We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Charming but Depressing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Place St. Michel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Place St. Michel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Charming but Depressing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

I stayed here about 10 years ago and it was wonderful! So I was looking forward to my one night stay. It was depressing and worn when I entered the lobby. The restaurant is closed and the place gives a feeling of closing.

Staff was friendly and helpful and the room was very attractive and clean. However, the bath tub had some sort of rust spots or sticky crud on the floor, which was, to say the least, off-putting.

Will not stay again--it looks like it is struggling to survive which is too bad.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank w00dsyrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    81
    40
    20
    16
See reviews for
24
92
27
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a wedding and absolutely loved it! We are both experienced travelers and we felt like we were back in Europe! The building had history and charm and was absolutely beautiful!
We spent a lot of time outside the hotel for the wedding so we didn't get to experience the restaurant, but the staff was very friendly!
We also noticed that the area was very quiet and although we found a great bar, there wasn't too much else going on (which might be a plus for some people).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanaPedersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
244 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

A boutique hotel, like a visit to Paris.

Love the design of the exterior and the look of the interior with some of its antiques. The room was fine, other than the feel of time travel, it is a clean, neat comfortable space.

The staff is helpful and polite. This is not like a Hampton Inn so if that is your preference stay away, but if you like and appreciate the value of older times stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Nice old fashioned and quiet room in convenient location near Miracle Mile. Third floor only accessible by stair or operator assisted elevator. Personnel friendly and helpful. Very comfortable bed. we were impressed with the reasonable price as well

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

I like a "boutiquie" hotel and this was just that. The antiques and unique atmosphere was a nice distraction from the sameness that we have come to accept with the chain hotels. There are few amenities but the hotel staff is very kind and helpful. I felt like I was in Europe. As long as you are self sufficient you are in very good shape here. I agree with the previous review about the maintenance as our bathroom floor tiles were cracked but I chalked it up to "character".

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

A very different hotel. Dated back early 1900 's very clean and well kept. Very quiet for good night sleep. Me and my husband walk around to restaurants at night with out a car. Visit dorado resturant . Excellent spanish food. We only stayed for two nights . At night we would leave the windows open . If you want something different. This is it . Friendly staff.....

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Isabel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

My wife and I love funky hotels and the St Michel meets that criteria, but it's on the edge of too funky from a maintenence persective. The tub was rusty in 3 places. The bed was small - a full size, not even a queen. AC is just so-so. Curtains don't darken the room much at all.

On the plus side, the staff is GREAT. The front desk is mostly'manned' by grandmothers, all very nice. They put ice in the room every day. Hand operated elevator is fun. Location is excellent. We got back later ever night so I just parked on the curb right out front then fed the meter at 9 am. Might stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coral Gables hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#5 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Miami - Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Place St. Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Place St. Michel

Property: Hotel Place St. Michel
Address: 162 Alcazar Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33134-4501
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Place St. Michel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A little bit if Paris in Miami. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Place St. Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Place St Michel
Place St Michel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing