We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great food and wine in this Spanish eatery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xixon Spanish Restaurant

Xixon Spanish Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Xixon Spanish Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 321 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Xixon is committed in providing our customers and visitors alike the best Spain has to offer in terms of its diverse regional cuisines including Tapas & Wines. 2013, 2014 and 2015Certificates of Excellence Winner!
Florida
Level Contributor
192 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great food and wine in this Spanish eatery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

A Spanish restaurant with fare from the region Asturia, Xixon was a great finding, thanks to my friends Miguel and Yvonne. The tapas are all good, we went twice, tried almost everything, the food is well prepared and they try to keep it as authentic as they can, without being too concerned with adjusting it to American taste (unlike too many other restaurants).

The place is nice, clean, upscale tones, but not snobbish. Service was attentive and I found a great wine at very reasonable price, Arrocal 2010 from the classic Ribera Del Duero production. It's a robust, well-rounded red, with nice currant finish, hints of oak and vanilla. A great pairing with meat of any kind.

Xixon is one of the place you need to try when in Miami. It is not in Coco Grove, it is not in South Beach, but the food is superior and the atmosphere is the kind you can find in a European restaurant: you go to eat well, drink good wine abundantly, spend valuable time talking with friends. Don't go in there "American style" meaning "in and out" or you will miss on its best part.

Take your time, enjoy the food, try new things, then you can walk around Coral Gables to digest. It's one of the most authentic places in Miami and I will go back every time I am in the area.

Price are not cheap but proportioned to the quality so all in all, it's a good value.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MoItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XixonCafe, Owner at Xixon Spanish Restaurant, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hi

We really appreciate your sincere feedback and especially your comments about our Tapas authenticity. We try very hard to maintain the Spanish culinary heritage and we are very happy when someone places a great value to a dish origin's and authenticity.

Thanks once again and hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    71
    19
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“authentic spanish food to order and buy in the shop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I was invited to Xixon by my friends, a Spanish couple, who come to the restaurant and their shop to buy Spanish products. The shop, what is integrated into the restaurants has a good selection of Spanish cheeses, chorizos, morcillas, alubias (beans to prepare the famous "Fabada") jamon iberico etc and canned specialities. A small wonder world for people who miss the spanish taste away from home. In the restaurant we had croquetas de jamon, boquerones in vinegar, chorizo in sidra and papas bravas with spicy sauce, everything was authentic. If you love spanish food, it's the place to go. The plates have a decent size and fair priced. They also have wide selection of Spanish wines, unfortunately not so many Cavas (spanish champagne). I have plans to go back there again end of March with my Spanish husband since we live abroad and he will be thrilled to have a taste of home!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanneVIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte,NC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We went for dinner place was sooo bussy ! wine selection is superb, tapas and food it's pretty good !

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank surfer223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XixonCafe, Owner at Xixon Spanish Restaurant, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Glad you had a great dinner, we are constantly receiving new Spanish wines so if you would like to join our events database you would be able to receive notices of wine tastings via e-mail by registering your name and your e-mail address.

Once again thanks for your review, we really appreciate it.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Authentic Spanish flavors in Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

In a very modern setting, yet you will be embraced by an overwhelming feeling of being in the heart of Asturias, Spain. Impeccable cuisine, don't miss the extraordinary variety of Spanish tapas, try the fantastic selection of Spanish cheeses and wines (if you love reds you should go for Camins del Priorat 2009) and be ready to be transported to heaven (the Asturian version of it) if you dare to have the fabada!!!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XixonCafe, Owner at Xixon Spanish Restaurant, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thanks for your great feedback. The Fabada Asturiana is our Saturday's signature dish, one of our favorites as well!

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
262 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Ok Spanish food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Went to this restaurant in a non-descript area located midway between Brickell and Coral Gables on a recent week night. Sampled a number of Spanish dishes which ranged from quite tasty to so-so. Prices were ok for most dishes, but nothing great. Best deal on the menu was a glass of Sangria and some of the wines. Nice atmosphere inside, although it was rather quiet on this week night.

All in all, it was a nice time, but not a repeat for me as there are too many other better places to eat in Coral Gables/Brickell area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank twhite4809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xixon Spanish Restaurant also viewed

 
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to Xixon Spanish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing