We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden away. Worth the searching...”
Review of Pompano Grill

Pompano Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Pompano Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 170 Restaurants in Cocoa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $38
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We are a small family owned and operated restaurant! We pride ourselves on using the finest ingredients - our fish is fresh - never frozen! We offer a variety of dishes to satisfy any palate - Our specialty is our preparation of fresh locally caught fish, we also offer a variety of seafood, steak & chicken dishes as well as pasta and vegetarian dishes. We cook from the heart and serve all of our guests as if they are family! Reservations are suggested.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Hidden away. Worth the searching...”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

First, you almost always have to make reservations here. It's usually packed. This place is a throw-back to Cocoa Beach of the 60s and 70s. Very small but quaint. The food is delicious and the service was superb. They make a great Caesar salad and their fish is always fresh. They're not open all year round, so try to get here or you'll miss out on a great meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emptynesters09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    74
    19
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cocoa Beach, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Favorite”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Pompano Grill is one of our very favorite restaurants and we go there frequently. We live in the local area and hear the same from our friends and neighbors. This place is great for date night or celebrations with your friends. The food and atmosphere are first class!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great meal..... Always!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Pompano Grill is Always my first choice for a restaurant. Everything is fresh, made to order not seasoned to death like the chain places. The service is spectacular! Small and intimate, a real quality experience I wish I could go more often. Hubby and I so appreciate and enjoy It when we can get out! Consistently a top choice ! You really have to try it. Better than any other food in Cocoa Beach! The owners, staff and chef make it a quality night out that doesn't cost a fortune.

Best of Brevard!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ebunnyfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkville, Maryland
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Beyond our expectations!!! I don't get to enjoy upscale dining as much as I would like to and Pompano Grill was above & beyond. I fully intend to return in the near future.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hartmyheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Food is Fresh, The Decor Not So Much”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

You select a restaurant for the food, but you hope to have atmosphere as well. And service to match.

The food was very good but the decor was confusing. Regarding the decor, it seemed as if there was one direction decided, then another and it never came together.There were mounted fish (seafood restaurant, you expect that), but the African touches were strange. The mismatched plates work fine and are kind of fun, but there was WAY too much going on without a theme or purpose.

The Caesar salad received raves on this site, but mine was received with very little to no dressing (??). Once that was remedied it was good.The triple tail fish we ordered grilled was excellent, the grilled vegetable medley of squash, carrots and onions was good and the rice pilaf was fine.

We read on Trip Advisor about the service being great, but that was not our experience. It was adequate, as our server seemed to have everyone seated at once. And in fairness she had a table where the diners were a bit challenging. The pace was leisurely to s-l-o-w. Not really an issue for us that night, but not what we had expected based on the glowing reviews.

And although there are only about twelve tables it is pretty loud. So if a quiet, romantic spot is what you desire, this might not fit the role.

We would go back, it was very good but I can't give it an excellent based on the decor and service the night we were there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SterlingOrlando_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pompano Grill also viewed

Cocoa Beach, Brevard County
 
Cocoa Beach, Brevard County
Cocoa, Brevard County
 

Been to Pompano Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing