We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step Back in Time”
Review of Hotel St. Michel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel St. Michel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
San Francisco CA
Level Contributor
104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Step Back in Time”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

The Hotel St. Michel is really out of context in the very modern environment of Coral Gables. It's one step from antiquated but I happen to enjoy that sort of place. Plenty of great restaurants to walk to within a few blocks. I have no complaints, esp. since the wifi was free AND super-speedy, unlike most hotels.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBGall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    87
    40
    22
    18
See reviews for
24
97
28
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tampa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Fabulous staff, clean room (although small), good location for going to tennis tournament on Key Biscayne, quaint furniture, not an ordinary chain, will stay here again next year

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tampatennismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I loved this place and I thought it was very reasonably priced. There was no restaurant or bar at this time however they do include a breakfast - pastries and such that was very nice. The location was very close to some excellent restaurants and bars all within walking distance. The people were very friendly and made sure we were comfortable. The hotel was very quaint and the rooms were decorated tastefullly with antiques. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice place to stay in the Coral Gables area.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have smaller bathrooms but larger room and nice views of both streets. 2nd floor is ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Arriving on a Sunday evening, it was somewhat desolate. However the bustle of the workweek made the area come alive. Nice restaurants and shops within walking distance. The hotel itself is a study in architectural interest. Beautiful antiques throughout. Room 203 was a good fit for us. Comfortable beds and spacious bathroom. Everyone working there was pleasant. Continental breakfast was a little skimpy but adequate. Good coffee!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnydaymoonlitnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATLANTA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We spent two nights here and spending two nights in Key West. The hotel is in a business area with some banks and other businesses and shops and restaurants within walking distance and it's on a quiet street. The staff was friendly and helpful and we would stay there again. There are some unique things about the hotel:
1. It's older and quaint with very nice period furniture. I think the building was built in 1926 and has been a hotel since 1946, but there is internet, tv and the building is sprinklered. The room we were in was on the large side and had a sitting area.
2. The hotel has three stories and the elevator is older and has to be operated by one of the staff or you can use the stairs (good exercise).
3. At the time we were there (Jan 19-21, 2012) their restaurant was closed, but there are several nearby within walking distance and the area is safe.
4. Parking is in a bank parking deck directly across the street.
5. Continental breakfast is served.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 302 and it was large and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KENTGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Convenient Coral Gables location which allowed us to walk to many restaurants and shops. The noise inside as well as from the outside of the hotel is a bit too loud. Breakfast was average. The staff, however, was very helpful and accomodating.

Room Tip: Best advice would be to get the top floor, away from Ponce de Leon Avenue and elevator/housekeeping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Post765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Staying at this hotel was strange,like stepping back in time, luckily it was for one night only. Our room was nice enough very traditional, we went out for the evening and upon returning to the hotel heard extremely loud music , imagine our surprise to find that it was a private party in the lobby which our room was directly above.In our room everything was vibrating and even on the loudest volume we couldnt watch the tv! The receptionist who was enjoying her plate of food from the party was apologetic/embarrassed but then suggested we went for a walk until midnight when she thought it would finish, we aren't old or boring and like a party ourselves but this was a ridiculous situation. Breakfast was very basic and the whole experience was not one we would like to repeat.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleW475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coral Gables hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#4 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Miami - Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Michel

Property: Hotel St. Michel
Address: 162 Alcazar Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33134-4501 (Formerly Hotel Place St. Michel)
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Coral Gables
#5 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel St. Michel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property is independently owned & operated capturing the essence of boutique hotel service and stay experience. Throughout the property our guests can experience the lure of this historic gem that sits in the heart of the World Famous city: Miami. Located in the vibrant community of Coral gables; Hotel St. Michel is located on a tree line street in the midst of tranquility. The hotel's central location allows it to be in close proximity to all the major attractions of the city of Miami. Hotel St. Michel ambiance allows our guests to feel at home which is ideal for catering to families while visiting Miami on their holiday. Our talented staff speaks several languages and is always available to assist in making reservations and other arrangements to ensure your vacation is fun filled, exciting and special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel St. Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Place St Michel
Place St Michel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing