splendid 'unique' style and charm and as far as that goes the hotel is great. However the service was rather poor and the staff a tad frosty (very abrupt at breakfast) and the continental breakfast was also very basic (tea or coffee served in a polystyrene cup, orange juice and one pastry) and so all in all we felt not great value for the $157.00 we paid (inc tax) for one night.
Parking was okay in a garage right opposite the hotel but was $9 a night extra.

I would recommend this hotel if you want something different from the usual dull USA chain hotel, but if you want a great breakfast and service with a smile then look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberts69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

My husband and I recently spent a night at the tiny, charming Hotel Place St. Michel located on a quiet corner near Miracle Mile in Coral Gables, Florida. Our room was attractive with classic furnishings, a delciously comfortable bed with lots of pillows, a flat screen TV, and free WiFi access. The bathroom was huge and beauifully appointed with lots of windows, generous granite counters and a modern shower/tub. The building is old (the elevator is still manually operated) but well maintianed. The staff was very helpful. Continental breakfast was included but was brought to the room rather than served in the hotel's dining room. This was the only negative to the stay. The breakfast was fine (coffee, juice and nice croissants), but it should have come on a cart that was left in the room to be used as a table. There was no place to comfortably put the breakfast dishes except on your lap or the dresser.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristenFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caribbean
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

I have traveled a bit yet FL has been one left out on my travels until recently. I was in SoBe a few weeks before and then I was here at Coral Gables. I was very happy and pleased with the Hotel St. Michel. Upon checking in I was given an actual key (been a while for that one!) and was escorted to my room in a vintage elevator. My room was tiny, but since it was just me - I didn't care! The bed was comfortable and clean. The antique furniture was also exquisite (I had a sewing machine table for my flat screen tv), a vanity as a general-use table and a sweet closet. The bathroom was sizeable but not too large. You will have to request an iron and ironing board however. There was Wi-fi throughout the hotel.The halls were darkly carpeted and filled with more antique furniture and floral arrangements. This hotel was more than adequate for my needs. The restaurant is Italian (people kept telling me French for some unknown reason) and though I ate there one night, I could not have a full meal because of health concerns. The staff were quite attentive and my salad was tart and delicious. And Coral Gables is GORGEOUS. I felt safe in the area and on mornings would walk a few blocks to taxis and breakfast (I'm picky with food so I go exploring...). The Miracle Mile was not far. All I am happy for is a bookstore and there was a Barnes and Noble. There are MANY wedding dress shops, and many places to eat. In all, I was happy, well fed, well shopped-out and I enjoyed my class (the reason I went in the first place!)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JasmineLilypad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coral Gables hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#4 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Miami - Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Michel

Property: Hotel St. Michel
Address: 162 Alcazar Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33134-4501 (Formerly Hotel Place St. Michel)
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Coral Gables
#5 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel St. Michel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property is independently owned & operated capturing the essence of boutique hotel service and stay experience. Throughout the property our guests can experience the lure of this historic gem that sits in the heart of the World Famous city: Miami. Located in the vibrant community of Coral gables; Hotel St. Michel is located on a tree line street in the midst of tranquility. The hotel's central location allows it to be in close proximity to all the major attractions of the city of Miami. Hotel St. Michel ambiance allows our guests to feel at home which is ideal for catering to families while visiting Miami on their holiday. Our talented staff speaks several languages and is always available to assist in making reservations and other arrangements to ensure your vacation is fun filled, exciting and special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel St. Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Place St Michel
Place St Michel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing