We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming boutique hotel in heart of Coral Gables`”
Review of Hotel St. Michel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel St. Michel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Charming boutique hotel in heart of Coral Gables`”
Reviewed February 3, 2010

I won a 'mystery auction' for a 4-night stay at the St. Michel at a deep bargain. I was rather nervous after reading some of the reviews here, though. I was, however, pleasantly surprised by this little boutique hotel. It's ideally located within walking distance of all the interesting venues in Coral Gables. Upon arrival and check-in I was escorted up the antique elevator to a spacious 3rd floor suite (rm 310) that had a large sitting area and nice-sized bathroom. The room was decorated with various Spanish-style antiques and had a super-comfortable King bed. I didn't mind having to walk the stairs during my stay even though the staff would have been happy to take me up and down the elevator. I didn't get a chance to dine in the restaurant and I'm not partial to continental breakfasts, so I can't speak to the quality of either at this hotel. However, I had a very pleasant stay here overall. Be advised, however, that while Coral Gables has excellent restaurants, shopping and nightlife, it is not a beach destination. If you're looking for the sun and sand experience right outside your hotel, best check out the plenitude of great hotels/resorts in Miami Beach.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BruceCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    90
    40
    22
    18
See reviews for
25
98
28
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
coral gables, fl
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2010

The restaurant downstairs was dirty and dingy, the cook was a sow, a foul mouth and a biggot. There was a fly on my food and my wine was ill tasting and seemed to be open for a long time, and improperly chilled

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimijoejossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coral Gables hotels

New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2009

It's hard to find a building with history in Florida, so I am giving this a better review for its unique qualities than I would for its value as a great hotel.

What's good:
Excellent location in the heart of Coral Gables
Quaint "old" charm with a hand-operated elevator
There is one computer (no one was on it except myself and the bartender who got off the computer when I came in - but didnt get off the phone to see if I wanted anything to drink).

What's not:
It needs a renovation
Thin walls make for noise from the hall at night
No valet parking - but a parking lot across the street
"Breakfast" is really just some muffins on a paper plate, orange juice and coffee (no milk - just creamer).

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crazytravelernyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2009

I have always known about this hotel because I was born and raised about 20 minutes away. We were celebrating our 10 year wedding anniversary, and since Coral Gables is such a nice area which I HIGHLY recommend, I thought we would book a room and walk to dinner. I chose the St. Michel because it has always been in the Gables and I have had lunch there and friends have stayed there in the past. It's old, not necessarily a charming old. It is to be honest ,a creepy old. The front desk is literally a table. The only way to use the ancient elevator is to have an employee escort you because it is the old cage kind. The halls are filled with antiques and are as I said kind of creepy. I have stayed in old hotels in Europe but they never gave me the creepy feeling. The room here was very small and the bathroom was tiny. The bathroom stayed damp throughout the night after the shower had been used. The room and lobby smelled musty. I heard the floor creaking all night. The website states there is a restaurant, but it was not open on the Friday we stayed and there was a sign stating the space is available for lease. I don't know what happened to the restaurant. The website also states there is a free continental breakfast again I did not see any food when we checked out the next morning. I'm not sure if changes are taking place in the hotel, but I would call and ask about food and restaurant service before booking.

Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank luv2travelMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington New York
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2009

Quaint hotel, good service & location, friendly staff

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Johnson52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2009

The St. Michel reminded my wife and I of a European or South American hotel... bellman operated elevator and all. Quaint is an understatement. A return stay is foreseeable. The common area decor and room furnishings had personality. Before you get enchanted there are several things that potential patrons should consider before booking the hotel. Notwithstanding the attractive, antiquated character, the maintenance of the facility appeared to be slightly overlooked. This property could very easily transition to a top notch boutique with minimal attention from the present managment. Public transportation is available but not advisable. If you drive, parking is by meter or across the street at a bank parking garage. The parking garage cost is reasonable though - - $9.00 daily. Stay alert when returning at night as the hotel locks the doors after hours for a reason. Do not forget that you are in metropolitan Miami. In addition, we do not recommend this hotel for families with small or teenage children as the rooms are very small, there are no recreation amenities, i.e., pool, exercise facility, etc., and, activity from adjacent rooms was occasionally heard during our stay. Mature and well traveled middle aged couples will be the ones likely to find this establishment tolerable. The best part about the hotel is the room rates and proximity to multiple first class restaurants and attractions. Tarpon Bend Seafoods was excellent! Also, award winning latin, French and Asian cuisine surround the hotel. Research the menus and addresses before your arrival as a few front desk clerks were oblivious to the restaurant locations and offerings. Not a menu to be found in the place. Overall...an old diamond in the rough.

  • Liked — Proximity to restaurants and attractions
  • Disliked — Building and room was a little neglected. Staff was loud and not particularly helpful.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krimson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, MA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2008

Let me first say, if you are looking to stay in the downtown Coral Gables area, the location cannot be beat. It's a european style hotel in decoration as well as the building which includes an antique elevator. It's a two block walk to the area called "Miracle Mile" which has some of the best restaurants in Miami area and some very nice galleries for window shopping. Parking is available across the street for only $9, and you can come and go without repaying.

Our room was a double bed and it was very clean and the staff was extremely helpful even with limited english. The room had a remote control air conditioner as well as windows that actually opened. Flat screen television, hair dryer, ice already in bucket, celing fan and usual toiletries. Because it's in a business area, at night it is fairly quiet outside. We stayed Christmas Eve and were not interested in utilizing the restaurant, but it looked empty as we left for the evening. It's a great budget alternative to the Hyatt or Collonade nearby.

  • Liked — Location, Price, Building architecture
  • Disliked — older structure, no soundproofing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DonPalino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
1,345 reviews
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#5 of 11 in Coral Gables
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Michel

Property: Hotel St. Michel
Address: 162 Alcazar Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33134-4501 (Formerly Hotel Place St. Michel)
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel St. Michel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property is independently owned & operated capturing the essence of boutique hotel service and stay experience. Throughout the property our guests can experience the lure of this historic gem that sits in the heart of the World Famous city: Miami. Located in the vibrant community of Coral gables; Hotel St. Michel is located on a tree line street in the midst of tranquility. The hotel's central location allows it to be in close proximity to all the major attractions of the city of Miami. Hotel St. Michel ambiance allows our guests to feel at home which is ideal for catering to families while visiting Miami on their holiday. Our talented staff speaks several languages and is always available to assist in making reservations and other arrangements to ensure your vacation is fun filled, exciting and special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel St. Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Place St Michel
Place St Michel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing