We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vintage Charm, Pleasant Stay”
Review of Hotel St. Michel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel St. Michel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Spring Lake, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Vintage Charm, Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My fiancée and I stayed a weekend here and loved it! If you're expecting high tech, modern amenities, then stay elsewhere. But if you want European charm (which is what Coral Gables is all about) in a great location in the Gables, this is it! Comfortable bed, and vintage room decor make this a great romantic getaway hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was on the street, which was a bit noisy at times, so if you need quiet, maybe request a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    90
    40
    22
    18
See reviews for
25
98
28
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed in this hotel on a Friday night during the Christmas holidays.The price was excellent for the Season and it was very well located. Unfortunately, public works were repairing right in front of the entrance,so the water was cut and there was noise all through the night.Thank God for earplugs! Also,our reservation was for 2 beds and we got a king. The room was large and cozy but as my traveling companion and myself had been walking around Miami all day,we were looking forward to our own bed. They brought an extra portable bed but it was unfair to one of us. Other than that we were pleased with our stay and the friendliness of the staff. Seemed quite clean.

Room Tip: Try to be further away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi33403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Isle, Vermont
Level Contributor
141 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is a small hotel that is like stepping into the past--in a good sense. The elevator has an operator, furnishings are high quality and somewhat antique. Parking is directly across the street. Rooms are spacious and well furnished. Baths are fine. Nice location--very close to the airport and dining choices in Coral Gables. Service is very friendly and helpful. This will be a top choice when we need a hotel near MIA airport.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elm4154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed in this charming, quaint hotel for one night. Our spacious room had two double beds with 4 pillows each. If you like beautiful old world ambience, you'll love this hotel. My favorite feature was the elevator, from the 1920's! The bathroom was very nice, tile and marble, had a great shower head and tub. Very large windows. Only down side was the lighting, a bit dim, but adequate. Service was very good. Quiet, serene, and made me feel I was in Paris!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwaysfirstclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We were 4 adults travelling together and we stayed one night at this hotel. We found the hotel interesting, the very opposite of anonymous and boring hotel chains that dominate the world nowadays! Unfortunately the cleaning was a disappointment, it looked like they had not changed the white bed sheets in the beds since the last guests (the sheets were not dirty but looked used and we found two hairs in them). Also, the hotel did not serve breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linnea2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coral Gables hotels

Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I stayed here when my flight was cancelled thanks to the 2014 "polar vortex", and it turned out to be a most providential choice--certainly a helluva lot better than staying in some chain out by the airport, where there would be little within walking distance to do. As advertised, a historic old hotel (1926) that has retained its charm. Even the switchboard features wires the front desk operator must plug in, a la Lily Tomlin. Staff were helpful, room was charming; even the woman running the place was European (German?). Electronics a bit glitchy; Direct TV cable went out one evening, and I eventually had trouble keeping my mac devices connected to their WiFi (though the staff helped out with both). Small and personable; they let me check in very early the morning after my late night flight was cancelled. Five minutes from the Coral Gables miracle mile (by foot), with particularly abundant dining options. $17 cab ride to the airport. During the first week of 2014, at any rate, the restaurant is under renovation (apparently dropping the Peruvian theme for a Mediterranean one), but as there are many fine options within walking distance that was not a big deal.

Room Tip: Call ahead and ask for the best rate. I had a corner room overlooking the intersection of Alcazar an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmj399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I have been staying at the St Michel for three months and highly recommend this hotel. It is an architectural gem with OUTSTANDING STAFF. The rooms have antique furniture. And the Manager shares her personal German decorations for holidays giving a wonderful ambiance. All traveler necessities are in the hotel or close. They have an excellent Peruvian restaurant in house, internet, cable TV, dry cleaning pick up, lobby computer with printer. It is a period building with operating elevator which I think is original to the 1926 building. It is a choice hotel for travelers that enjoy historical quality in the Coral Gables area!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AliKat_Art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coral Gables hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
1,328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#4 of 11 in Coral Gables
508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Miami - Coral Gables
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Michel

Property: Hotel St. Michel
Address: 162 Alcazar Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33134-4501 (Formerly Hotel Place St. Michel)
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel St. Michel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property is independently owned & operated capturing the essence of boutique hotel service and stay experience. Throughout the property our guests can experience the lure of this historic gem that sits in the heart of the World Famous city: Miami. Located in the vibrant community of Coral gables; Hotel St. Michel is located on a tree line street in the midst of tranquility. The hotel's central location allows it to be in close proximity to all the major attractions of the city of Miami. Hotel St. Michel ambiance allows our guests to feel at home which is ideal for catering to families while visiting Miami on their holiday. Our talented staff speaks several languages and is always available to assist in making reservations and other arrangements to ensure your vacation is fun filled, exciting and special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel St. Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Place St Michel
Place St Michel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing