We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Superb Spanish Cuisine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xixon Spanish Restaurant

Xixon Spanish Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Xixon Spanish Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 325 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Xixon is committed in providing our customers and visitors alike the best Spain has to offer in terms of its diverse regional cuisines including Tapas & Wines. 2013, 2014 and 2015Certificates of Excellence Winner!
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Superb Spanish Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We went to Xixón invited by friends from Miami who really know good cuisine, so our expectations were high. This place did not dissapoint. We walked through their wine cellar and selected our bottle at our leisure, which was a nice experience and set the mood for an excellent evening. We decided to go for tapas, small dishes to share, and must have had everything that was on the menu; from octopus to lamb chops. everyting was delicious. This is a must-go place when in Miami.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ShrekPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    76
    21
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Felt like being back in Spain!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Was thrilled to find this gem in the middle of Coral Gables! Spanish embassy is close by, so just googled looking for a spanish restaurant for lunch. My husband is from Spain and I spent several years living there, so we've been more than disappointed by "spanish" restaurants and the new "Tapas" bars that are popping up! This was definitely authentic, Spanish Tortilla, Jamon jabugo de pata negra, pulpo, queso manchego, huevos con papas and jamon serrano and flawless service! Too bad we couldnt stay for dinner! Definitely will be back when we're in Miami!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank FloridaBeachfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XixonCafe, Owner at Xixon Spanish Restaurant, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Hi

We are really glad we were able to transport you to Spain without having to fly there! Your sincere feedback really gives a boost in our efforts to continue to provide our customers and visitors alike a true Spanish atmosphere outside of Spain of course, so wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for your positive review.

Hope to see you back soon!

Begona Tuya & Carlos Mattos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
206 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Galicia in Miami”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

If you want to eat Galicia's style octopus in Miami, this is the place to go. In general, if you want to feel like you are in a place in Cuchilleros but still in Miami, go visit Xixon.

Helpful?
Thank Ramen163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XixonCafe, Owner at Xixon Spanish Restaurant, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hi

Wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for providing your feedback to us as we really appreciate your positive review. We strive to continue to provide a high quality option to our customers and visitors when dining at our Spanish Tapas restaurant.

Hope to see you back soon!

Carlos Mattos & Begona Tuya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Authentic & excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I was recommended to this restaurant by another Tripadvisor contributor and, of course, the favorable reviews also helped. The food is excellent, my husband and I ate there last night - the atmosphere was great, staff extremely friendly & efficient. You can eat 'tapas' only or a regular full sized dish. We started with 2 tapas which we shared: cordonices rellenos (stuffed quail) and chipirones rellenos (stuffed squid) then we shared cochonillo (suckling pig), a regular sized serving. They also have an excellent choice of wine. We lived many years in Spain and found this food to be the most authentic we've ever had in Florida - it would appear everyone working there was originally from Spain.
They have a free valet parking service, although tips are appreciated, as parking can be at a premium along the street. It was a lot further along Coral Way/Miracle Mile that I first expected, so for anyone driving there from Le Jeune Rd, just keep going, it's on your left. Should have used the GPS.
You will not be disappointed - if Spanish food is your thing. Their website does not have prices on it, but they have such a range of prices, it's for everyone's pockets.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SilviB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Made in Spain food, wine ans service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Great service from owner herself she took us to wine cellar to select proper wine for the night
Great spanish food great wine great TURRON ice cream
Make reservation Ahead

Helpful?
Thank fanselmetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xixon Spanish Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Xixon Spanish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing