We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Port Canaveral Area
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Cocoa Beach
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here recently for a weekend getaway. The hotel itself was nice but nothing stood out as really impressive. The continental breakfast was good but could have been a little more fresh. I think my favorite thing would have to be the location, it is right in the heart of cocoa and right by the beach. You can pretty much walk anywhere!! The rooms were nice but could definitely have been cleaner and updated. I would probably go back but it wouldn't be my first choice.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyBlue18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davespain, Owner at Comfort Inn & Suites Port Canaveral Area, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
I'm sorry for the "mixed" review but here's the good news. We're just completing a major renovation that includes all rooms with new beds, bedding, flooring, furniture and decorations for a new, contemporary look and feel. So next time you're in Cocoa Beach, ask to see one of our "newly renovated" rooms and we're confident you'll be checking in. Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience and comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    376
    223
    100
    63
See reviews for
459
326
33
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed the night before our cruise and the night after using the fly stay and cruise option. The transfers were all very prompt and problem free. Upon arriving at the hotel the front deak staff noticed my wife had to use a walker due to a recent leg injury and moved us to a closer room without us having to ask. There are several places to eat within walking distance but be warned, if you are going to try the pizza place across the street make sure you are really hungry! The beach is a short walk away, which was nice because on the evening of our return we were able to go and watch our ship leave on her next trip. The propery is an older property but we didn't see anything of concern. We have been talking about going back to the motel for a few days just to explore and enjoy the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jpinaol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davespain, Owner at Comfort Inn & Suites Port Canaveral Area, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you sharing your experience and our popular Fly, Snooze & Cruise package. In the past many cruisers flying into Orlando prior to a cruise were stuck staying at a boring airport hotel and then having to get up early to catch a shuttle to the cruise terminal. Our Fly, Snooze & Cruise package eliminates the "boring airport hotel" and gets you to a beach side hotel and takes care of all your transfers, many times for less. We call it "One Trip. Two Vacations". You probably noticed all the activity while you were here as we were just finishing a major renovation which includes new flooring, beds, bedding and decoration. Next time you return you'll love the new, contemporary look. So plan that new exploration trip soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffith, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We booked through Comfort Inn for their cruise transportation package and were pleasantly surprised. All travel arrangements were simple and well executed and made our trip that much more relaxing. The hotel was not a five star resort, but it was everything I expected from a Comfort Inn....comfy bed, clean room and great service. For the room and transportation arrangements we received.....Comfort Inn was an excellent value. We would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miller04_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davespain, Owner at Comfort Inn & Suites Port Canaveral Area, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you! Our Park & Cruise package is very popular and such a great value as I'm sure you discovered. Because of the cost of parking at the cruise terminal, more and more guests are arriving the night before their cruise and leaving their car with us during their cruise. The savings on parking alone pays for their room plus they get the benefit of a mini-vacation, a one night stay on the beach, before the "big vacation". Another benefit is that guests get a good nights rest before their cruise and arrive rested and relaxed without the hassle of cruise port parking. Please come see us againA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel prior to our cruise and it was okay. The room was a bit warn, mostly the bathroom and kitchen, but we were only there overnight. The area is perfect: across the street from Ihop and other places to get a bite to eat, as well as a Walgreens. The gentleman at the reception desk was very friendly and informed us of all the ameneties and activities offered by the hotel. Our room was equipped with a microwave, dish soap, stove top (hot plate) and plenty of room. In the morning you can go for a nice stroll...for the price and the cleanliness of the room you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: We were in a room at the back of the hotel facing the ocean (obstructed view, but still nice)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lexytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davespain, Owner at Comfort Inn & Suites Port Canaveral Area, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you being our guest and for booking our Park & Cruise package. I really appreciate you being thoughtful enough to take the time and leave such a nice review. We're in the midst of a major renovation that will include, beds, bedding, wall treatments, flooring and furniture in many of our rooms so your next visit you'll find a fresh, new, modern look. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Croix Falls, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This trip was an onsite business retreat. The meeting room (I think it was called the Carribean Room) was plenty good. Quiet, set apart from any busy areas and a very large wall of windows which let in natural light.
I stayed in room 806. Room wasn't fancy but was clean. It was a suite, so it had two double beds in one room, a pull out couch/sitting area (I asked for an extra mattress to put on top of the pull out mattress, which they gladly did), small fridge, microwave, kitchenette area to prepare food, dishes and silverware. Bathroom was nice and had a tub and shower. There was also a small veranda with two chairs and a table which looked the courtyard pool area. (That was really nice!)
Breakfast in the morning comes with the room cost. they had "make your own" waffles, sausage, eggs, different breads, fruit, yogurt, juices, coffee, cereals, oatmeal (and a few things I don't remember now!)
Courtyard pool area was awesome!! Large tropical trees, the pool/hot tub was in a gated area, many lounge chairs, very large pool, hot tub that was actually hot, picnic tables. They also had a shuffle board area next to the pool, ponds with koi fish and lovely pathways to get from your room to the check-out desk to the conference room to ..... wherever.
Hotel is older and on a busy road in a busy area. A Ron Jon store is across the street and I think there was a parking ramp nearby, too. The beach however, is about a 3 1/2 minute walk from the hotel.
Scheduling the shuttle service to and from the hotel to the Orlando airport was cumbersome and I think they could smooth that out better for their guests. Staff was friendly but not polished like fancy hotels. Didn't bother me, though. Other than that, no complaints!

Room Tip: Double check your shuttle reservations to and from the hotel and Orlando airport to make sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeshonestreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davespain, Owner at Comfort Inn & Suites Port Canaveral Area, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
What a nice, thoughtful and thorough review. Thank you very much. Next time you stay with us you'll find that beds and bedding in the Ocean View tower will all be new and either 1-king or 2-queens, not to mention modern and even more comfortable. I am sorry to hear that there were issues with your airport transfers. This is not a service we offer unless for our Fly, Snooze & Cruise guests these come off without a hitch every time. We hope to see you again. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is my second trip here and I have a real fondness for the hotel. It has the best package that I've found if you're going on a cruise. You stay before you embark, leave your car and catch a shuttle to and from Port Canaveral. So easy!
This hotel is old but has been been refurbished, painted and redecorated more than once. It has a personality and a history although it lacks sharp features of newer hotels. It's like taking a step back in time.
The staff are very friendly and always seem excited about their guests upcoming trips. They are helpful and in my case handled any request immediately. The grounds could use a little more TLC but the courtyard is filled with older lush shrubbery and trees, a koi pond, and and an area where people sit and visit. Again, this place has a feel of old Florida. Families were actually playing shuffleboard! It's an easy walk across the street to the beach. And the location is perfect. It's a short walk to Ron Jon's.
Breakfast was good and the standard fare for Comfort Inn & Suites. The staff worked very hard and accommodated everyone there. No complaints at all. The shuttle access to and from our ship was a breeze.
Slight Minuses:
The exercise room is small which is not bad in itself but is in dire need of a fan that can be turned on while exercising.
We were on the first floor which was very convenient. It was quiet at night even though were were across from the pool. They enforce the quiet hours and close the pool at 11:00 so there was no noise issue. My room was clean, old, and small but fine because we weren't in our room that much. The bathroom was small also, and the beds are pretty awful. The mattresses were really uncomfortable. Oddly enough it has been unusually cool when we've been here. The heat worked well in our room. We want to go back when it's really warm and we can enjoy the beach.
Overall, I like the place and will definitely stay there again. More pluses than minuses.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruiselass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davespain, Owner at Comfort Inn & Suites Port Canaveral Area, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments and we look forward to your return. Next trip you'll discover that we've done significant upgrading including new beds, bedding, flooring, decoration and furniture to provide a clean, modern look and feel. I'm glad you pointed out what a great value our Park & Cruise Package was. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We booked this on the internet because the photograph made it look secluded, couldn't have been more wrong. It is on a main road, with a four story car park within yards of the rooms. Cars squealing tyres until the early hours kept waking us up. Location is in a very noisy area with arcades and bars very close by. The rooms were in a prison style block and not inviting. We asked for rooms next to our family this was not granted even though we booked six months in advance. there was only one room in between us so why they didn't read their request sheets and move this occupant goodness knows. All the rooms were connected by a door which was quite unnerving I did not like the fact that possible the next door occupant could have walked into our room, scary. within two yards of opening the front door cars were passing by quite quickly so transferring luggage was a nightmare. We stood in reception for just on an hour to register in, the staff are very slow and didn't even acknowledge we were there even though there was only one guest in front of us (but plenty behind us). This experience was a really bad start to our holiday thank goodness we only booked the one night. On the plus side breakfast was good, variety excellent with something for all tastes.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pentraliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davespain, Owner at Comfort Inn & Suites Port Canaveral Area, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you taking the time to leave your comments. I want to apologize for having almost ruined your vacation. In checking your reservation we found no request for adjacent rooms or you would have been accommodated and you would have found those connecting doors , which are locked on both sides, quite convenient. This is for guests such as your self who want to be able to go back and forth to one another's rooms. I'm not sure how to respond to some of your other issues but I'll try. I'm not sure where the notion of "secluded" came from. We are in Cocoa Beach, a resort town, 10 min. from the cruise terminals. If you look at the hotel photos you'll see an aerial photo which clearly shows our location, across from the beach and across a 2-lane street from another hotel and retail complex , hence the parking structure; hardly outside your door. Not a single bar or arcade anywhere in the area unless you count our lounge which is on the opposite side of the hotel from your room. Parking for your room is at curb directly outside your door with half a parking lot between you and a street with very little traffic so I'm not sure where the "whizzing" cars came from. I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast and hope the rest of your vacation was a smashing success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cocoa Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Ocean Beach Hotel & Suites
1.1 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
0.2 mi away
Cocoa Beach Suites
Cocoa Beach Suites
#18 of 31 in Cocoa Beach
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Cocoa Beach Port Canaveral
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Cocoa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Port Canaveral Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Port Canaveral Area

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Port Canaveral Area
Address: 3901 N Atlantic Ave, Cocoa Beach, FL 32931-3505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Cocoa Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Cocoa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Port Canaveral Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Park & Cruise specialists. Our hotel is located in the heart of Cocoa Beach just steps to the beach and 10 min. from the cruise terminals. Choose from standard ground floor rooms and efficiencies or 2-room suites. Amenities include pool, hot-tub, volleyball, shuffleboard, laundry, exercise room, free hi-speed internet in all rooms, wireless internet in common areas. We are within easy walking distance to numerous restaurants, supermarket and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Port Canaveral Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Oceanside Port Canaveral Area
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanside Port Canaveral Area Hotel Cocoa Beach
Comfort Inn Cocoa Beach
Cocoa Beach Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn & Suite Cocoa Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing