We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“PEACEFUL & REASONABLY PRICED” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in Cocoa Beach
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“PEACEFUL & REASONABLY PRICED”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the Luna Sea Motel on four occasions (always for three nights) and have always felt good about our decision. It’s only a short walk to the beach or the Publix Supermarket. The big name surf shops are only 1/4 mile to the north. Our favorite beach access with good (and free) parking, beautiful protected sand dunes, clean showers and changing rooms is Lori Wilson Park, only 1/4 mile to the south.

The rooms are simple, clean and comfortable. The pool, rarely crowded, is well maintained and happily situated among majestic coconut palms. The staff at the front desk have always been friendly and helpful. I like to use the barbeque grills at the back of the property to cook our evening meals while enjoying an icy brew.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    81
    32
    24
    23
See reviews for
56
76
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed at the Luna Sea Motel for two nights. It is near Lori Wilson Park with access to the beach. Close to a variety of restaurants. They told us about the Florida Seafood Restaurant about 5 minutes away. It was great. The motel is family run. Friendly staff. Clean room. The firm mattress was excellent. Small fridge and microwave. A/C worked fine. We will stay at the Luna Sea next time we are in Cocoa Beach.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havana, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Booked a room over the mothers day weekend, walked in and the room smelled like it had been moped with a dirt bleach mop. Could not stay in room, my eyes were burning and i got the worst headache. Turned on the AC it worked for 5 min then stopped working. Called the manager and he said it smelled that way because the AC was off. Left will not every stay in this hotel.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank barb s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cocoa Beach hotels

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

$49 senior rate walk in. Family run. Young man at desk ? Sava...Indian name wonderful...let me see several rooms as I found them to have smokey carpets. Rooms on second level least smokey. Sava gave me a can of deodorizer to keep in room. They remodel this older motel but, left the old carpets....mistake...tiles floor needed. These are all non smoking rooms, but lots of ash trays outside on window ledge. Nice heated pool area. No breakfast but, free coffee hot chocolate machine and many local restaurant menus in lobby. Sava even looked up menus for me online at front desk. Wifi in room worked great. Short walk to beach but have to cross busy blvd. good night sleep for the money. Did not notice smoke odor after short while.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend getaway. The hotel is old, I mean it in the nicest way. For the price we paid, it was cheap. The front desk was friendly and nice. The room was clean, though it had a faint old smell. The bathroom was decent size and well kept. There's a mini fridge on the plus for us to store our liquids. Unfortunately our beds were soft, I usually like mine firm, and you can tell how old a mattress is by how well it lacks support for your back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tparunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabash, North Carolina
Level Contributor
91 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

This is not a resort like everything else that surrounds it. This is a motel that was probably built back in the late 60's to mid 70's. It has the necessities for a nights stay or a weeks stay, either way. The room we had was clean and the bathroom facilities were clean. We had a king bed with a dresser and a lounge chair with side tables along the bed. The TV worked fine and there was a heated pool that we did not use. The place was safe and secure and we both got a good night's sleep. When we checked out the next morning we were given 2 chits for two breakfasts at a local diner. The breakfast I had was a decent size piece of ham, eggs, toast, and coffee. We stayed here prior to boarding the next morning for our cruise. We'd stay here again. It sure beats staying at one of the resorts and paying the big bucks.

Room Tip: We had ground floor back near the pool. Quiet there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank parsch2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

I booked this hotel because we stayed there for a couple of days about five years ago, and I remember liking it. So, despite some of the reviews I read in this forum before I made the reservation for the one night park and cruise package, I did it any way, feeling confident that some people may just be way too picky. I wish I was right, but I wasn't.

The Good - The motel is in a good location, and the people who ran (and maybe own) it seemed genuinely nice. The bathroom (in the room) that appeared to be newly renovated five years ago still looked fairly decent even though the floor of the bathtub was stained, and some of the grout in the tub area also looked like it needs to be caulked or something.

The Bad - The hotel was not as I remember it five years ago. It is badly in need of some upkeep and updating. The carpet looked dirty because it is a very dark color and shows up "everything."

The Ugly - There were "stains" on the ceiling and walls. Could be dirt or marks from whatever had brushed against it, but it looks bad. Just a coat of touch-up paint would have done wonders. The air-conditioner cover had scratches all over it that at first looked like dirt (till I tried to rub it off with a towel -- just curious to see if it was just dirty and discovered that they were actually dark etches). The frame around that air-conditioner also looked really dirty -- a new coat of paint would have been a great improvement. The door of the room was warped on the base, like it had some water damage and was starting to come apart. My husband and I walked around the bed and pulled up the covers and sheets just to inspect it for bedbugs, and to our relief it was clean. The bed was hard and sheets threadbare. But the pillows were horribly thin and extremely lumpy! They may have tried to wash it or something and the stuffing have clumped together, but it was very uncomfortable.

We spent the night there but I promised my husband that I will never book that hotel again. It is a shame that the quaint little hotel that I liked so much several years ago has deteriorated so badly. The bathroom looked like it belong to a two and a half star motel, and the room itself looked like it is a one and a half star motel (and I am being generous).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Coconut1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cocoa Beach
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Cocoa Beach Port Canaveral
0.3 mi away
Cocoa Beach Suites
Cocoa Beach Suites
#20 of 32 in Cocoa Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.9 mi away
International Palms Resort & Conference Center Cocoa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Port Canaveral Area
5.2 mi away
Econolodge Port Canaveral Area
Econolodge Port Canaveral Area
#1 of 2 in Merritt Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cocoa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 3185 N Atlantic Ave, Cocoa Beach, FL 32931-3354 (Formerly Luna Sea Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Cocoa Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in Cocoa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off Route A1A and walking distance to Ron Jon's Surf Shop and beaches, our Econo Lodge(R) Cocoa Beach - near the Port hotel is easy to find, easy to book and easy on your wallet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Sea Hotel Cocoa Beach
Luna Sea Cocoa Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing