We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A European feel without having to get on a plane!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Place St. Michel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Place St. Michel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A European feel without having to get on a plane!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

This was a great get-a-way, without going far (about 15 miles from home). We loved that we were able walk to where we wanted to go. There are many great restaurants to choose from, the hard part is picking one out. We had a problem with the A/C, it wasn't cooling when we returned from dinner. Within minutes they gave us another room. The staff is very attentive. We would definitely return.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    81
    40
    21
    16
See reviews for
24
93
28
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel listed for $85. What would you expect for that price is not what you get. The hotel feels like you have stepped back into 1920s France. It is filled with antiques and charming. I had to ask why it was so inexpensive. The rate is low in the summer but in the 200s during winter.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingteach77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

we booked this thru Hotels.com and was terribly disappointed! The parking is a block away and is not free. According to Hotels.com, there was a bar/lounge & a restaurant on site. Not really, the bar is a couple of bar stools placed at the food service area in the restaurant. The restaurant is International cuisine. The only elevator requires an operator - otherwise, you use the stairs. There was supposed to be a bowl of fruit, nope. There is no ice machine, a staff person comes around with a cart of ice. I don't know what happens if you miss the ice person...no ice? Room 212 was very small and musty smelly. We felt lucky to get a refund of the second night, paid the first night but did not stay. In all fairness to the Hotel, if you are looking for something like that, I suppose it's fine. It was just not at all like what we thought we were getting. It's more like a B&B but without the hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

The staff is helpful and courteous. We left the room key with them every time we went out. We had room 207 with two double beds. We didn't hear anything from other rooms. The air conditioner was quiet. The bathroom was modern and updated. The beds have and abundance of pillows. The hotel has no pool (which contributes to the nice price) but the Venetian Pool and the beach at Key Biscayne are close by.

Coffee is served in the lobby, although they stashed it away on our last day due to complaints from the adjacent restaurant who would like to sell you a cup of coffee of course. There is a bar room along the front of the hotel that is currently only used for private parties but I hope the hotel will open it for guests. It's a nice room and would be an ideal place to have a cocktail before going out and mingle with other hotel guests.

Many great restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.
The POC Buffet is excellent. Delicious ceviches! Talavera Mexican restaurant is wonderful. Also loved John Martin's Irish Pub on the Miracle Mile for being so unMiami. Barely scratched the surface of all the great restaurants in Coral Gables.

You can park in a parking garage across the street for $14 for 24 hours. In and out as much as you like. Traffic in Coral Gables is a bit less intense than in the rest of Miami, which is essentially in gridlock.

This was our first visit to Coral Gables and my mom and I, who are in our 40s and 60s respectively, and from the Midwest, felt totally safe and comfortable the whole time. We will definitely stay there again. Loved it.

Room Tip: You have to have assistance to use the elevator so I recommend a room on the second floor so you onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KCC_003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

The Good
It's definitely a unique hotel. It's nice, kind of european bed and breakfast style. A little old fashion for my everyday taste but it works if you're taking a trip and want something different. It felt like staying in a museum, lots of old paintings and old furniture, they even gave us a physical key to a room, not a card to swipe (haven't seen that in ages). Even the elevator was old, had to be controlled by someone. Not bad at all. It's in Coral Gables (always a nice neighborhood), 1-2 blocks from Miracle Mile so it was always convenient near shops and food. We loved the AC in the room, it was always super cold in our room which was FANTASTIC.

The Bad
The only bad part was the toilet, it was too close to the shower wall so you kind of had to sit at an angle so yea. Our bed squeaked when you moved around and was a bit soft but wasn't too bad or uncomfortable. The WiFi is free but the login/pw system is a bit kludgy, most times I just turned the hotspot on my phone because it was a pain to enter the pw for the WiFi.

Honestly if you're in Miami to visit you really only come back to the hotel sleep and to relax before going out. The Hotel St. Michel, is a nice little gem. Speaking as a former Miami resident, you're in a great neighborhood, bit far from the beach, but it's Miami, you have to drive to get anywhere anyway.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Treklos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We were first time visitors to Florida and chose Coral Gables as our base.
We read some reviews and chose St Michel because of its history and atmosphere.
We weren't disappointed!
Everything about the hotel, from the really helpful and friendly staff to the charm of the rooms and furnishings, exuded class and style.
We would recommend it to anyone visiting the Miami area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhilandClare55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed for four nights at the Hotel Saint Michel. The location is great, at the heart of quiet, salubrious Coral Gables and a short walk away from Miracle Mile and its wonderful restaurants.

The hotel itself is high on character - with antique furniture and an atmospheric lift - but fair to middling on functionality: our room was a bit cramped for a couple and child; there was no bedside lighting to speak of, no fridges or coffee-making facilities; no breakfast. The lift had to be operated by staff (luckily, our room was only one floor up).

But for the price we paid - £300 for four nights - it was great value. I would recommend it to anyone who wants a clean, friendly, but not necessarily luxurious place to stay in one of Florida's most pleasant communities.

A tip about parking: there is a paying car park across the street, but you can park for free in a quiet, unmetered area a block away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sardanapale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coral Gables hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#5 of 11 in Coral Gables
3.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Miami - Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Place St. Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Place St. Michel

Property: Hotel Place St. Michel
Address: 162 Alcazar Ave., Coral Gables, FL 33134
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Place St. Michel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A little bit if Paris in Miami. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Place St. Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Place St Michel
Place St Michel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing