We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Funky and Wonderful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Place St. Michel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Place St. Michel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Funky and Wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

First I want to clarify that the hotel amenities listed on Tripadvisor no longer exist. At the moment there is no restaurant in the hotel (though a Peruvian one is in the works), no room service, no lounge, no free breakfast -- in fact, no breakfast at all. (What there is is very good complimentary coffee from seven until noon, and a ton of great restaurants within a three-block radius.) That said, Place St. Michel can offer a wonderful experience for those who are not looking for the standard American luxury hotel room. If that's you, book at the nearest Hilton or Marriott Renaissance. If you prefer something more European and distinctive, by all means book here. The hotel is in a stunning historical building with a ton of character and a beauty all its own. I was fortunate to luck into a large corner room with a sitting area, though I do think room sizes vary. Furnishings are antique, or old, depending on your perspective. The only modern thing in my room is a flat screen TV, but that rests on an old sewing machine cabinet doubling as a TV stand. A wooden armoire instead of a closet, and a bookshelf with actual BOOKS in it. You get the idea. Privately owned and operated, with all the creaks and bumps that implies, but also all the charm and warmth that's not part of a chain hotel experience. I came for business, but would love to return with family and/or friends.

Room Tip: Some rooms have sitting areas, which are a nice perk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1morefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    78
    38
    19
    15
See reviews for
24
86
24
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Definitely dated
No room service, no restaurant, not even coffee in the morning - I was told they were renovating
Forget the elevator. You need to call attendant to use it as it is that old
The place is a historical building after all!
Room was very clean, but again some updating would be nice
Wooden floor badly scratched
The plusses: relatively decent price for Miami, Good location in the heart of Coral Gables

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pierre5252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here one night before we went on a cruise. The hotel is very charming, with antiques in the rooms and an old-fashioned elevator that requires a member of the staff to operate it. There is a parking garage right up the street, which charges $14 a night. Since we were there on a Saturday night, there was no attendant, so we paid at the hotel. But be advised if you are paying at the garage, it must be cash--no credit cards, no checks and no bill larger than a 20! Our room was a nice size and since we were only there one night, we didn't unpack. The bathroom was very tiny but the fixtures were modern. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. There is also free wifi, which is very nice. The next day we walked to the Miracle Mile and had breakfast, then window shopped for a while. It was Sunday morning so all the stores were closed, but it was fun walking around. The staff are very nice and seemed to really care whether you had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adulttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naramata, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Place St. Michel for one night in January while on a day trip to the Miami area with some friends. We agree with the other reviewers that the hotel is charming in its own way -- decorated with "antiques", pleasant and obliging staff, a bit off the beaten track but within easy walking distance of all the action on the Miracle Mile; funky -- temperamental heating/air conditioning unit, old-fashioned bathroom fixtures, ancient operator-required elevator, small wardrobes instead of closets; and reasonably good value for the money -- nearby and reasonable parking, close to but not in most of the Coral Gables action. We had a problem with the heating system, which one of the staff tried valiantly to fix … but to no avail. It was an unusually cold night when we were there; some extra heat would have been nice as the bed linens were not designed to keep guests as cozy as we would have liked. Besides being a bit on the skimpy side the blankets (and, indeed, all the linens) were a bit tired. In fact, "tired" is a good way to describe the hotel at the time we were there. It is in need of a good freshening up. With some new linens, a fresh coat of paint, and a few tweaks to the heating/cooling system it could be the charming vintage establishment it aims to be.

Room Tip: We had a corner room with a view to the street on one side, including from the bathroom, and to an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Naramatians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, Minnesota
Level Contributor
183 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Lots of antiques and very quiet. No room service. Rather funky but we liked the place and will return. Very attentive staff that appreciates you staying with them. Very clean. Dining room may open soon.

Room Tip: Small place. Get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blacklake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

i stayed here with 10 other friends on our way to do the Ragnar relay from Miami to Key West. The rooms were great, the ambiance was wonderful. Walking distance to places to eat, pretty sites around the hotel. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Covered garage parking. We were all pleased with our stay here! Loved the antiques in our rooms and the hallways.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IronSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

My fiancée and I stayed a weekend here and loved it! If you're expecting high tech, modern amenities, then stay elsewhere. But if you want European charm (which is what Coral Gables is all about) in a great location in the Gables, this is it! Comfortable bed, and vintage room decor make this a great romantic getaway hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was on the street, which was a bit noisy at times, so if you need quiet, maybe request a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 1,092 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#5 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 438 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
0.2 mi away
The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Miami - Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Place St. Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Place St. Michel

Property: Hotel Place St. Michel
Address: 162 Alcazar Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33134-4501
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Coral Gables
#5 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Place St. Michel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A little bit if Paris in Miami. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Place St. Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Place St Michel
Place St Michel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing