We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“11th year in Cocoa Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Ocean Beach Hotel & Suites
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Cocoa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New Salisbury, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“11th year in Cocoa Beach”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Really loved Best Western Ocean Beach hotel till 3 years ago when customer service tanked. Spent 2012 (last year) at the International Palms......big mistake. So here we are June 2013 back at the Best Western...........extremely not happy. Veranda bar opens and closes at unpredictable times, no towels at pool (told they were out). Front staff was totally rude. Breakfast not to bad, asked for a courtyard room facing the pool. One was available yet we received a back of building facing the street room. Several of the loungers by the pool are broken. Looks like I will spend a day before we leave looking for another hotel worth 130.00 a night. Location by the pier is great but we don't sleep on the pier. ;-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariePavone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,014
    890
    407
    165
    104
See reviews for
1,221
755
71
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We make this our home when we visit Cocoa Beach. We stay in an oceanfront tower room and work to find the lowest rate, so it is not that much more than the other rooms. We were upgraded to a junior suite, since our room was not ready, which would have been nice if we were staying longer. It is not a luxurious resort, but in our experiences that is not what Cocoa Beach is about. It provides great access to the beach and the breakfast is a great addition. I like the fact that you are literally steps away from the ocean. We have stayed at other hotels and keep coming back here!

Room Tip: Stay in beachfront tower. It is worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coledean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed in the seven story tall building on the beach so had a great view which made for a great stay. Rooms in other building of the hotel wouldn't have any view. Nice room, very friendly & helpful staff. Good steak restaurant next to hotel. We were there to visit the Kennedy Space Ctr but would be a good choice just for a beach vacation.

Room Tip: Stay as high as possible in the tall building with view of ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sag Harbor, New York, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We booked two rooms, one in the tower building and one in the family suite building. The tower was beautiful and right on the ocean. The family suite overlooked one of the pools, but the room was dark and the desk chair was broken. The couch smelled.
Although the rooms were clean, the furniture is old and shoild be replaced. The staff was wonderful and friendly.
There weren't enough pool towels and they were not replaced in a timely fashion. All soft drink machines were deleted of water and were not refilled even when we asked for them to do so
Breakfast was good. Overall, this is a transient hotel dealing with "cruise" traffic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We booked this hotel to co-incide with a trip to Kennedy Space Centre, during our recent holiday to Florida. We were staying in Kissimmee and thought it would be nice to stay overnight on the coast and visit some of the attractions for the day after our visit to Kennedy.

Good start, we were firstly greeted with 'we've given you an upgrade to an Ocean Front' - however when we asked what that involved as I must admit I thought I'd booked an Ocean View, we were told very curtly, 'You're guaranteed a view of the Ocean!' - then it all went downhill rapidly....the room wasn't particularly clean, the door to the room was left wide open and wouldn't close properly and there was no TV remote. Not massive things admittedly, but as we were staying in a really nice villa in Kissimmee (La Bella Vita - fantastic place, read all the reviews!!) we cut our losses and decided to head back. Met at reception by two members of staff, one of which to be fair was courteous, the other talking over the top of us to his colleague as if we weren't there and said (we're not giving a refund they'll have to go back to their agent).

Here comes the best bit, when we complained to our agent, apparently they were told we apparently arrived at 6pm and checked out the next morning with no complaints!!! When I challenged this matter as we'd actually been on the premises for about 15 minutes...., I was told categorically that we checked out of the hotel at 11:49am the next morning, which by my book makes me a liar!!!! Needless to say this isn't going away.

So, if you're of the opinion of the Reception Staff at the Best Western Ocean Beach Hotel and Suites, then totally disregard my review as lies, but if you have any sense at all, please don't stay here !!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew K, General Manager at Best Western Ocean Beach Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
I am appreciative that you took the time to come on here and write your review. Although it is not a happy one, it always helps us to get better and we have a real commitment to being the best hotel we can be. Of the many reviews I read about our hotel, the last thing I see is a complaint about the quality of how my desk staff handles guest. In fact as I am re-reading many other reviews, the friendliness of the staff is by far the most frequent compliment we get. I am at a loss for what happened with your visit with us. I can say, I am sorry. That is not the standard we pride ourselves on, and I assure you it will be addressed with the Front Office Manager as well as the entire desk staff. I want to hope that the oceanview comment was made in fun spirit and just didn't come across well, that can happen. I do not understand the confusion on the check-out time but I will get to the bottom of it. We take these matters seriously, and I hope you will come back someday and give you a chance to experience the staff that many reviewers rave about on here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Do not think that you are going to reserve a room in the big hotel in the picture on their website. I had reserved a room for two nights this past week and only stayed one night. It was clean but the room stunk. Our room was in a little building behind the big building. We had to walk through two parking lots and enter another building to eat breakfast. Lights were out in the room and the room was very small. There were so many rooms for the very busy pool. Pool was locked up at 8p or 10p so when leaving the beach you had no where to spray off. We left and went to the Hilton right down the road for $20 more and it was wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ju8137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew K, General Manager at Best Western Ocean Beach Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We always are happy to get feedback from our guest it makes us better in so many ways. Our hotel offers 230 rooms in several price points and locations. We make it very clear in our descriptions that the room type you reserved is a "Garden view Room" with a detailed description of where it is at and our "Ocean Front" rooms are also clearly identified. There is no attempt to be deceptive, we try and appeal to a wide array of budgets and needs so that our guest can find accommodations at an ocean front hotel. We love that no matter which room you are in you are only steps form the beach.

We have two pools available for you and this has always been very adequate, when we are busy I am sure both pools are quite popular with. We do close the pool at 10pm so that our rooms around the pools can enjoy a quiet nights sleep.
We thank you for your feedback and your business. Please try us again next time through and maybe you will book that oceanfront room. :-)

-Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, AR
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed at this location before and after our cruise. We booked a standard room for the night before the cruise, which was a bit small compared to rooms at most hotels. However, this hotel was only steps away from the beach, and reasonable in price, so we felt it was worth it.
The night after the cruise, we got off the cruise ship very early, and were exhausted. Although check-in was not until 3:00 p.m., we thought we'd try to see if there was a room available earlier. Stanley was so helpful- he suggested we upgrade to a suite, because there was one available already. For only $25.00 extra, we were able to stay in a suite, and get in our room long before check-in time. The suite was overlooking the pool, and had a view of the ocean. We were very pleased with the suite, and very grateful for Stanley's recommendation. We enjoyed the breakfast as well. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I'd pay the extra and get the suite versus the standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cocoa Beach hotels
2.1 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
2.4 mi away
International Palms Resort & Conference Center Cocoa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral
1.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Cocoa Beach
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Cocoa Beach Port Canaveral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Ocean Beach Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ocean Beach Hotel & Suites

Property: Best Western Ocean Beach Hotel & Suites
Address: 5600 N Atlantic Avenue, Cocoa Beach, FL 32931-3920 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Ocean Beach Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Cocoa Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Cocoa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Ocean Beach Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Cocoa Beach's premiere oceanfront hotel! We are the closest beachfront hotel to the Port and immediately next to the famous Cocoa Beach Pier Shops and Dining. We are minutes from exciting Florida attractions; a number one choice for vacationing families and couples! Welcome to the ultimate destination for the Space Coast with close proximity to Kennedy Space Center and all major highways to Orlando. You can truly unpack once and see it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Ocean Beach Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cocoa Beach
Cocoa Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing