We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with character”
Review of Hotel St. Michel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel St. Michel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Coral Gables
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hotel with character”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I stayed here when my flight was cancelled thanks to the 2014 "polar vortex", and it turned out to be a most providential choice--certainly a helluva lot better than staying in some chain out by the airport, where there would be little within walking distance to do. As advertised, a historic old hotel (1926) that has retained its charm. Even the switchboard features wires the front desk operator must plug in, a la Lily Tomlin. Staff were helpful, room was charming; even the woman running the place was European (German?). Electronics a bit glitchy; Direct TV cable went out one evening, and I eventually had trouble keeping my mac devices connected to their WiFi (though the staff helped out with both). Small and personable; they let me check in very early the morning after my late night flight was cancelled. Five minutes from the Coral Gables miracle mile (by foot), with particularly abundant dining options. $17 cab ride to the airport. During the first week of 2014, at any rate, the restaurant is under renovation (apparently dropping the Peruvian theme for a Mediterranean one), but as there are many fine options within walking distance that was not a big deal.

Room Tip: Call ahead and ask for the best rate. I had a corner room overlooking the intersection of Alcazar an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmj399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    92
    40
    22
    19
See reviews for
26
98
29
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, TN
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I have been staying at the St Michel for three months and highly recommend this hotel. It is an architectural gem with OUTSTANDING STAFF. The rooms have antique furniture. And the Manager shares her personal German decorations for holidays giving a wonderful ambiance. All traveler necessities are in the hotel or close. They have an excellent Peruvian restaurant in house, internet, cable TV, dry cleaning pick up, lobby computer with printer. It is a period building with operating elevator which I think is original to the 1926 building. It is a choice hotel for travelers that enjoy historical quality in the Coral Gables area!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AliKat_Art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here after NYE as our flight to NY got cancelled. I found this just browsing for airport hotels and what a find! Its 3 miles from the airport and around 4 blocks from miracle mile. Once you are inside the hotel you will feel as if you are in europe. I have stayed in many B&Bs that try to emphasize a historic charm but this hotel is the real deal! Its not a B&B though , it has a mechanical elevator , gorgeous european style decor , all furnishings are antique . Also has current world amenities like free wi fi , tv in the room etc. Parking is super convenient , either street park or park across the hotel at a minimal cost. Next time we will try their peruvian restaurant!

Room Tip: call them directly for the best rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank priyanka g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville Florida
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed one night in this hotel. It is furnished like a B and B from the 1920's. The room we had was fine. It was a corner room with a balcony that over looked two busy streets. There is parking in the garage across the street at $14 per day. It was clean and quiet. The bed was comfortable. The hotel is also super close to the airport. It is also right off Miracle Mile so it is walking distance to many fine shops and restaurants. The neighbourhood is clean and safe. There is a restaurant located in the hotel but it looked really upscale and we were tired and just wanted something low-key and inexpensive. The room was a bit small and the bathroom is really small and had a stand up shower. It remind me of the pensiones I have stayed at in Spain and Italy. Because this hotel is a boutique/b and b type place, I am not sure that a family with kids could stay here comfortably. For 2 it is fine.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank northfloridafolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Massachusetts, USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I stayed here for a friend's wedding. It was everything I was looking for - old fashioned charm but still clean and neat. Within 5-10 mins walking of most shops, bars, and restaurants in Coral Gables.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank courtney_wahle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed in a room with 2 doubles. I awoke at 4am and it was as if we were sleeping on the side of a ravine. The bed was well on way to folding up in the middle. We moved to the other bed and that was only slightly better. Some people find this hotel quaint, I find it very odd. The carpet on the stairs is threadbare and it is a very odd mix of furniture. I did tell the woman on reception about the bed and she stated it would be looked into. It was in such poor condition, they should have been well aware of this. I do not think £103 per night + $14 for parking is inconsequential, and I will not stay there again.

Room Tip: Check the beds first
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coral Gables hotels

New York, N.Y.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This is a boutique hotel for anyone who cannot stand cookie cutter hotels. We had one night in Miami on our way to the Keys and this was perfect. Quirky? You bet. And try the nearby equally quirky beer restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorker300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 12 in Coral Gables
1,361 reviews
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#4 of 12 in Coral Gables
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Michel

Property: Hotel St. Michel
Address: 162 Alcazar Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33134-4501 (Formerly Hotel Place St. Michel)
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Coral Gables
#5 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel St. Michel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property is independently owned & operated capturing the essence of boutique hotel service and stay experience. Throughout the property our guests can experience the lure of this historic gem that sits in the heart of the World Famous city: Miami. Located in the vibrant community of Coral gables; Hotel St. Michel is located on a tree line street in the midst of tranquility. The hotel's central location allows it to be in close proximity to all the major attractions of the city of Miami. Hotel St. Michel ambiance allows our guests to feel at home which is ideal for catering to families while visiting Miami on their holiday. Our talented staff speaks several languages and is always available to assist in making reservations and other arrangements to ensure your vacation is fun filled, exciting and special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel St. Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Place St Michel
Place St Michel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing