We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Place St. Michel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Place St. Michel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Hull, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I stayed here for a friend's wedding. It was everything I was looking for - old fashioned charm but still clean and neat. Within 5-10 mins walking of most shops, bars, and restaurants in Coral Gables.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank courtney_wahle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    76
    37
    19
    15
See reviews for
24
85
23
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed in a room with 2 doubles. I awoke at 4am and it was as if we were sleeping on the side of a ravine. The bed was well on way to folding up in the middle. We moved to the other bed and that was only slightly better. Some people find this hotel quaint, I find it very odd. The carpet on the stairs is threadbare and it is a very odd mix of furniture. I did tell the woman on reception about the bed and she stated it would be looked into. It was in such poor condition, they should have been well aware of this. I do not think £103 per night + $14 for parking is inconsequential, and I will not stay there again.

Room Tip: Check the beds first
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, N.Y.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This is a boutique hotel for anyone who cannot stand cookie cutter hotels. We had one night in Miami on our way to the Keys and this was perfect. Quirky? You bet. And try the nearby equally quirky beer restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorker300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Over the last 15 years, I have gone through streaks where this has been a 'go to' hotel on business trips to Miami. It is affordable, could be described as charming, and has perfect location in Downtown Coral Gables (just to west of Miami).

I had not stayed there in several years, and decided to give it a try. Wow, what a difference 3-4 years makes...NONE! While it is charming, and like stepping back in time, it really needs an update, something I think they could do and retain the charm. A small but telling example is that the elevator is old enough to still require an operator.

All that having been said, there is a great deal to like about the hotel. It is clean, free wifi, has a new restaurant in the lobby, and an endearing character to it that is difficult to find in North American Hotels. If it were in Paris, people would rave about it, especially given that its prices are reasonable.

Worth a try for a night or two.

Room Tip: Second floor. Otherwise if elevator is unmanned, need to use stairs to 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WUBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

The st Michel is a great hotel for the money. Stayed there for 4 days and the staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The hotel is old and the rooms are old but clean. I would stay here again. It's a nice change from the commercial hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
297 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

What a find! This is a wonderful small European style hotel in downtown Coral Gables with dark wood, oriental carpets, marble, and antiques. It is just barely worn enough for old world charm without being really worn. The staff is very friendly and could not be more helpful. Our room was large, well furnished with antiques, and a king sized bed. The bath was marble and tile and well lit with large windows. There was a tub/ shower combination. Flat screen tv and wifi is also in the room. The location is excellent walking distance from great food and shopping. And, best of all, we paid less here than we paid for a ratty room at a Comfort Inn the night before. We will definitely be back!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ACW2243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

This was a great get-a-way, without going far (about 15 miles from home). We loved that we were able walk to where we wanted to go. There are many great restaurants to choose from, the hard part is picking one out. We had a problem with the A/C, it wasn't cooling when we returned from dinner. Within minutes they gave us another room. The staff is very attentive. We would definitely return.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#5 of 11 in Coral Gables
3.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Place St. Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Place St. Michel

Property: Hotel Place St. Michel
Address: 162 Alcazar Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33134-4501
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Coral Gables
#5 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Place St. Michel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A little bit if Paris in Miami. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Place St. Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Place St Michel
Place St Michel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing