We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away!! Better options out there!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beach Place Guesthouses
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stay Away!! Better options out there!”
Reviewed February 14, 2007

I'm not sure if the previous reviewers are relatives of the owners or what, but nothing like the experience we had. We reserved what looked like a nice oceanside room on-line. Upon arriving, first and foremost, we were overcharged for the room. We put a $100 deposit down on the room booking on-line. Hernando charged us full price for the room, not giving us credit for the deposit, which apperantly went to their on-line booking agent. VERY DECEPTIVE!! Even worse than that, this additional amount in dispute, which was initially deducted at check-in from our total due, was subsequently charged back to our credit card without our authorization (come to find out at check-out). I didn't think that was legal?? We only stayed 2 nights and ended up paying $50 per night more than the going rate for the room. We voiced our dispute with this whole mess with rates and charges, but with the unauthorized charge, we ended up paying everything they wanted. This is the only real contact we had with Hernando or Joeseph...taking more money from us. Real nice customer service!! In fact, we were the only people staying in any of the oceanside rooms. The room we had would have just sat empty along with all of the others if we had not stayed. Nice way to accomodate your guests. Would rather risk letting the room sit empty than accomodate us.

The place itself looked more like an old motel that was painted yellow than an up-to-date Inn of any kind. The building seemed old, but looked recently remodeled inside. The room we stayed in was nice in appearance and the view was spectacular, the only bright spots of our stay. We did have trouble with the plumbing on several occassions. One of the tubs did not drain, and one of the toilets was broke. A plumber was called and both were eventually fixed. There was a horrible sulfer/rotten egg smell that came from the hot water in the master bath. We could not use the hot water in that room for our entire stay.

I won't be back, and would not recommend staying here. The view was great, only if you were in one of the upstairs rooms. Facility, hospitality, lack of customer service/accomdating attitude not worth the $300-400 per night, or more which we paid.

  • Liked — The view.
  • Disliked — Overcharged, non-accomodating.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank Zathura-99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    23
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
88
60
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2007

We came down from Chicago to get away from the cold, relax and celebrate New Years at Disney. In the course of one week, I think we left the grounds twice for groceries – that’s it! It was such a wonderful atmosphere and felt like more of a community than a hotel/motel. Joseph and Hernando are the most gracious hosts and simply wonderful people to know. We are not big fans of hotels because we feel the need to stay out of the room and leave the property in order to experience the local culture. Beachplace was a culture in and of itself. The guests were interesting and relaxed. Local artist and business owners popped in for coffee and a chat and the entire property had a personality that reflected wat a vacation spot always strives for but rarely achieves. The rooms are large and colorful apartments with personality and lots of charm (spectacular views if you get one Oceanside). But even outside of the rooms was just this feeling of a friendly community. We were invited to a party that Joseph and Hernando were hosting and can honestly say that this was one of the best New Year’s events we’ve ever been to. I think every guest of the hotel was there as well as some of their friends and it all just mixed up beautifully. We’re committed to taking a week here every year. It’s just too good of a find not to.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank chickeninthecar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2006

I desperately needed to recharge my batteries so I got on a plane from Michigan and headed to the Beach Place. I was met by Joseph and Hernando who are the most kind, gracious and charismatic hosts/owners. The property is ripe with vibrant colors, lush tropical plants in glorious containers, spectacular fountains, sea grapes, peaceful decks and lanai's to relax on. The view anywhere on the property is phenomenal and the smell of the ocean air is truly breathtaking. As someone traveling alone, I was very comfortable on the property. I spent many evenings on the deck watching the moon over the ocean. The sound of the waves literally is entrancing. Also, there is a delightful art gallery on the property and there happen to be an opening while I was there. The evening was filled with laughter, conversation, music, stories, beautiful art, a glorious number of people both local and from up and down the coast. It was so spectacular. The rooms are all gorgeous, there is not a single one that isn't outstanding. My accomodations were in Peggy's Tree House and from my living room recliner I could watch the surfers at dawn catching waves. I had all the ammenities I could ever need and then some. My room was very clean, I had an over abundance of delicious smelling towels, a fully functional kitchen, coffee, teas, and rich soaps. It was heavenly. I intend to make a yearly trip to the Beach Place. It was magical. Joseph and Hernando truly have a 5 Star Beauty on their hands!

  • Liked — It was gorgeous - inside and out!
  • Disliked — There wasn't anything I didn't like about it.
  • Tips/Secrets — Go...it's too wonderful to pass up.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Terita2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 4, 2006

We stayed at the Beach Place Guesthouses over 4th of July week-end and had a wonderful time. This is an older, small hotel that has been kept up very nicely. It has about 15 rooms and we stayed in a 2 bedroom that could sleep 6 with a fold out couch in the living room. The rooms were extremely clean and were filled with lots of nice touches like a basket of coffee & tea in the kitchen, lots of extra towels, scented soaps and plenty of kids beach toys, boogie boards & beach umbrellas to borrow, laundry on site with all the detergents provided for free. There is no restaurant or bar on site, but the rooms have full kitchens and they have grills that you can borrow. Nice decks to eat on, patio furniture by each room, courtyards and right out the door is miles & miles of beach. Joseph & Hernando run the place and personally greet you, chat with everyone, make suggestions about restaurants, very friendly. Hernando told us they bought this place a couple of years ago and did lots of upgrades. You can tell as there were new appliances, mattresses, dishes, etc., nice art work, and the grounds showed lots of work had been put into maintaining them. We brought our 3 small children and they had a wonderful time.

If you are looking for a typical big name resort with lots of pools & restaurants, this is not your place but if you are looking for small, friendly, personal and charming, this is a fun little laid back place with lots of nice extra touches.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cocoa Beach hotels
3.2 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
4.4 mi away
Inn at Cocoa Beach
Inn at Cocoa Beach
#1 of 31 in Cocoa Beach
912 reviews
5.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Best Western Ocean Beach Hotel & Suites
1.3 mi away
Anthony's On The Beach
Anthony's On The Beach
#18 of 31 in Cocoa Beach
142 reviews
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Place Guesthouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Place Guesthouses

Property: Beach Place Guesthouses
Address: 1445 South Atlantic Avenue, Cocoa Beach, FL 32931-2351
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Cocoa Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Cocoa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Place Guesthouses 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach Place Guesthouses is located on the south end of Cocoa Beach in the middle of a residential neighborhood, providing a peaceful environment for your family. Restaurants, nightlife and art galleries are minutes from our 17 guesthouses. Our guesthouses possess soothing colors; relaxing atmosphere along with all of the amenities of home. All guesthouses are steps from the beach. Three ocean view decks. Hammocks, over-sized lounges and wood burning fireplaces are here to rejuvenate your spirit. Relax and gather with family and friends on one of the beautiful pergolas all year long! BBQ grills are plentiful throughout the grounds for your dining pleasure! For your beach comfort, we have colorful beach chairs, umbrellas and beach towels. Every one of our guesthouses has a unique view of peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Beach Place Guesthouses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Place Guesthouses Hotel Cocoa Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing