We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“love everything except the security” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shamrock Coral Gables

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shamrock Coral Gables
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“love everything except the security”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Picked this location due to it's proximity to a relative we were visiting. The price, considering it is for peak season was very reasonable. They allow dogs, which is a plus for us as well. The apartment was very clean and spacious, with everything we needed for the week we stayed. It is in fact walking distance to everything you would want. The only real complaint is that I did not feel like the building was very secure. Although you need a code to get in the front door, there is a stairway entrance with the door wide open all of the time. The is a sketchy looking shopping center right across the street, with people hanging out at all hour, as well as a place that appears to be a strip club.. The lock on the actual apartment door was not adequate either. There was only a latch lock which could be opened from either side. I think there should be another lock, as well as a chain, or something like they have in regular hotels. I honestly would not have felt safe if my dog was not with me.
My husband was disappointed that there was a TV in the bedroom, but not the living room.
The apartment, the lobby and the hallways were extremely clean, which is a huge plus.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnasuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    12
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
6
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a great option is you plan to stay for a week or more in Miami, have a nice price, and the parking is free and secure. This are apartments is located near the Miracle Mile (22nd Street) and have a good location. There are nice, not great regarding decoration but is always clean. They all have kitchen so is do it yourself meals. For the time you spend in the apartaments are ok for what you need.

The apartments doesnt have wifi, but the office downstars does if you need to ckeck something fast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americus, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Great apartments, We stay at this place twice a year, going in May for a week, the price is great, you feel at home, great location with good restaurants around and close to Miami Beach too, the Manager is very proffessional and the place super clean, and pet friendly...Security is very good as well as parking, they are always willing to accomodate your requests, Thanks guys you are amaizing, we can't wait to go back and enjoy beautiful Miami....

Room Tip: We have rented 1 and 2 bedrooms, they are both excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank orberaesther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Due to very tough schedule of our US-tour "As more as possible places of interest in only 9 days" we spent this amazing possibility to lie in the sun on the ocean beach in south Florida.
Shamrock rentals in Coral Gables gave us the feeling of staying home. Fully furnished rooms (living/dining-room, bed-room and kitchen) offered us more convenience than we even need :) There are washing and drying machines in the room.
All the hotel amenities (entrance, car park, elevators) controlled by electronics, code locks and remotes.
The room make-up is limited to linen change and bath-room and floor cleaning. The rest has to be fulfilled by renter.
There is the Dixie food market very close to Shamrock apartments. We found it pretty convenient to arrange through all-day meals by using of well-equipped kitchen.
All the time we used the rented car (just imagine - red Chevy Camaro convertible :)) so I have nothing to say about public transport or taxi.
I would advise this place to be in Miami for any couple or family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snigivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Michele did everything possible to make sure our short stay was as comfortable as possible. Cannot say thank you enough. She is a star.

The accommodation itself is basic, no frills but has everything you need for a self-catering stay. The attention to cleaning is a little hit and miss but the bathrooms were spotless.There is an excellent new Winn-Dixie supermarket only a 1 minute walk away and the Miracle Mile at Coral Gables is also just around the corner. Would also highly recommend a visit to the nearby Ventian Pool.

One small criticism was the rather over zealous use of bug spray in the apartment before our arrival. It literally took our breath away as we entered the room and all windows and doors had to be opened immediately. It took until the next day before the smell had diminished to an acceptable level. It also made the tile floors rather slippery.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

We were in Coral Gables to attend graduation at the University of Miami. The Shamrock allowed our extended family to all stay together, with the convenience of a kitchen for breakfasts, and a living room to stretch out. The two bedroom provided two bathrooms which was a big benefit. Parking and access were very secure. The location/neighborhood was a bit shady with a nightclub across the street, but othet than some late night noise it was a minimal issue. Great value compared to the sky high prices other Coral Gables properties charge

Room Tip: Book a room that is NOT streetside to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

My husband and I stayed in here for a little over a week in April this year. We had never been to Miami before and just looked online for a place that would have a full kitchen so we could make our meals at home.

We were so thrilled at the central location to this building because it ended up being fairly close to farmers markets and a Whole Foods we could walk to. It was very easy to get around Miami from this location and really enjoyed the area.

The room is nice and clean and has plenty of room. I can see why some people stay long term here because it is like a full apartment. The only thing is the bed is a little hard and a queen just feels too small for both of us to sleep comfortably, so I wish they had a king size bed.

We really enjoyed our stay here, but we had a terrible time trying to figure out how to check in after hours. We arrived before 9 pm and had instructions to go into the building and get our envelope with keys from the safe by the admin office.

Well we couldn't even get into the building! The security guard was no where to be found, and the number taped to the window to call just rang and we couldn't get a hold of anyone. We had to wait outside the front door and wait for a resident to come outside and eventually let us in. Then we got the keys and papers for our room and it said there was a card for getting into the building, well there was no card, just a key on a keychain for our room. So my husband went to park the car and I had to wait downstairs holding the door open for him because we worried we'd be locked out of the building again.

It was not until we found the guard later on the next day we found out that there are no cards to get into the building, there is an old grey plastic piece on our key ring that needs to be swiped near a box at the front door to let us into the building. <--- This information would have been really helpful since we've never lived in apartments and had no idea what it was for, since there was still a card swipe slot at the front door as well. I think they need to update their information in the packet they give you.

We were very unhappy and frustrated when we first got into our place and it was not until later that we felt better about our choice of staying here. It is nice to have a reception desk or someone to call, but this place has short hours and you're kind of on your own.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tropicaltravels6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#5 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Miami - Coral Gables
2.1 mi away
The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
0.8 mi away
Hotel Place St. Michel
Hotel Place St. Michel
#6 of 11 in Coral Gables
3.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Coral Gables

Property: Shamrock Coral Gables
Address: 2280 SW 32nd Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33145-3179
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shamrock Coral Gables 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Shamrock Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing