We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“authentic spanish food to order and buy in the shop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xixon Spanish Restaurant

Xixon Spanish Restaurant
2101 SW 22nd Street, Coral Gables, FL 33145
+1 305-854-9350
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 307 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Xixon is committed in providing our customers and visitors alike the best Spain has to offer in terms of its diverse regional cuisines including Tapas & Wines. 2013 And 2014 Certificates of Excellence Winner!
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“authentic spanish food to order and buy in the shop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I was invited to Xixon by my friends, a Spanish couple, who come to the restaurant and their shop to buy Spanish products. The shop, what is integrated into the restaurants has a good selection of Spanish cheeses, chorizos, morcillas, alubias (beans to prepare the famous "Fabada") jamon iberico etc and canned specialities. A small wonder world for people who miss the spanish taste away from home. In the restaurant we had croquetas de jamon, boquerones in vinegar, chorizo in sidra and papas bravas with spicy sauce, everything was authentic. If you love spanish food, it's the place to go. The plates have a decent size and fair priced. They also have wide selection of Spanish wines, unfortunately not so many Cavas (spanish champagne). I have plans to go back there again end of March with my Spanish husband since we live abroad and he will be thrilled to have a taste of home!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanneVIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Charlotte,NC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We went for dinner place was sooo bussy ! wine selection is superb, tapas and food it's pretty good !

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank surfer223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XixonCafe, Owner at Xixon Spanish Restaurant, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Glad you had a great dinner, we are constantly receiving new Spanish wines so if you would like to join our events database you would be able to receive notices of wine tastings via e-mail by registering your name and your e-mail address.

Once again thanks for your review, we really appreciate it.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Authentic Spanish flavors in Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

In a very modern setting, yet you will be embraced by an overwhelming feeling of being in the heart of Asturias, Spain. Impeccable cuisine, don't miss the extraordinary variety of Spanish tapas, try the fantastic selection of Spanish cheeses and wines (if you love reds you should go for Camins del Priorat 2009) and be ready to be transported to heaven (the Asturian version of it) if you dare to have the fabada!!!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XixonCafe, Owner at Xixon Spanish Restaurant, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thanks for your great feedback. The Fabada Asturiana is our Saturday's signature dish, one of our favorites as well!

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
203 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Ok Spanish food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Went to this restaurant in a non-descript area located midway between Brickell and Coral Gables on a recent week night. Sampled a number of Spanish dishes which ranged from quite tasty to so-so. Prices were ok for most dishes, but nothing great. Best deal on the menu was a glass of Sangria and some of the wines. Nice atmosphere inside, although it was rather quiet on this week night.

All in all, it was a nice time, but not a repeat for me as there are too many other better places to eat in Coral Gables/Brickell area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank twhite4809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Superb Spanish Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We went to Xixón invited by friends from Miami who really know good cuisine, so our expectations were high. This place did not dissapoint. We walked through their wine cellar and selected our bottle at our leisure, which was a nice experience and set the mood for an excellent evening. We decided to go for tapas, small dishes to share, and must have had everything that was on the menu; from octopus to lamb chops. everyting was delicious. This is a must-go place when in Miami.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ShrekPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xixon Spanish Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Xixon Spanish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing