We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Agreable visit”
Review of Hotel St. Michel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel St. Michel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Coral Gables
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Old fashioned hotel with very pleasant and helpful staff just four blocks from Miracle Mile, the shopping/restaurant hub of Coral Gables. We wanted somewhere quieter than South Beach and it would have been excellent save for the absence of breakfast! Older reviews comment on breakfasts so this absence was unexpected and unwelcome , tho the staff did recommend a decent French type bakery a couple of blocks away. Had there been breakfast I would have rated it 4 stars.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maritimevoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 245 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a small, charming hotel that feels as though one is renting a room in someone's home. The rooms are clean and designed to evoke a prior era. My room had a little book nook and divan. I felt very comfortable. The rooms have all the modern amenities, without the sterility. There is an old elevator which travels to all floors. I don't like glitz. I appreciated the quiet coziness.

I also apprecitated the coffee in the lobby.

The manager was knowledgeable and friendly. She helped me with many transit questions. The rest of the staff was helpful as well. Maps of the area are available upon request.

I was only a block or two from the Miracle Mile with shops and restaurants galore.

Try Al's coffee shop at 2121 for a good breakfast.

Room Tip: Try to get a top floor room. Book way in advance. There are many repeat customers and I can see why...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elyette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here with two teenage sons - room was not huge but adequate. Bathroom space was "tight". The lift is manually operated by staff, and the teenagers decided I must be a dinosaur as I could remember them being in use in some stores here when I was a child. Hotel had restaurant on site, however we did not use it so cannot comment. The free bus runs down the street outside and connects to the train, so easy to get around. Seems a safe relatively quiet area, and the POC restaurant just along the street is good value for dining.
Only comment would be that the timber floors creak a bit when people walking around - a rug would probably help with the sound of traffic above!

Room Tip: If you're on the top floor, you're not going to get people walking around overhead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karval52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed there is past Thanksgiving weekend for my 21 birthday. My husband and I were looking for nice clean place to basically sleep since we knew we were going to be spending a lot of time in the room anyways. It's a very cute place, it's different than anything else I have stayed in but it was nice. It did have a european feeling that I absoulty love, with the exception of the creep little girl painting in the room lol. The room was small just enough for two, the bathroom was perfect but I do recommend to ask the front desk how to work the shower head since it a little tricky. Front desk was open 24 hours which was really nice, there is an extra fee for parking but its not too bad. The elevator was old and can only be used with the company of an employee and sometimes there wasn't anyone there so we had to use the stairs which we didn't mind considering we were on the second floor. We had room service and everything was nice and clean. I probably won't be back just because I perfer something different but it was a very pleasant experiance.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jazmin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in michel to be close to the airport and also located near some city activities. The rooms are in a lovely old style with nice interiours. The staff is outstanding friendly and customer oriented - just great. The only thing is that the lift is not operated 24/7 to bring the luggage to the room coz it is operated by a staff member who is not always there. Due to the fact that it is an old building there is a chance to hear neigbour ferences.  Paking is available for $14 for 24 hours. We will stay a second nigth there in January.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank matmueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Very unique and classy property. Old-fashioned charm and actual room keys rather than passkey cards. Interesting antiques in the rooms and hallways. Elevator operator runs the elevator. Food from restaurant was the worst (Vivaldino's) - absolutely most disgusting "key lime pie" ever. Not sure how it ended up so gritty with such a mush of "crust". Entree not as ordered. Skip this and find a good place to eat on nearby Miracle Mile - plenty with outdoor/sidewalk cafe seating.

Room Tip: Nice to be on 3rd floor - can open the windows. There is street noise, however.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Parking is across Alcazar street. You pay the hotel $14 for a one day pass or you can park on the street which is free at night (10pm-8am I think). There are two temp spots in front of the hotel. The concierge is slightly hidden, in front and then to the left. Concierge was very nice checking in and out. From there they can operate the elevator for you or you can take the stairs to your room. Hotel has an older feel to it but it's nice looking. Biggest complaint was the small to moderate amount of noise. Voices easily came through my door from guests walking past. A small vibration could be heard through the walls for a little bit. I could hear when certain other prople used the water. And that was all at night. The phone rang once and then stopped in the early morning. An accidental wakeup call to the wrong room.
Also, the light was a little too strong coming through the window but not too bad.
Some good places to eat in walking distance. About twenty minutes from the airport.
A computer available for use and optional wifi fir purchase. I would probably stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Acquiescence80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coral Gables hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 12 in Coral Gables
1,395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#4 of 12 in Coral Gables
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Miami - Coral Gables
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Michel

Address: 162 Alcazar Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33134-4501 (Formerly Hotel Place St. Michel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range: $122 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel St. Michel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property is independently owned & operated capturing the essence of boutique hotel service and stay experience. Throughout the property our guests can experience the lure of this historic gem that sits in the heart of the World Famous city: Miami. Located in the vibrant community of Coral gables; Hotel St. Michel is located on a tree line street in the midst of tranquility. The hotel's central location allows it to be in close proximity to all the major attractions of the city of Miami. Hotel St. Michel ambiance allows our guests to feel at home which is ideal for catering to families while visiting Miami on their holiday. Our talented staff speaks several languages and is always available to assist in making reservations and other arrangements to ensure your vacation is fun filled, exciting and special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel St. Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Place St Michel
Place St Michel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing