We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such an experience! We cannot wait to go again and again and again!”

Yen Yen Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #39 of 169 Restaurants in Cocoa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Such an experience! We cannot wait to go again and again and again!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This review is dedicated to all the 20+ year eaters who feel the need to leave a bad review after they experienced one bad service. I have a question, where were the good reviews of all the good experiences you had the 20 years prior? It's people like you that deter people from a good meal just because your high standards that night was not met... My husband and I are recent Yen Yen goers and we love the food, the atmosphere and service. Sometimes the wait is a little long but the wait is always WELL worth it. The owner comes by the table and checks on you, the servers are friendly and funny. As a matter of fact I finally learned how to use chop sticks because our waiter was nice enough to teach me their technic! The food is delicious and fresh and consistent, And if you enjoy adult beverages then you must have their Mai Tai please! Everybody who reads these reviews, do yourself a favor and go experience Yen Yen's dining experience for yourself before passing judgement... You might not regret it! We are always looking forward to another dinner date at Yen yen's. My personal favorites thus far are: Appetizer: Pork Dumpling (4 pcs) - Steamed or pan fried. They're delicious either way. Entree: Da-Chien Prawn. So amazingly yummy!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Da1nOnlyAimz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    62
    26
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cocoa Beach,Florida
Level Contributor
400 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great Chinese cuisine in Cocoa Beach”
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

This is a gem hiding in Cocoa beach. This restaurant has been here many years and is consistently excellent . It has a wide selection for the menu and the staff will work with you if you want something special. Service is great and there is take out should you want that. Food is fresh and presented well. They take reservations. If your in the mood for quality at a reasonable price. You won't be disappointed here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank drwsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Consistent Food and Service”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This place has been around for many years. Great food, great service. If you want the duck, you have to call in advance. It's very good and I do recommend trying it. I also recommend that you insist that the duck be left at your table the entire time. Seems like you get less when it goes back into the kitchen.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, FL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What has happened to this restaurant?”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We drove from Melbourne to Cocoa Beach to eat at Yen Yen and arrived for dinner at about 5:15 and were told there was a half hour wait. We have eaten at Yen Yen in the past, and figured it would be worth the wait. After 40 minutes with no sign of a table, we decided to order food to go. We were told it would be a 15 to 20 minute wait, but it was considerably longer. However, like we told the girl at the bar (who never asked if we wanted a drink although we sat there for 50 minutes!!!) if the food was great, it would be worth it.

Unfortunately, the food was HORRIBLE. My vegan daughter ordered the Buddha's Delight, which turned out to be an overcooked glop of unrecognizable vegetables in a soupy, nasty broth. No one would eat it, so that was $14 right into the garbage can. The spare ribs, although pretty, did not taste good, either. My dish, which I honestly can't remember the name of, something like Yen Yen Special something or other, at $18, was not as good as the Happy Family at Lucky Garden in Melbourne.

I have been eating at Yen Yen off and on for over 20 years, and this was the WORST ever. The menu has been changed to a tiny selection, which would make you think that they would do those few dishes to perfection. Not the case.

We were so disappointed, and will never be eating at Yen Yen again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leslie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“excellent service”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I have to say this was the best service we've had in a long time. The waiter we had was excellent! You did not have to ask him for anything, he was always thinking ahead. The food was great, the atmosphere is nice and clean (though I do think it's a little fancy decor), and the staff was friendly and attentive. We had green tea, egg rolls, sweet and sour chicken, egg drop soup, chicken teriyaki, and sizzling steak. Everything was great and cooked perfectly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank schmidttravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yen Yen Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Cocoa Beach, Brevard County
Cocoa Beach, Brevard County
 
Cocoa Beach, Brevard County
Cocoa Beach, Brevard County
 
Cocoa Beach, Brevard County
Cocoa Beach, Brevard County
 

Been to Yen Yen Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing