We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Wait To Return”
Review of South Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
South Beach Inn
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Cocoa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Can't Wait To Return”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Our stay at the South Beach Inn was delightful! Staff could not be more welcoming and accomodating. Our dog Maxe had a great time as did we. A bit of old Florida charm with a touch of Carribean flair. Our room was clean and comfortable. Beach front views from all rooms. Great value for the money. Wonderful Beach! An awesome find! As an environmental scientist there is no more of a black mold issue here than in any other building in the US.

Room Tip: Highly recommended if you are interesting in at a beautiful beach, without staying in a large chain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    38
    10
    8
    15
See reviews for
62
59
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Our stay here for only three nights and wish we could have stayed forever. After reading the reviews here I was expecting the hotel to be a little run down and I didn’t feel that to be the case. We loved the laid back feel of the place. The beach was amazing and the staff was always so helpful, cheerful, and perfect. We never saw anyone with a frown on their face. I could go on and on but the bottom line is we’ll be back.

Room Tip: All room have views of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Spent a wonderful weekend at SBI - checkin was simple, stayed upstairs in Room 15 - view of ocean from front living room window and bedroom window.
Terrazo floors, walkin closet, futon in living room, dinette, full size refrigerator, stove, microwave and kitchen sink.
HBO and Wi-Fi helped keep us entertained after a day at the beach
Brought our Golden Retreiver and had no issues
The shared outdoor area features two gas grills and a charcoal grilling area, seats under a concrete built lanai
Brilliantly painted patio furniture provide space to sit and enjoy the sounds of the surf
Wooden deck overlooking the beach has chairs and tables and is lit in the evenings by rope lights
Outdoor shower to clean up from a day in the ocean
Chairs to borrow for your beach trip
Fountain running in the front of the property and plenty of places to walk and explore in the neighborhoods with your dog
South Beach Inn is located just North of Patrick Air Force Base and South of Downtown Cocoa Beach
Two Story building with all the comforts of home for you and your pooch
We will return

Room Tip: If stairs get you down - opt for downstairs We were afraid foot traffic would bother the dogs if w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank T3_Trippin2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north palm beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

This motel is a great find. We stayed the weekend and it's a perfect dog-friendly beach front property. We found out that the black mold issue a few of the other reviewers talked about was not really an issue, but a miscommunication to the owners from a disgruntled manager (Gene) who is no longer there. The current managers are fantantastic, as are the owners. The other guests were verly pleasant and the atmosphere is super friendly and relaxing. We even so dolphins swimming by one day. The rooms are all efficiencies so you have a kitchen which is super convenient. We will be back!

Room Tip: All rooms seem ok - you have a choice of one bedroom or two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Samantha2012-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012 via mobile

We made reservations two months out to stay at this hotel. On our way to cocoa beach, literally 20 minutes out we got a call saying they found black mold and we cannot stay. I completely understand and feel horrible for them, but what drove us crazy was that they had no alternative suggestions for their reserved guests. I asked if they knew of any hotels with availbility and was told that they didn't know. This was a Friday night 6pm during prime spring break- how utterly disappointing customer service. We were completely left hanging with 2 tired kids and no where to turn. Thank goodness for smart phones.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Liberty Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I will never be that good returning customer. I reserved a room for my wife, the dog and me for the weekend on thusrday. We loaded up the car and was driving two hours to Cocoa, almost there when we got a call from South Beach saying our room had BLACK MOLD! and we could not stay there! Are you kidding me! In fact the lady (Diane) said that the entire hotel would not be able to have guest because of the mold. So it being a very busy weekend we were screwed. All of the hotels at that point were booked. After searching for two hours we got lucky and finally got a room that was a last minute cancel at the LaQuinta late Friday night. Not on the beach, but close. When we drove by the Southbeach...you got it! There were cars and people there and they were obviously open. So instead of them honoring our reservation, they just sold it to some one else I guess for more money and didn't have the balls to explain to us that they overbook! BLACK MOLD!!! Yeah right! Not how you treat your customers!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We recently had the pleasure of staying at South Beach Inn in Cocoa Beach, but it came about completely by accident!

I always try to book our hotel stays through hotel.com because you get a free night after booking 10 rooms with them.

Supposedly this makes me the "expert" on travel in the family. We arrived in Cocoa Beach ready to check into our hotel only to be told that I'd booked the room for the next month. To make matters worse they had no rooms available.

No problem - I'll just jump back online...wrong! It's spring break in Florida and there are no rooms to be found. We decided to just drive by smaller hotels that don't use a large booking service like hotel.com. There weren't a lot of rooms to be found, but South Beach Inn had one!

It is an older hotel, but it is very clean and well maintained. New owners took over recently and have added flat screen TV's and lots of cable channels. Not that you want to spend too much time inside when you're at the beach!.

Warning - this is a pet friendly and smoker friendly hotel! The floors in the room are terrazzo - that's what makes it work. Our room was very clean and there was no smoke or pet odor! There is no pool (they are on the beach), and the beds are older.

All in all, we were very happy with our stay. The owners and staff were great, and everyone staying there was very friendly!

I actually wrote a review about this hotel on my website; just cut-n-paste this link:

http://www.vacation-on-florida-beaches.com/south-beach-inn-cocoa-beach.html

Room Tip: They'll let you check out the rooms ahead of time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cocoa Beach hotels
3.4 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
3.1 mi away
International Palms Resort & Conference Center Cocoa Beach
5.5 mi away
Best Western Ocean Beach Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Anthony's On The Beach
Anthony's On The Beach
#18 of 31 in Cocoa Beach
142 reviews
4.7 mi away
Inn at Cocoa Beach
Inn at Cocoa Beach
#1 of 31 in Cocoa Beach
912 reviews
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Inn

Property: South Beach Inn
Address: 1701 S Atlantic Ave, Cocoa Beach, FL 32931-2345
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Cocoa Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cocoa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — South Beach Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The South Beach Inn is pet and child friendly ocean front inn located in Cocoa Beach, Florida. It is a perfect vacation rental and is closely located to Kennedy Space Center and Walt Disney World. The Inn offers efficiency style units-wonderful for families and those who would like to relax and enjoy a peaceful and open ocean front space. Enjoy cooking out on our ocean front gazebo, or relaxing on our open air deck. Surf, shell, photography, and nature are just outside your door. Along with your children and dogs! Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your South Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Hotel Cocoa Beach
South Beach Cocoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing