We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Very nice, but old fashioned.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Place St. Michel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Place St. Michel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Holmes, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice, but old fashioned.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

It's really nice, but a bit too old fashioned for me. It's far from South Beach, but the location is good for people wanting to be closer to the city. The price is a little high for a small room with a little bathroom. The view is of the road only; however, the surrounding neighborhood is nice. You do need to pay for parking but at a discounted rate at the garage across the street. There is no refrigerator in the room, and the closet space is small. There is no complimentary breakfast, but there is a nice restaurant on the premises. There is no swimming pool, but one should not generally be expected in such historic hotels. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. The reason I gave it three stars is if you compare price, comfort, location and availability with other hotels in the area you may be able to find a better deal. Although, if you like historical buildings, this hotel is sure to please. The most memorable thing in this hotel would be the beautiful elevator, with a very old gate door and staff operation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunsvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    78
    38
    19
    15
See reviews for
24
86
24
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Spent one night at this hotel in March 2013. Quick get-away with wife and daughter. While hotel is "charming" (it is an historical property, after all in Coral Gables), it is really old and lacking in basics. First, it is under-staffed. One woman working the front desk; one housekeeper; no valet. Ouch. Also, no open restaurant for breakfast, coffee, nothing. No gym, no lobby to even sit in, no lounge/bar, no pool. The rooms (and hotel generally) were clean. Rooms were very tight, super small bathrooms, noisy a/c unit. Bottom line--for $200 night, you are only paying for "charm." Next time I am in the Gables, I stay at Westin.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrolleyDodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Old fashioned hotel with very pleasant and helpful staff just four blocks from Miracle Mile, the shopping/restaurant hub of Coral Gables. We wanted somewhere quieter than South Beach and it would have been excellent save for the absence of breakfast! Older reviews comment on breakfasts so this absence was unexpected and unwelcome , tho the staff did recommend a decent French type bakery a couple of blocks away. Had there been breakfast I would have rated it 4 stars.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maritimevoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
160 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a small, charming hotel that feels as though one is renting a room in someone's home. The rooms are clean and designed to evoke a prior era. My room had a little book nook and divan. I felt very comfortable. The rooms have all the modern amenities, without the sterility. There is an old elevator which travels to all floors. I don't like glitz. I appreciated the quiet coziness.

I also apprecitated the coffee in the lobby.

The manager was knowledgeable and friendly. She helped me with many transit questions. The rest of the staff was helpful as well. Maps of the area are available upon request.

I was only a block or two from the Miracle Mile with shops and restaurants galore.

Try Al's coffee shop at 2121 for a good breakfast.

Room Tip: Try to get a top floor room. Book way in advance. There are many repeat customers and I can see why...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elyette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here with two teenage sons - room was not huge but adequate. Bathroom space was "tight". The lift is manually operated by staff, and the teenagers decided I must be a dinosaur as I could remember them being in use in some stores here when I was a child. Hotel had restaurant on site, however we did not use it so cannot comment. The free bus runs down the street outside and connects to the train, so easy to get around. Seems a safe relatively quiet area, and the POC restaurant just along the street is good value for dining.
Only comment would be that the timber floors creak a bit when people walking around - a rug would probably help with the sound of traffic above!

Room Tip: If you're on the top floor, you're not going to get people walking around overhead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karval52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Fl
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed there is past Thanksgiving weekend for my 21 birthday. My husband and I were looking for nice clean place to basically sleep since we knew we were going to be spending a lot of time in the room anyways. It's a very cute place, it's different than anything else I have stayed in but it was nice. It did have a european feeling that I absoulty love, with the exception of the creep little girl painting in the room lol. The room was small just enough for two, the bathroom was perfect but I do recommend to ask the front desk how to work the shower head since it a little tricky. Front desk was open 24 hours which was really nice, there is an extra fee for parking but its not too bad. The elevator was old and can only be used with the company of an employee and sometimes there wasn't anyone there so we had to use the stairs which we didn't mind considering we were on the second floor. We had room service and everything was nice and clean. I probably won't be back just because I perfer something different but it was a very pleasant experiance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jazmin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in michel to be close to the airport and also located near some city activities. The rooms are in a lovely old style with nice interiours. The staff is outstanding friendly and customer oriented - just great. The only thing is that the lift is not operated 24/7 to bring the luggage to the room coz it is operated by a staff member who is not always there. Due to the fact that it is an old building there is a chance to hear neigbour ferences.  Paking is available for $14 for 24 hours. We will stay a second nigth there in January.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matmueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 1,093 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#5 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
0.2 mi away
The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Miami - Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Place St. Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Place St. Michel

Property: Hotel Place St. Michel
Address: 162 Alcazar Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33134-4501
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Place St. Michel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A little bit if Paris in Miami. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Place St. Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Place St Michel
Place St Michel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing