We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the other parents on our baseball spring break trip were jealous!!!”
Review of South Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
South Beach Inn
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Cocoa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
raceland, KY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“All the other parents on our baseball spring break trip were jealous!!!”
Reviewed June 2, 2009

If you want crowds on the beach, a trip up the elevator to get to your room and a restaraunt in the lobby, this is not the place for you. If you want to walk right out of your room, past the deck to the beach and relax in peace; this is the place for you. If you want a good clean room at a very good price, this is the place.
We spent our Spring Break in Cocoa Beach because our son was playing baseball at the Cocoa Expo. I spent hours on the computer debating where to stay. I liked the looks of this place online, but there were some bad reviews. However, I liked that the management answered them. The price for eight nights was great, and we would save money because I could cook our meals. We took a shot and hoped for the best. We were very glad we did!!!
This place was awesome. The rooms were a nice size, with a closet for our stuff. The kitchens have full sized refridgerators and cabinets to store food. The AC would freeze you out, but we quickly decided that we preferred to open all the windows to feel and hear the sea breeze. But more importantly than all that was what the outdoors offerred. The courtyard was complete with a small picnic shelter and a couple of very nice grills to cook on. There is a horseshoe pit and plenty of comfy chairs to laze around in. There is even a hammock spread between two palms that our son took a three hour nap in. The deck overlooks the beach, and the sand is mere feet away. On the busiest day during spring break week, there were maybe 40 people on the surrounding beach at the height of the day, otherwise, ten people at any given time made for a busy beach. The hotel is away from all the hustle and bustle of a busy vacation town, but close enough for a short drive.
For you other baseball parents out there, the drive to the expo is about thirty-five minutes. That was the hotel's biggest drawback for us, but the drive was well worth it. Many of the families stayed close to the expo and had no beach, scenery or peace. I can't imagine driving 900 miles to stay in a place like that.
This was my husband's first trip to the beach and he fell in love. Before we left in the morning, he was on the deck watching the waves roll in before the sun was even fully in the sky. When it stormed, we stood on the deck and watched the surfers roll with the tide. At bedtime, we relaxed on the deck and continued to listen to the waves after we could no longer see them ( I actually fell asleep outside most of the nights we were there). I can't imagine a more peaceful, relaxing place to be.
The staff was very accomodating. We hosted a small cookout for a few of the other team families on a Monday night. The staff cleaned out the fire pit for us and helped us with anything we needed. The other parents there that evening really enjoyed the layed back atmosphere surrounding the hotel. They were also very impressed with the price we payed for our stay. I'm sure that we will not be the only baseball family staying there next year. Our family will return most every year for probably the next 9 years or so, and I can't imagine staying anywhere else.
I hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plaidfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    41
    10
    8
    14
See reviews for
67
59
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
herculaneum, mo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2009

We recently stayed at the South Beach Inn for two nights and did not want to leave! The rooms were clean and spacious and the staff was awesome! We are a family of five with three children ages 14,6 and 2 the enitre family cannot wait to come back. The inn is located right on the beach and has a nice enclosed yard that is perfect for small children. The owners and staff were VERY patient and helpful.( remember three children running around!)

I truly do not understand the bad reviews. We booked two of the larger rooms and both were more than clean. Very comfortable, relaxing place to stay!! We had more than enough towels, clean bathroom and the kitchen was fully stocked with dishes, utensils, etc. The owners and staff were very friendly our kids absolutly loved them!!There were even a few beach toys and things provided for the kids to play with! I feel the room rates were more than reasonable and we are already planning our next stay at the South Beach Inn:) Yes it is an "older inn" but VERY well maintained! Worth every penny!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmabusten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2009

The family-run South Beach Inn is located at the south end of Cocoa Beach where the surf break is big and an endless adventure of kayaking awaits. Each suite retains some of the sixties motel charm with fine terrazzo floors, floating partitions, kitchenettes and walk-in closets. If the rhythm of the surf doesn't draw you to the sun soaked patio nested in the sea oats and dunes, the colorful Adirondack chairs and green lawn offer a relaxing view of the beach from the courtyard garden. I should warn you that the hushed sounds of the manatee fountain can induce prolonged siesta while lounging in the shaded hammock beyond the BBQ pavilion. Of course the real focus of the SBI is the wide white beach miles away from the tourist strip and high-rises.
Sitting around the beach fire watching the huge red moon rising over the rolling waves takes me back to when I grew up on Cocoa Beach during the NASA space race. Instead of an Apollo Saturn V roaring over the Atlantic towards the moon, I watched STS119 space shuttle Discovery turn the dusk to day on its way to the space station. Only a few blocks from the SBI is Ramp Road, the ideal launch for exploring the Thousand Islands. This labyrinth of mangrove and spoil islands kept my Gheenoe buddies and I busy for decades exploring the southern end the Banana River and I still don't know every canopied kayak trail. Many of the islands are big enough for camping and do not require a permit.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluediin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2009

The location is perfect if you like to be away from the center of all activities. The beach is almost like a private beach as there are hardly any people around (even on a busy Easter weekend), the view from the deck at the hotel is terrific. The private area next to the hotel has green grass and lots of space for little kids to run around. The staff is welcoming and helpful. But -- this is the first hotel/inn/motel we stayed at where they would not clean your room AT ALL! We were there for nine nights and we had to walk down our towels to the office so they would give us clean ones. Same goes to bedding. Overall, the rooms are kind of clean but old.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kievlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2009

I was sitting here reading some reviews. My family and I which consists of five children, three younger and a couple of teenagers, have stayed here several times over the past few years. If you want a vacation, I'm not talking about crowds or where the younger people would hang out, but, an actual beach vacation, no worries, about work, or usual stresses, this is the location to go to. We ask our children where they would like to go to, they all say, South Beach Inn, that is ever since we first gone there. You can easily get to all the crowd and stuff, if you want that, the pier isn't that far away, a few minute drive, you can watch the shuttle launch right from the deck or the beach, you can even barbecue and watch the children play, and sea turtles nest nearby, whoever complained about the rooms, your not at Holiday Inn, where they come and clean your room for you everyday, give me a break. This place is more like your own apartment on the beach, you get to save money, get groceries, cook your meals, watch the kids play in the yard, you want your room clean, there's a broom and dust pan, sweep up the sand, otherwise put up with all the crowds and pay some restaurant to cook your food. You can walk the beach at night time, like we did, and just generally spend real quality time with your wife and children, the kids got to watch little crabs come from the ocean and chase daddy around, you won't find that at the other hotels, they are too crowded. All I can tell you is this, if you want some great quiet beach vacation to yourself and your family, not all the hassle, stay here, we have not been on vacation in a while as I was in an accident, and could not go, but, we will be back, and there has not been any problem with a room in the four or five times we stayed there. Oh yea, why would you go to the beach and worry about computer access????? That is not going on vacation.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALNJEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southbeachinn, Assistant to Owners/Public Relations at South Beach Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2009
It was a pleasure to receive your review on March 29th! Thank you!

We too love the wide open yard and gazebo /grilling area which overlooks the ocean! You are right, it is perfect for children of all ages!

It is nice to hear that your children are always so excited to return to the Inn over the years!

We love to hear that you all appreciate the relaxed family style atmosphere that the Inn offers. We couldn't agree more, it is nice to relax on vacation, avoid the crowds, cook in your own "apartment", or just grill out on the grill!

Thank you for sharing your personal appreciation of the little crabs and nesting turtles... Just another extra special experience that can be appreciated at the South Beach Inn!

We look forward to your return visit, and please mention your tripadvisor review so we can thank you in person upon your return.

We hope the weather is treating you well in Illinois! We hope to see you real soon!

Sincerely,

Teresa Powell
South Beach Inn
Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2009

We stayed at the South Beach in June 2008. At the time, we had an 8-year old and one on the way. We had such a wonderful time! It was nice to know that our daughter was safely playing in the yard while we were getting dinner ready. And falling asleep to the sound of the ocean is something that I could get used to. I see these reviews with negative remarks and have to wonder if they stayed at the same place. We found the room to be clean and the management very friendly. I still can't believe that we found ocean front for a week at such a reasonable price!! We're planning another trip to the South Beach Inn in a couple years.

  • Liked — Price
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cassmom00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southbeachinn, Assistant to Owners/Public Relations at South Beach Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2009
Thank you so much for sharing your appeciation of the South Beach Inn!

It is so great to know you had such a wonderful time with your growing family! We look forward to a return visit with your new born (or soon to be...) and eldest in the near future!

The owners and managers at the South Beach Inn take pride in the relaxing, friendly, and soothing environment! Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our professional and friendly managers!

The soothing ocean awaits you for more peaceful and restful sleeps!

Good luck with your growing family. We look forward to being a part of your next family vacation! If you'd like, please mention this review upon your return so we can thank you personally!

Sincerely,

Teresa Powell
Marketing South Beach Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2008

We stayed at South Beach Inn in October 2008. The room was clean. Air was cold. The managers were very nice and helpful. Which is more than I can say for our next room in Ft. Lauderdale. I plan to repeat at South Beach if we are in Cocoa Beach, FL again. Great job for South Beach.

  • Liked — Beach, and Taverns
  • Disliked — One Way Road
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sparko2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southbeachinn, Assistant to Owners/Public Relations at South Beach Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2009
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at the South Beach Inn in October of 2008!

We take pride in keeping our guests happy at our beach front getaway! Thank you for sharing your most appreciated comments!

We truly hope you will become repeat guests our relaxing and friendly Inn! Indianapolis residents, pets, and children always welcome!

Sincerely,

Teresa Powell
Assistant to the Owners/Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cocoa Beach hotels
5.5 mi away
Best Western Ocean Beach Hotel & Suites
3.4 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
3.1 mi away
International Palms Resort & Conference Center Cocoa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Anthony's On The Beach
Anthony's On The Beach
#19 of 31 in Cocoa Beach
144 reviews
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
4.4 mi away
Cocoa Beach Suites
Cocoa Beach Suites
#18 of 31 in Cocoa Beach
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Inn

Property: South Beach Inn
Address: 1701 S Atlantic Ave, Cocoa Beach, FL 32931-2345
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Cocoa Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cocoa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — South Beach Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The South Beach Inn is pet and child friendly ocean front inn located in Cocoa Beach, Florida. It is a perfect vacation rental and is closely located to Kennedy Space Center and Walt Disney World. The Inn offers efficiency style units-wonderful for families and those who would like to relax and enjoy a peaceful and open ocean front space. Enjoy cooking out on our ocean front gazebo, or relaxing on our open air deck. Surf, shell, photography, and nature are just outside your door. Along with your children and dogs! Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your South Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Hotel Cocoa Beach
South Beach Cocoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing