We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really 3 1/2, but Good for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Port Canaveral Area
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Cocoa Beach
Cumming, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Really 3 1/2, but Good for the money”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed at this hotel twice in the last 10 days for an extended vacation throughout Florida. The first weekend we had a very positive experience. We apparently had a renovated room in both states (801 and 805). Loved it. It had wood laminate floors which makes total sense with the sand and moisture. Loved the balcony. We had a suite with a family room and a king bed. The main bedroom faced the pool. The first weekend it was rainy and not many people were using the pool area so it was very quiet. The second weekend - there were a lot of people out in the pool area until they closed it at 11pm. But hey - it did quiet down at that time and we knew it was open until 11. If you don't want the noise I recommend asking for a non-pool facing room.

The pull out bed for our small boys seemed small (even for a 5 & 7 year old) and we had to make up the pull out bed ourselves (both times - the sheets were in the main bedroom drawers).

The bathroom on our second stay seemed dingy and had some rust stains. But by that time we were at the end of our trip and just exhausted and wanted to hang out by the beach - which was only a block away. Used the pool area foot wash/shower to get the sand off when we were done before heading back to our room.

My husband's only comment is that there is something wrong with their wi-fi. They had 4 different names showing for wi-fi access...Our understanding is that the wi-fi was only good in the "public" areas such as the lounge, lobby, meeting rooms, etc. They had an ethernet access point in the rooms, but our "devices" do not have ethernet connections.

Breakfast room was large which compared to other Comfort Suites was very nice. We did not have to wait for a table and yes there were several groups there for the cruises departing.

They have a play area, pool (which goes to 8 ft deep), hot tub, shuffle board, and a bar area outside and a lounge inside.

Enjoyed the stay.

-Katie

Room Tip: Rooms 801 and 805 are renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kafek8t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davespain, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Port Canaveral Area, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    372
    221
    100
    63
See reviews for
453
324
32
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Donna helped us book our room and transportation. our transportation was late. called and they should have told us another families flight was late. the wait was about forty five minutes. Got to the hotel the nite Staff was so nice. They gave us free drink tickets. It says cocktails,on front of website. We couldnt wait to sit and chill out. We asked for rum runners and gave her the drink cards. she said they were only for house beer and wine. Plus the drinks were very pricey and not that good for 15.00 dollars for two of them. Should take that off the website. Met up with another couple who said the same thing.The grounds were very clean and pool was clean the workers were all out even in the rain cleaning and staying busy. The room we had was nice. the corners could have been cleaned better. Bed was very comfortable. Beach not far away and lots of restaruants. i was looking for pamplets for bus transportation up and down the street, and excursions. the desk was pretty full. cant blame them if i didnt see , because if do miss that sometimes. Breakfast was good and all you could eat enought choices. I would stay again for sure. Maybe for a week if the price was good. very comfortable, and nice.

Room Tip: By the pool or looking over the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkhoas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davespain, Owner at Comfort Inn & Suites Port Canaveral Area, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and my staff did a good job.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

i have stayed here twice with my family prior to Disney cruises. The deal with the airport to hotel is great! The shuttle service is topnotch - and the rooms are perfectly adequate for the overnight stay. There's an ample breakfast before the free shuttle takes you for the ten-minute ride to the port for your cruise. Look, I'm not expecting wonders for the price and convenience, but this place was clean, the staff was polite, knowledgeable and courteous, and it served all our needs just right. We'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank feiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davespain, Owner at Comfort Inn & Suites Port Canaveral Area, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
You obviously chose our Fly, Snooze & Cruise Package which included airport transfers from Orlando. It is one of the best deals on the beach prior to a cruise. Thank you for your nice review and we hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed here 2 days before our cruise departure. The accommodations were centrally located to many dining and basic shopping opportunities like CVS, Ron Jon and Winn Dixie. We booked the King Suite with an ocean view because the price was right. The ladies at check-in were efficient and polite. Katie was especially helpful with our transportation issues caused by relentless rain during our 2 days. However, our room was dirty and smelled of stinky athletic socks. I think it was the carpeting. This place is in desperate need of a reno!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TABMAB1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davespain, Owner at Comfort Inn & Suites Port Canaveral Area, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
I hate reading comments like this. You're correct about carpeting. Being a beach hotel people all too often return to their room from the beach or pool with wet feet. To deal with the moisture we usually use an ozone machine to quickly clean the air. Recently we've replace most carpeting with a new wood laminate that has eliminated the problem entirely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2014

This was the six time I have stayed at this hotel. I was in the suite and I think the beds were wonderful. The park and cruise package was great. The service was excellent. They were there to pick us up as soon as the porter took us to the van. I think the staff was wonderful to us. Thanks for making our trip filled with such good times.

Room Tip: higher floors, no trouble because there is a elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chieftrader1222girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davespain, Owner at Comfort Inn & Suites Port Canaveral Area, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
It was our pleasure to have you. And thank you for your nice comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This place is a pit. The pictures online make it seem fairly clean and close to the beach. Not, walk over three parking lots, and a busy street and look for the entrance by asking people walking. It is old, run down and in need of refurbishment. We stayed here one night. The booking said two queen beda and in no way were these queen. Maybe full... but not queen. The bathroom was too small and really gross. Caulk missing, no drain cover, sink chipped. The room smelled musty and old even though we were told it had just been maintenanced. We were directly near the pool which apparently is open to all hours and people stumbling from the beach or whereever wander loudly by your window. Called to request more towels (we had 3 adults and one child) and they brought 2. Thanks a lot. Big help.
Morning was no better, then staff although friendly was not helpful, they had been overwhelmed with people like us waiting for shuttles to cruise ships and instead of asking who was next, random loud guy walks up in front of 3 other people and gets answers immediately even though we were waiting. HUSBAND was beyond mad. No sorry, no they were ahead of you. Then after we finally get our info you sit and wait. They say 15 min between shuttles but now way. More like 30 to 45. We lucked out when a large group wasn't ready and they were able to take us instead.
When we returned, same issue. No shuttle when they say, just sit and wait. Over an hour. Fun. Then we get to their extended park lot to find that the battery on our car had died. Call hotel and they say can't help. We had already called AAA but wanted to see if we could wait there, the girl said no, mot unless you are registered guests! WTH?! We were technically still on their dime in their lot and they can't help. Breakfast is free but get it while you can... only one waffle maker and don't try to hog it by making two or all hell breaks loose. I had someone take one while I was getting milk for my son. Stand there or risk going hungry unless you want hard pastry or toast.
Beach is pretty, but they don't run that. Save your money and go somewhere else!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank disneyfreak1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davespain, Owner at Comfort Inn & Suites Port Canaveral Area, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
My apologies. I don't even know how to respond to a rant like this. I know we work very hard to provide a please stay for our guests. We obviously failed in your case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I would definitely stay here again. The snooze and cruise packages are excellent. I would even stay here if I weren't going on a cruise. It is close to stores and restaurants. Many amenities. Very clean. Pleasant staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I4traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davespain, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Port Canaveral Area, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cocoa Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Ocean Beach Hotel & Suites
1.1 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
0.2 mi away
Cocoa Beach Suites
Cocoa Beach Suites
#18 of 31 in Cocoa Beach
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Cocoa Beach Port Canaveral
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral
1.4 mi away
International Palms Resort & Conference Center Cocoa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Port Canaveral Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Port Canaveral Area

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Port Canaveral Area
Address: 3901 N Atlantic Ave, Cocoa Beach, FL 32931-3505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Cocoa Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Cocoa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Port Canaveral Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Park & Cruise specialists. Our hotel is located in the heart of Cocoa Beach just steps to the beach and 10 min. from the cruise terminals. Choose from standard ground floor rooms and efficiencies or 2-room suites. Amenities include pool, hot-tub, volleyball, shuffleboard, laundry, exercise room, free hi-speed internet in all rooms, wireless internet in common areas. We are within easy walking distance to numerous restaurants, supermarket and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Port Canaveral Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Oceanside Port Canaveral Area
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanside Port Canaveral Area Hotel Cocoa Beach
Comfort Inn Cocoa Beach
Cocoa Beach Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn & Suite Cocoa Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing