We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay For Vacation”
Review of South Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
South Beach Inn
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Cocoa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Midwest Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place To Stay For Vacation”
Reviewed March 29, 2009

I was sitting here reading some reviews. My family and I which consists of five children, three younger and a couple of teenagers, have stayed here several times over the past few years. If you want a vacation, I'm not talking about crowds or where the younger people would hang out, but, an actual beach vacation, no worries, about work, or usual stresses, this is the location to go to. We ask our children where they would like to go to, they all say, South Beach Inn, that is ever since we first gone there. You can easily get to all the crowd and stuff, if you want that, the pier isn't that far away, a few minute drive, you can watch the shuttle launch right from the deck or the beach, you can even barbecue and watch the children play, and sea turtles nest nearby, whoever complained about the rooms, your not at Holiday Inn, where they come and clean your room for you everyday, give me a break. This place is more like your own apartment on the beach, you get to save money, get groceries, cook your meals, watch the kids play in the yard, you want your room clean, there's a broom and dust pan, sweep up the sand, otherwise put up with all the crowds and pay some restaurant to cook your food. You can walk the beach at night time, like we did, and just generally spend real quality time with your wife and children, the kids got to watch little crabs come from the ocean and chase daddy around, you won't find that at the other hotels, they are too crowded. All I can tell you is this, if you want some great quiet beach vacation to yourself and your family, not all the hassle, stay here, we have not been on vacation in a while as I was in an accident, and could not go, but, we will be back, and there has not been any problem with a room in the four or five times we stayed there. Oh yea, why would you go to the beach and worry about computer access????? That is not going on vacation.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALNJEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southbeachinn, Assistant to Owners/Public Relations at South Beach Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2009
It was a pleasure to receive your review on March 29th! Thank you!

We too love the wide open yard and gazebo /grilling area which overlooks the ocean! You are right, it is perfect for children of all ages!

It is nice to hear that your children are always so excited to return to the Inn over the years!

We love to hear that you all appreciate the relaxed family style atmosphere that the Inn offers. We couldn't agree more, it is nice to relax on vacation, avoid the crowds, cook in your own "apartment", or just grill out on the grill!

Thank you for sharing your personal appreciation of the little crabs and nesting turtles... Just another extra special experience that can be appreciated at the South Beach Inn!

We look forward to your return visit, and please mention your tripadvisor review so we can thank you in person upon your return.

We hope the weather is treating you well in Illinois! We hope to see you real soon!

Sincerely,

Teresa Powell
South Beach Inn
Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    40
    10
    8
    14
See reviews for
64
59
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Urbana, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2009

We stayed at the South Beach in June 2008. At the time, we had an 8-year old and one on the way. We had such a wonderful time! It was nice to know that our daughter was safely playing in the yard while we were getting dinner ready. And falling asleep to the sound of the ocean is something that I could get used to. I see these reviews with negative remarks and have to wonder if they stayed at the same place. We found the room to be clean and the management very friendly. I still can't believe that we found ocean front for a week at such a reasonable price!! We're planning another trip to the South Beach Inn in a couple years.

  • Liked — Price
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cassmom00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southbeachinn, Assistant to Owners/Public Relations at South Beach Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2009
Thank you so much for sharing your appeciation of the South Beach Inn!

It is so great to know you had such a wonderful time with your growing family! We look forward to a return visit with your new born (or soon to be...) and eldest in the near future!

The owners and managers at the South Beach Inn take pride in the relaxing, friendly, and soothing environment! Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our professional and friendly managers!

The soothing ocean awaits you for more peaceful and restful sleeps!

Good luck with your growing family. We look forward to being a part of your next family vacation! If you'd like, please mention this review upon your return so we can thank you personally!

Sincerely,

Teresa Powell
Marketing South Beach Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2008

We stayed at South Beach Inn in October 2008. The room was clean. Air was cold. The managers were very nice and helpful. Which is more than I can say for our next room in Ft. Lauderdale. I plan to repeat at South Beach if we are in Cocoa Beach, FL again. Great job for South Beach.

  • Liked — Beach, and Taverns
  • Disliked — One Way Road
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sparko2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southbeachinn, Assistant to Owners/Public Relations at South Beach Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2009
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at the South Beach Inn in October of 2008!

We take pride in keeping our guests happy at our beach front getaway! Thank you for sharing your most appreciated comments!

We truly hope you will become repeat guests our relaxing and friendly Inn! Indianapolis residents, pets, and children always welcome!

Sincerely,

Teresa Powell
Assistant to the Owners/Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Melbourne, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2008

Our church held our annual surf camp here and we could not have picked a better place. The property was clean and well kept, the staff were more than accommodating to our group(we had 56 kids and 15 adults). The location was safe which gave us peace of mind for our kids. We would recommend this place to anyone who asked and will definitely be back next year! Thanks again to everyone at South Beach Inn. God bless!

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beenredeemed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southbeachinn, Owner's Assistant/Public Relations at South Beach Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2009
Thank you for your thoughtful review Beenreemed!

On behalf of the South Beach Inn owners and management, we are very appreciative that you chose our Inn for your annual surf camp in 2008!

We continue to enjoy a relaxed and safe environment for all family members, including four-legged family members too!

We are all looking forward to your next visit and many more adventures with you!

Continued well wishes, and see you soon!

Sincerely,

Teresa Powell
Assistant to Owners/Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2008

I have been staying at the South Beach in since 1989. This place is the warmest, friendliest and most attentive place I have ever stayed at! It's also located in the most beautiful and serene part of Cocoa Beach yet not far from all the festivities. If you want the crowds at the beach and the screaming kids, stay at the Hilton. If you want peace and quiet (if you do so choose) stay here. If you desire the more social aspect, the South Beach Inn has that too. Not just the staff is wonderful but the guests who stay there seem to have that "neighborly" attitude too, if you decide to strike up a conversation or gather for a barbeque. If you like to surf, it's the best spot in all of Cocoa Beach. I will continue to stay here for another 19 years or more. On a final note, I can hardly believe some of the comments made. Speaking of the Hilton, perhaps some of those people should have stayed there. P.S. My dog LOVES to stay there too!

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank eobtampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southbeachinn, Assistant to Owners/Public Relations at South Beach Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2009
Thank you for sharing your experiences and opinions with us EOBTAMPA!!!

The South Beach Inn owners and management are so happy to have you as a long-time and very loyal guest!

We are happy to hear that you apreciate the warm and friendly atmosphere, a South Beach Inn staple!

We always want to work towards the ultimate comfort and happiness of our guests, and are very happy your four legged friend loves to stay at the Inn too. A home away from home must include the ones' that make it so!

We too look forward to another 19 years or more with you as a loyal South Beach Inn guest!

Thank you!

Sincerely,

Teresa Powell
Assistant to the Owners/Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2008

Great motel if you have children. Nice courtyard and deck. Adults can sit outside and relax while the children play right in front of you. The deck has a great view of the ocean while offering a place for the family to relax. Great family atmosphere and friendly staff. The motel is directly on the beach which offers great sunrise and sunsets as well as beach fun all day. The motel is also in a great location. A little removed from all the action but yet close to restaurants and shopping.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank floridafamily94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
2 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2008

Old hotel, the rooms need to be at least clean, we understand that we were at the beach and we have to see and feel sand everywhere (not problem at all)!!!! but you are paying for a clean room not only for clean towels and clean sheets. My only concern is about the poor mainnence and dirty rooms.

  • Liked — easily access to the beach
  • Disliked — dirty rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank irinitapatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southbeachinn, Assistant to Owners/Public Relations at South Beach Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2008
We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the South Beach Inn in August of 2008. We consider this as an opportunity to continue to improve our facility and to better serve our guests.

We wish we had known about your concerns at the time of your visit, so that we could have immediately addressed them.

In regard to condition of the room, we have since set-up an independent inspector to closely examine the housekeepers’ work to insure adequate supplies and cleanliness. In addition, any maintenance problems that may exist, will be addressed and resolved prior renting the room.


We hope you will consider visiting us again in order to allow you to truly enjoy our inn.

We welcome any further opinions or comments you have.


With sincerest regards,

Teresa Powell- Assistant to the Owners

800.548.4244
South Beach Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cocoa Beach hotels
3.1 mi away
International Palms Resort & Conference Center Cocoa Beach
3.4 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
5.5 mi away
Best Western Ocean Beach Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Anthony's On The Beach
Anthony's On The Beach
#19 of 31 in Cocoa Beach
142 reviews
4.7 mi away
Inn at Cocoa Beach
Inn at Cocoa Beach
#1 of 31 in Cocoa Beach
916 reviews
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Inn

Property: South Beach Inn
Address: 1701 S Atlantic Ave, Cocoa Beach, FL 32931-2345
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Cocoa Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cocoa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — South Beach Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The South Beach Inn is pet and child friendly ocean front inn located in Cocoa Beach, Florida. It is a perfect vacation rental and is closely located to Kennedy Space Center and Walt Disney World. The Inn offers efficiency style units-wonderful for families and those who would like to relax and enjoy a peaceful and open ocean front space. Enjoy cooking out on our ocean front gazebo, or relaxing on our open air deck. Surf, shell, photography, and nature are just outside your door. Along with your children and dogs! Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your South Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Hotel Cocoa Beach
South Beach Cocoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing