We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Day Kayaking Among the Manatees” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cocoa Beach Kayaking

Cocoa Beach Kayaking
Ranked #10 of 33 Tours in Cocoa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Take a guided nature tour with Cocoa Beach Kayaking – visit with and learn about the endangered Florida manatees, the Indian River Lagoon bottlenose dolphins, native and migratory birds, and so much more. You won’t experience all of this in one place anywhere other than Cocoa Beach, Florida. Kayaking experience is not necessary. We paddle at a leisurely pace through the canals and islands, and give you instructions before we ever leave dry land. The tours last 2 to 2 ½ hours and are all-inclusive. All you need to bring is yourself and a camera, we’ll provide everything else.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Great Day Kayaking Among the Manatees”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our family of four- headed out for a day of kayaking on a beautiful early summer morning not knowing what to expect. Our guide, Mickey was well prepared with everything we needed from sunscreen to life jackets! My husband and I both have polarized sunglasses and tried to get our teenagers to wear their 'fun' sunglasses- better than no glasses; but they didn't want to. Mickey patiently and very matter-of-factly told the kids they really need sunglasses and the reasons- one of which is so they don't burn their retinas! So because HE told them AND had some polarized ones to borrow- they did and were very glad they listened to him because it is so bright on the water! He is very knowledgable about not only how to kayak in small spaces but also about all the wild life in the area! We saw a variety of birds, a different kind of jelly fish than what we're used to and a family of manatees- not only in the distance, but right up close enough to touch- but unfortuately, as cute as they are, it's unlawful to touch the manatees. Mickey also had two different kayaks in our group with ice-chests full of water, in case someone needed one. We had a wonderful time- it was peaceful, relaxing and educational! I highly reccomend this trip for anyone who enjoys the outdoors!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Nice kayak trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Alex was our guide. He was knowledgable and enthusiastic. We were lucky and saw lots of manatees and lots of dolphins. Keep in mind, there are no guarantees what wildlife you'll see on your tour. The kayaks were a bit old and worn out, and not super comfortable; some of these kayak tour places use newer boats. Also, they have a policy of only one paddle per boat, even though there are two occupants. I'm not sure i agree with that, I would rather allow both people to paddle, unless one is a child. Part of the tour is thru a residential area, which I did not know beforehand. I prefer more natural scenery. But the launching point was very convenient, near the hotel area on Cocoa, as opposed to some other tours that launch from Merritt island. Some tours also stop at a little island where you can get out and stretch your legs, but this tour did not, which is hard on the butt :) Overall we had a nice time and the wildlife sightings were super. We were two adults and four kids. We were charged $35pp (kids & adults same price). They provided water & extra sunscreen, no snacks, so I suggest you bring a snack.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank witwisAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Relaxing day on the Bannana River”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

My 18 yr old daughter and I spent a relaxing couple of hours kayaking on the Bannana River, which is really a lagoon, according to our knowledgeable guide, Alex. We saw a family of manatees but did not see any dolphins. Very easy to kayak for beginners. We had a two-person kayak, so was great taking turns with the paddle. Wildlife and plant life was identified and explained. Only 4 people were on our tour. Would recommend.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JackieMD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
104 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Best of Cocoa Beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic! Mickey was our guide, an he is very knowledgeable am genuinely cares about the animals and environment. This company has smaller groups, so it's a more personalized trip. At the beginning of the trip, we saw a dolphin playing and he swam around our kayaks. Later, a manatee passed us, and Mickey continued guiding us in the same direction. Unfortunately, another company with a group of about 8 double kayaks went in front of us and cornered the manatee is a shallow area. Not only is this against the law, but it's very cruel! I was glad we were with Mickey who cares for and respects the animals. Another manatee passed us later (they are much quicker than we thought), and another dolphin jumped around us as we were finishing the trip. This is a great trip run by people who are interested in more than making a fast buck. It's the perfect morning activity for the Space Coast.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler123020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience and a chance to see wild manatees!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Brilliant kayaking tour. We had very little experience kayaking, so just had one paddle between our 2 person kayak, but were paddling fine after about 10 minutes. Water, hats and sun screen were all provided, and I was pleased to learn that there was nothing in the water that was poisonous! (it's salt water - very clear and for most of the tour, only a few feet deep). Our tour guide, Mickey, was very knowledgeable about the area, as he grew up around there, and told us all about the different plants and animals during regular stops on the trip. We got very close to manatees, they were swimming under our kayak. Initially advertised as a 2 to 2.5 hour trip but we were out for at least 3 hours. Really enjoyed the tour and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to see wildlife in Florida.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocoa Beach Kayaking also viewed

Cocoa Beach, Brevard County
 
Cocoa Beach, Brevard County
Cocoa Beach, Brevard County
 

Been to Cocoa Beach Kayaking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing