We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great value, perfect for extended family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shamrock Coral Gables

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shamrock Coral Gables
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great value, perfect for extended family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

We were in Coral Gables to attend graduation at the University of Miami. The Shamrock allowed our extended family to all stay together, with the convenience of a kitchen for breakfasts, and a living room to stretch out. The two bedroom provided two bathrooms which was a big benefit. Parking and access were very secure. The location/neighborhood was a bit shady with a nightclub across the street, but othet than some late night noise it was a minimal issue. Great value compared to the sky high prices other Coral Gables properties charge

Room Tip: Book a room that is NOT streetside to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
6
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2010

My husband and I stayed in here for a little over a week in April this year. We had never been to Miami before and just looked online for a place that would have a full kitchen so we could make our meals at home.

We were so thrilled at the central location to this building because it ended up being fairly close to farmers markets and a Whole Foods we could walk to. It was very easy to get around Miami from this location and really enjoyed the area.

The room is nice and clean and has plenty of room. I can see why some people stay long term here because it is like a full apartment. The only thing is the bed is a little hard and a queen just feels too small for both of us to sleep comfortably, so I wish they had a king size bed.

We really enjoyed our stay here, but we had a terrible time trying to figure out how to check in after hours. We arrived before 9 pm and had instructions to go into the building and get our envelope with keys from the safe by the admin office.

Well we couldn't even get into the building! The security guard was no where to be found, and the number taped to the window to call just rang and we couldn't get a hold of anyone. We had to wait outside the front door and wait for a resident to come outside and eventually let us in. Then we got the keys and papers for our room and it said there was a card for getting into the building, well there was no card, just a key on a keychain for our room. So my husband went to park the car and I had to wait downstairs holding the door open for him because we worried we'd be locked out of the building again.

It was not until we found the guard later on the next day we found out that there are no cards to get into the building, there is an old grey plastic piece on our key ring that needs to be swiped near a box at the front door to let us into the building. <--- This information would have been really helpful since we've never lived in apartments and had no idea what it was for, since there was still a card swipe slot at the front door as well. I think they need to update their information in the packet they give you.

We were very unhappy and frustrated when we first got into our place and it was not until later that we felt better about our choice of staying here. It is nice to have a reception desk or someone to call, but this place has short hours and you're kind of on your own.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tropicaltravels6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2008

If you want more for your money this hotel is it. My family and I stayed here and absolutely enjoyed it. The staff was so friendly and helpful. We stayed in a 3-bedroom and was very comfortable and felt as if we were at home. The kitchen was equipped with all the dishes, utensils, dish soap, coffee maker with coffee, everything we needed! There is even a washer and drier in every room. We needed a handicapped accessible bathroom so we got just that. We had plenty of towels. The bedrooms all had tv's. I would love to stay here again and recommend it to anyone. It was very nice, clean, spacious, and hotel is so modern looking.

  • Liked — cleanliness and location
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lalisa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lima peru
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2008

Shamrock is a 6 story, one -three bedroom apartment complex. We stayed for 10 days in a 2 bedroom 2 bath for $135 a week. The main bedroom had a full bed and bath with closet and internet connection and the 2nd had 2 twins and a bath in the hall, Each bedroom has a t.v. The living room is nice with 2 sofas and a balcony,dining area with table and 6 chairs,a full kitchen and a washer/dryer which is very convenient.(you will have a basic package of soap,shampoo, toilet paper, coffee,diswasher detergent, but after that you will need to buy your own!). My 2 complaints are the parking spaces which are TINY and it is necessary to park inside to avoid vandalism, and the housekeeping hadn't vacuumed under the couch cushions or washed the knives in the block. I washed ALL (4 of each) in the dishwasher, but didn't vaccum because there is a $75 cleaning fee anyway. There are 2 computers and a small gym on the second floor where the office is located.It is about a 10 minute walk to Miracle Mile and there is a CVS pharmacy and Winn Dixie grocery store right around the corner.Coconut Grove is a 5 minute drive and the beaches about 15 min, depending on traffic.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — small parking spaces
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank JOYNIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coral Gables hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#5 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Place St. Michel
Hotel Place St. Michel
#6 of 11 in Coral Gables
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Miami - Coral Gables
2.1 mi away
The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Coral Gables

Property: Shamrock Coral Gables
Address: 2280 SW 32nd Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33145-3179
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shamrock Coral Gables 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Shamrock Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing