We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Stay....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Port Canaveral Area
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Cocoa Beach
Albuquerque
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrible Stay....”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We recently stayed in this hotel before our cruise on July 11, 2014, and this was the worst hotel experience I have ever had in my life. We decided to use the fly, snooze, and cruise package due to the price being lower than your competitor’s rate, and that seemed to be the greatest mistake of my life. We rode on the Travelynx black Mercedes van which was very nice, but upon entering the hotel and seeing the immensely stained carpet and smelling the malodorous sitting area my stomach began to turn. We were checked in by an informative and helpful girl who was able to give us coupons and eating suggestions, but after walking to our room and entering a musty smelling room I knew this was going to be a less than comfortable stay. We walked to the cabinet to search for our safe and found a note taped to the safe that said “This safe is currently out of order. Sorry for any inconvenience.” As being a traveler, a safe is something that I need. I don’t like having to carry around important documents and lots of cash. It is not safe and puts me at risk for dangerous situations, and regardless, we were under the impression we would have a safe and that was just a deceitful bit of information. However, the broken safe seemed to be the least of our concerns. Almost everything in our room was in need of repair or filthy. The sheets on one of the beds were stained with this pinkish/red stuff, the bathroom had mold by the shower, the bathroom vent was filled with dust, multiple tiles were cracked, the wall and doors had many stains and even a burn on the wall in the bathroom, and the latch on our door had been repaired (poorly) with glue. I have photographic evidence of all of this. However, the worst of all of this situation ended up being finding a cockroach crawling up our wall. I absolutely HATE bugs, and to find one in my sleeping space is unacceptable.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lici714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davespain, Owner at Comfort Inn & Suites Port Canaveral Area, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
I am terribly sorry. You are absolutely correct about the condition of the room. It should not have been rented in that condition. The sign on the safe, placed their by maintenance, was indication that the room was being worked out. Unfortunately someone forgot to put it out of service. I wish you would have brought this to our attention as we would have immediately put you in another room. Please accept my apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    376
    223
    100
    63
See reviews for
459
326
33
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eagle River, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

That's what I get when I let a travel agent book me to a hotel room before a cruise. Sadly, she probably got some kind of kick-back from the hotel. We were VERY disappointed with this property. When we arrived there was a long line of people checking in and not enough staff to assist. So we waited. I should have known looking at the lobby that it was a budget hotel, but kept hoping the room would be better. Nope.

Our room smelled musty, not fresh. There were 2 queen beds, a small table with 2 chairs, kitchenette. Everything looked tired. The first morning I went into the bathroom, a washcloth had dropped on the floor and the door had gone over it leaving an ugly yellow stain...or skid-mark...from the bottom of the door! How does that even happen?

I love a courtyard, but this one was noisy. People talking loudly at all hours. I actually really liked the greenery, though. During the day we sat in the courtyard and chatted and it was nice.

Breakfast was an event. There are roughly 500 people in the large room (so I was told) and its hard to find a table. There are 2 people managing the food tables and that's not enough. They worked very hard, but couldn't keep up. When I went to get eggs, someone was using the spoon rest to scoop out eggs! People were edgy and grumpy and there were just too many people. We got our food and went outside to sit one of the mornings.

The beach is a short couple blocks away. We had a nice walk. There is a nice gift store next door and a Starbucks.

I won't stay here again...

Room Tip: Don't bother with the standard rooms, get an upgrade...your chances are better...or better yet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davespain, Owner at Comfort Inn & Suites Port Canaveral Area, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
My apologies. But, it is summer, at the beach, near the busiest cruise port in the world and there are a lot of people visiting the beach or going on a cruise just like you were. We have extra staff at these times but admit it can get a little hectic. But it's hectic at every hotel on the beach....in the summer...before a cruise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

It was given 2 diamonds in the AAA guidebook; I would have given it only one based on my experience but, then, I was in a street-side standard room. Yes, it was clean. However, the first room I was given, the a/c wasn't working properly; it was cold but dampish cold and I was recovering from bronchitis and could feel it in my lungs. They had no problem switching me to another room two doors away where the a/c did work properly. It was a connecting room and the door was a thin wooden door; I could hear the other couple and when they got into a fight at 1 a.m. that may have turned physical, I wondered if I needed to call the front desk I could hear that clearly! Fortunately, someone left, slamming the door but my rest was nearly non-existent as a result. The breakfast was plentiful and served in a large room accessed through a door from the lobby. The front desk people seemed overworked and one shift was nicer than the other. It was within walking distance of the beach though, did have a large pool, the game room was closed for the night when I was there but otherwise, it was just OK.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjm1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flatwoods, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

First and foremost - I'm not crazy about Cocoa Beach. Stayed here 2 nights... There was a dirty bat of soap left in shower (so pretty sure the shower hadn't even been cleaned before we arrived).

DO NOT PAY extra for ocean view. It was about $40-50 per night more...and I'd say IF YOU COULD SEE THE OCEAN... It would be a glimpse at best.

This motel is not on the beach and is a block away from a public access.

Beds were amazingly clean and comfortable and they offers free breakfast every morning of scrambled eggs, link sausage and waffles... All you can eat.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kyme2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davespain, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Port Canaveral Area, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
I am very disappointed to read you comment about the bar of soap. I assure you this is but a rare oversight by one of the housekeepers. Nonetheless, I will have a serious "Sunday go to meeting" conversation with my housekeeping staff to insure it does NOT happen again. We are not, nor do we claim to be an ocean front hotel. We are 300" across a small access road to the beach access. Our ocean view suites accurately note that they are partial ocean view. That said, it is a pretty nice partial and rarely do we hear complaints as guests almost universally enjoy the view from their private balcony where they can enjoy beautiful ocean sunrises every day. I'm sorry you're not a bigger fan of Cocoa Beach as we have so much to offer. Besides some of the nicest beaches in Florida we are just a short drive to Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex, a must-see for those lucky enough to be in the area. I hope you will give Cocoa Beach, and us, another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Panhandle, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel is one of the best values in Cocoa Beach. My room, with a great view of the ocean, was cleaned well everyday. The pool area is lush and inviting. Breakfast was delicious and the breakfast lady was VERY friendly. This may be an older hotel, but it is clean and in the best part of Cocoa Beach where you can walk to stores and restaurants...AND the beach of course. Will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davespain, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Port Canaveral Area, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
First, thank you for taking time to leave your comments. I hope you took the time to catch one of our beautiful sunrises and I hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

After driving eight hours to get here. I'm ready to go back home... Now!! The rooms are old, and nasty, the bathroom is gross, and the walls are paper thin, so we're having to listen to the drunk family next door yell, curses, and I'm pretty sure they are beating the hell out of each other. It's a holiday weekend, and no other vacant hotels within 30 miles of the port. We had to go buy cleaning supplies, and Lysol just to be halfway comfortable, and hopefully the family next door will either pass out, or knock each other out. Right now I just don't care!! We chose this hotel from the reviews, and for the park and cruise package. Do yourself and your family a favor. Pay to park at the port, and stay somewhere else. I'm not sure where you people are staying, but this place is a complete mess. The only good thing about the stay were the pleasant lady from Beach line shuttle that dropped us off right at our car after our cruise today.

Room Tip: The only tip I have is stay somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJackson0414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davespain, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Port Canaveral Area, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
I'm so sorry to read your comments. Thankfully, the vast majority of our guests have a completely different experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

I traveled to cocoa beach for a family trip over 4th of July, we were expecting a clean hotel next to the ocean. However, the room was dusty and the shower curtain had what looked like feces stains. The elevator smelled srtongly of chlorine then at another time it smelled like cigarette smoke. The doors to go in to the rooms are extremely filthy as well. Over all our experience was not great except for the customer service at the lobby they were great and did not refuse to cancel our reservations for the next two of the three nights we had booked.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davespain, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Port Canaveral Area, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
So sorry to hear your stay wasn't more pleasant. We are constantly repainting the doors because so many people prefer to kick the doors open rather than using the door knob. But, they are constantly refreshed with new paint. I'm sorry you found the foot prints on your door.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cocoa Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Ocean Beach Hotel & Suites
1.1 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
0.2 mi away
Cocoa Beach Suites
Cocoa Beach Suites
#18 of 31 in Cocoa Beach
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Cocoa Beach Port Canaveral
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral
1.4 mi away
International Palms Resort & Conference Center Cocoa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Port Canaveral Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Port Canaveral Area

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Port Canaveral Area
Address: 3901 N Atlantic Ave, Cocoa Beach, FL 32931-3505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Cocoa Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Cocoa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Port Canaveral Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Park & Cruise specialists. Our hotel is located in the heart of Cocoa Beach just steps to the beach and 10 min. from the cruise terminals. Choose from standard ground floor rooms and efficiencies or 2-room suites. Amenities include pool, hot-tub, volleyball, shuffleboard, laundry, exercise room, free hi-speed internet in all rooms, wireless internet in common areas. We are within easy walking distance to numerous restaurants, supermarket and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Port Canaveral Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Oceanside Port Canaveral Area
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanside Port Canaveral Area Hotel Cocoa Beach
Comfort Inn Cocoa Beach
Cocoa Beach Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn & Suite Cocoa Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing