We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wine, food, service and atmosphere”

Xixon Spanish Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Xixon Spanish Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 368 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Xixon is committed in providing our customers and visitors alike the best Spain has to offer in terms of its diverse regional cuisines including Tapas & Wines. 2013, 2014 and 2015Certificates of Excellence Winner!
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Enjoy Spanish wine, tapas or an entire course along with great service and European atmosphere. Prices commensurate with food quality. Visit the wine cellar and pick your own bottles. Buy a wine card and try different wines from the unique wine vending machine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Getxo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XixonCafe, Owner at Xixon Spanish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Hi,
We are very glad you've enjoyed our ambiance and of course the spanish tapas and your wine selections.

The self-serving Enomatic wine dispensing machines are indeed a good option for those that want to try many of our wines by the glass before selecting a table wine.

Thanks for your review and your continued support of our business by making Xixon your dining choice and destination.

Hope to see you back soon!
Regards,
Carlos M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 201 of 355 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2014

Very authentic Spanish fare. I like the downstairs section best (with the wine cellar). Yes, excellent wine list as well as outstanding food.

2  Thank LDWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Went with some friends on Saturday night at 7pm. Attentive and well informed service. Free valet parking. Excellent selection of Spanish wines at reasonable prices. Place got very crowded after 8 pm. Food was consistently good, tasty and well prepared (everybody ate fish or seafood). Although not cheap the bill was reasonable.
Will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 10Tito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I have been a regular customer at Xixón since they had the previous location down the street and had generally been very pleased with the food and service. The winning formula was its reasonably priced authentic Spanish food, cozy ambiance, and friendly service. Even though some of the ingredients (such as jamón ibérico) are hard to find in the US and are not as good as in Spain, this place always delivered the "feel" of being back in Madrid: tapas, Spanish-speaking wait staff, soccer, and music.

I decided to have New Year's Eve dinner there with a group of Spanish friends for the second year in a row. NYE 2012 highlights included beef filet and sea bass, and a live flamenco show. Unfortunately, the experience was so disappointing none of the eleven people in our party will ever set foot inside this restaurant again.

The set price menu, at $130 per person (not including tax and gratuity) left a lot to be desired:

-Two extremely bland oysters that tasted out of a can.
-Warm scallop and cigala salad (this was not bad).
- Bacalao (cod) served over winter vegetables. (Not everyone likes cod. I do, and this one was quite dry and unappetizing)
- A watery orange and tangerine sorbet.
- A medallion of roast pig with peach compote. (Just ok).
- Cold white chocolate, yogurt, and raspberry "soup." (I happen to dislike white chocolate and would have preferred regular chocolate, as would a majority of people, I think).
-Half a bottle of wine per person, a sip of cava, and the customary lucky grapes.
-NO COFFEE!!! (what? Both Cubans and Spaniards, the bulk of this restaurant's clientele, end every meal with a cortadito!!)

The food was underwhelming, and not at all authentic. Why would they go this route? I say, if it ain't broke, don't fix it. Honestly, the kid's menu, boasting Serrano ham, cheese, croquetas, breaded chicken, and ice cream, sounded much more authentic.

The restaurant was a bit empty, and there were unattended children running around screaming. Not the desired atmosphere for New Year's.

As for the advertised flamenco show, part of the reason we went, never materialized. There was no stage set up (unlike last year), and the show had not begun when we left at 1 am. Considering our reservation was at 10pm, we were expecting live music during dinner or at least right after.

This experience was a complete disappointment, from the food to the ambiance. I hope the management reads this review and decides to stick to the classics that are universally appealing (tortilla, calamares fritos, and flan instead of oysters, cod, and white chocolate) and are the reason people go there in the first place. Otherwise, diners will go to one of the many nearby tapas restaurants, from Diego's on 8th Street to Bulla in the Gables.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank CherubinaMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XixonCafe, Manager at Xixon Spanish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Hi

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review.

Sorry you did not enjoy the dinner. As you've stated the menu was a pre-fix menu to provide dishes not found in our regular menu so we created brand new dishes for the occasion.

The price did not include coffee as stated in the menu provided. We had included coffee in previous occasions but there were those that prefer after-dinner drinks instead so we decided to leave each customer free to choose.

The show was planned to start at 12:30am, not before, giving everyone time to finish their dinner before the Flamenco show started.

Hope you have a nice 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were really impressed with this Spaniard restaurant last night. The food is as Spaniard as manchego cheese is. Excellent wines from the region; the ambiance was modern but never lost it's touch from Spain. The service was terrific! We had Renee as a waiter and he knew every dish and wine to go with. Reservations recommended .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Felipe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xixon Spanish Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Xixon Spanish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing