We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service! Reasonable price!”

Pelican's Bar & Grill
Ranked #43 of 169 Restaurants in Cocoa Beach
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Cool off at Pelican's Bar & Grill located right on the Westgate Cocoa Beach Pier. This casual oceanside bar and grill serves up fresh seafood, famous clam chowder and decadent desserts in a relaxed atmosphere filled with stunning sights and soothing sounds of the ocean. Enjoy favorites like the Bait Pail and the original Cocoa Beach Tacos, or take a walk on the wild side and try the crispy Southern Fried Gator! Unwind with specialty cocktails, daiquiris, coladas and more at our Cocoa Beach restaurant. There's nothing better than a refreshing Castaway Rum Punch on a hot day. Stop to watch the waves roll by or catch your favorite sporting event live on flat screen TVs located around the air-conditioned restaurant.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Having been at a number of "pier" restaurants over the years, I did not expect much, but I was pleasantly surprised! The menu was what one would expect for this type of location, but our server Danielle was a standout! Quickly seated us and took our beverage order, which she refilled several times without being asked. The clam strip appetizer was a generous portion, of meaty strips and was neither greasy OR overcooked. No small feat! The Burgers were good sized, cooked to perfection, and juicy! Beer was frosty cold. What more could you ask for? The manager, TJ even stopped by to chat for a bit while we finished dessert. Will be back next time we're in CB.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hunter2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Pelican's Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2014

Thank you so much for your review of the Cocoa Beach Pier and your kind words. We are thrilled to hear that your server Danielle provided you with outstanding service, the manager TJ stopping to say hello, and the food and drinks being made to perfection! All of these things are what like to provide each and every guest, each and every time they visit, as customer service is our number one goal. It would be our pleasure to have you visit again the next time you're in Cocoa Beach!

Sincerely,
Katrina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
There are newer reviews for Pelican's Bar & Grill
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

408 - 412 of 525 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2014

Went here after arriving in Cocoa Beach and was not impressed. It was a hot day so we sat inside to watch the end of the World Cup finals. There were quite a few people inside the restaurant but it wasn't overly busy but it did take a few minutes for our waiter to come over to us to get our drink orders. Drinks took awhile to appear and it took a few more minutes for the waiter to come back and get our food orders. I ordered fish and chips - but they were out so ordered fried shrimp instead. Another in our party ordered fried clams, and the other ordered the lobster roll. Food took forever to come out and when it did my shrimp and the fried clams looked like they'd been left in the fryer too long. The manager (I think) came over to ask how our food was and we mentioned the overcooked clams and she did offer to have them re-made but the person who ordered them didn't want to wait even longer for food. But the shrimp and clams did look like and taste like they were frozen. The person who ordered the lobster roll said it was just okay. After we finished, it took us awhile to get the bill and pay because the waiter was nowhere to be found.

For the prices being charged and being on the pier/ocean, you would think the food would be a lot better...and not frozen! I would not go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lesley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Pelican's Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent experience at Pelican’s Bar & Grill, formerly Marlin’s Bar & Grill, located on the serene Cocoa Beach Pier!

We were sorry to read that you found the service to be slow and your overall experience to be disappointing. Your comments will certainly be passed on to the Management Team.

We appreciate this opportunity to improve, and will work to exceed your expectations on what we hope will be your next visit.

Sincerely,
Katrina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Ok. I know you want to be different. But as a local. My visit today was to see all the new things hopping at the cocoa beach pier. First of all we waited extremely long for our food. Second. The burgers had old shredded salad on it with some sort of thousand island dressing. It made the burger taste nasty. Everyone at our table. 7 total. Took the salad off the Burger. What ever happened to a piece of romain lettuce. Not a salad on a burger but lettuce and tomato and onion. This has to stop. I looked around the restaurant and everyone who had a burger did the same thing. Also. My bail pail. Was skimpy. For $24 I expected more. Please review your food quality.

Thank Yolie_321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Pelican's Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent visit to Pelican’s Bar & Grill, formerly Marlin’s Bar & Grill, located on the beautiful Cocoa Beach Pier!

We are very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your experience with us.

We are aware that during the pre-theatre during peak times, guests can experience delays in service. At the present time we are reviewing our processes in order to ensure a more comfortable experience for our guests, and reduce these wait times.

Finally we were sorry to hear you did not enjoy the burger that we prepared. Please know we have other dishes available and we would have been more than happy to replace it for you with one of the other dishes or with a new burger.

While we love our burger, we understand everyone’s taste varies. Should you choose to return, which we hope you do, please note that when speaking with your server, special request such as no shredded lettuce or dressing, may be requested.

As the menu states: “The Burger - Our special blend of brisket, short rib and chuck make this the juiciest half-pound burger around. Even the shredded lettuce is tossed in the Chef’s dressing! Served with tomato, pickles and choice of cheese on a fresh baked brioche roll.”

Our goal is to provide you with the best foods and service possible, and again we apologize if you feel that on this occasion that we failed to do just that.

We hope you will swing by again and give us another try.

Sincerely,
Katrina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Sometimes you want to visit a place a few times to determine if they will become a favorite or not. With Marlins Good Times Bar and Grill, two times is what it took to decide that I'll go back (and encourage others to as well) if the service and food got a little better. The first time I went, the food took 45 minutes to get to us and our orders were basic, from potato skins to salads to chicken nuggets. When a family member asked about our food, the waitress asked if we were in a hurry (in an innocent way, though). I went another time this past weekend and even told friends I was with about the time it took to get our food. Well, unfortunately, it happened again and this time we were on more of a time crunch because we had our car at a meter. The food took a while to come out, one friend had to ask a waitress that wasn't our waitress (or the manager that served us) for cocktail sauce after he asked for it 15 minutes before and two other friends said their mahi-mahi was kind of bland. One upside though is that we had a great view of the water and pier, but that couldn't make up for a less than enjoyable experience. If service and the entrees improved a bit, I would definitely go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Blair T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Pelican's Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Thank you for your visit and sharing your opinion. We are currently undergoing some changes and improvements as we are under new ownership however; this is in no way an excuse for lack of service or a delay in your foods delivery to your table. For this we truly apologize and we hope you come back again so we can show you that we can show you the service you deserve. Thanks again for your feedback and see you soon.

Sincerely,
Katrina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Food and Service were great. Our server (Michele) made our meal a pleasant experience. Leave time after you meal for a walk on the pier.

Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Pelican's Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Thank you so much for writing such a nice review about Pelican’s Bar & Grill, formerly Marlin’s Bar & Grill, located on the beautiful Cocoa Beach Pier! It pleases us to hear that you enjoyed dining with us. Your comments will be shared with our chef as all feedback good and bad, is used towards improving our service and/or product whenever necessary. We appreciate your patronage and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Katrina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pelican's Bar & Grill also viewed

Cocoa Beach, Brevard County
Cocoa Beach, Brevard County
 
Cocoa Beach, Brevard County
Cocoa Beach, Brevard County
 

Been to Pelican's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing