We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I dream of sea food”
Review of Jack Baker's Lobster Shanty - CLOSED

Jack Baker's Lobster Shanty
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I dream of sea food”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Cocoa Beach as many know was the setting for
"I Dream of Jeannie". It is a real beach town and considered Orlando's beach. The Lobster Shanty has been around forever yet continues to serve delicious seafood at an affordable price. We had the early bird special for $15 that incuded fried large coconut shrimp, salad, coleslaw, baked potato, hush puppies, and sorbet for desert or for $2 you can get key lime pie. Everthing tasted fresh and delicious. We sat outside with a lovely water view and watched as a school of catfish swam under the deck waiting for treats to be tossed to them. The service is efficient and welcoming. We will definitely put this on our lazy sunday funday list.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    166
    93
    52
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Champions Gate, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Jack Baker's Lobster Shanty”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Food was nice but the real star is the view! we couldn't resist walking in the rain and wind on the dock it was so intoxicating. We were there a very long time by choice and were never rushed or hurried. Many lovely rooms to dine in but the outside is just beautiful waterfront. Spacious as well. Conveniently located about 10-15 minutes away from Port Canaveral. Lots of wildlife locally. NO Fishy smell either.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good service; good food; great view”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

After spending the day at the Kennedy Space Center, we were hungry. Chose the Lobster Shanty because of the location. No problem being seated while awaiting the arrival of friends. Ate inside but in the back so we had the same view as those eating on the deck. Great sunset! Menu selection was very good with something for everyone. The "$25 winter prixe fixe" dinner looked very good but we opted for other items including crab cakes, stuffed & coconut shrimp. The complimentary coleslaw & fritters were yummy. Our waitress was delightful - a sense of humor always improves the dining experience.
Since I live in Central FL, another trip to the Lobster Shanty is a distinct possibility.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ga
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“beauatiful deck”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We sat outside by the river. The grounds are very pretty. The staff was very friendly. We enjoyed a bottle of wine and ordered the fish dip appetizer which was excellent. We thought the early bird menu looked like a deal so we both ordered from it. The only complaint was that my husband didn't care for the crab cake that was on his plate but the shrimp and fish were excellent. We would definately go back when we are that way.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barbiflys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food & good value”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Good restaurant with good food & value located on Intra Coastal Waterway. Can sit inside or outside. Get the early bird special between 4-6 PM. Appetizer, entree, & desert for one low price.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick06032011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Baker's Lobster Shanty also viewed

 
Cocoa Beach, Brevard County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing