We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Event Planner, Carmen Oliver, at Xixon is Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xixon Spanish Restaurant

Xixon Spanish Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Xixon Spanish Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 322 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Xixon is committed in providing our customers and visitors alike the best Spain has to offer in terms of its diverse regional cuisines including Tapas & Wines. 2013, 2014 and 2015Certificates of Excellence Winner!
Miami
2 reviews
“Event Planner, Carmen Oliver, at Xixon is Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Camen Oliver helped us plan two work related events, one of them a retirement party. We gave her a budget and she helped select a wonderful variety of dishes. Everyone enjoyed the party, the food, the atmosphere and the service. Many thanks to Carmen and Xixon's owner Begonia for their hospitality and dedication.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XixonCafe, Owner at Xixon Spanish Restaurant, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Hi Cecilia

First of all thanks for your feedback since comment's from our customers are very important to us.

We are glad you and your entire party had a great event here and that Carmen was able to organize the party to your specific needs.

Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    67
    19
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent experience for big group dinner!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

If you are looking for a place to host a group party, Xixon is definitely the place to go! Carmen Oliver, the coordinator for group parties at Xixon, was extremely easy to work with and helped tailor our food selections and pricing. We sat in the upstairs area (25 of us) in two long tables. The service staff was extremely friendly and prompt with the food - let's just say the drinks and food kept rolling out! Not only was the service excellent, the food was divine! We were celebrating our rehearsal dinner for our wedding and would very much recommend anyone to use Xixon for group parties or for a nice night out! Thank you so much to the staff at Xixon, especially Carmen, for accommodating us and making this part of our wedding memorable!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank daniay87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XixonCafe, Owner at Xixon Spanish Restaurant, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thanks very much for your kind comments. We are also very glad that thru Carmen, our event coordinator, she was able to meet your expectations as far as food, service and ambiance by providing the attention to detail required for events like yours..

The Mezzanine with large tables is able to provide large groups enough space to hold private events such as wedding rehersal dinners!

Hope to see you back soon! Many thanks once again for your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We ate at Xixon not long after a trip to Spain, and the food was great, authentic Spanish food prepared very well. Our waiter was excellent and helpful as well. The restaurant is beautiful as well. A truly great place and even though it is pretty far away we have been back a few times.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spain in the middle of Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere, with great food and tapas. The best Croquetas in town. Excellent varieties of wine from Spain. You will the place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XixonCafe, Owner at Xixon Spanish Restaurant, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi Jackie

Thanks for your great feedback, we are very glad you enjoyed the Croquetas! Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Go for Happy Hour Drinks and Tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

XIXON is my all time #1favorite Spanish restaurant in Dade County.

Not only is it a beautiful place with different environments to choose from, the owner, Begonia, has taken great care over the years and two locations prior to this one, to develop a wonderful restaurant in Miami/Coral Gables area right on Coral Way, close to 22 Avenue, SW.

I was there yesterday with my son and a dear friend who is like family, and enjoyed one of the best Mojitos I've had, for half the price, during happy hour. The tapas are a bit expensive, but worth it and done right. Great taste and cooked with care and knowhow.

You need to know what you like and what to order. Champiñones al Jerez, croquetas de Cabrales or of Bacalao or Espinaca, are great. So is a simple lettuce and tomato salad, typical Spanish with Tuna and boiled egg. Their gazpacho which I have had before, as well as their sopa de ajo, are great. I love their pimientos de Padrón--hard to get in the US, but I think that the price needs to come down a little, and I wait to have them in Spain. Their hot chocolate and churros is the best in Miami and that is where we go on those few cold days when we yearn for the real Spanish hot chocolate. I wish they would add some Andalusian dishes to their menu, like espinacas con garbanzo and berenjena rebozada con miel. These are simple and make great tapas too.

What is also nice about XIXON is that there is always a friendly atmosphere, the waiters are always pleasant and remember you if you are a regular, the place is very pretty and clean spotless, and it is also great to be able to purchase goods at their deli. They always have freshly baked break that they bring from Spain, have turrones, almendras, beans, all kinds of great wines, a variety of great cheeses, etc. They are classy as is the owner, Begonia, who is always on top of things and making sure things run smoothly, going around greeting customers with a warm smile.

I would only recommend perhaps (as a suggestion) considering having a periodic guest musician/artist who could play Spanish guitar, perhaps in the outside area where a bar could be set up as well, or playing some contemporary nice (not noisy volume) Spanish flamenco or classical Spanish music from artists like Buika, Radio Tarifa, Camarón, Jose Merce, Tomatito, Paco de lucia, etc., rather than whatever is playing on the tv monitors. Maybe vary when to have the tv on and when to have music playing so that there is some variety and pleasant music in the background.

If you are in MIami and are looking for a Spanish restaurant, this must be your #1 place to go, for sure. Don't miss it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sevillanitacubanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xixon Spanish Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Xixon Spanish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing