We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed staying here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Discovery Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Cocoa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Enjoyed staying here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2007

We enjoyed it here. We had a 2 bedroom and it was a great floor plan. Our kids stayed in the bedroom with 2 twin beds. You do hear a lot more noise in that room from the pool area and the room was warmer than the rest of the suite. We had a great view from the balcony and watched a rocket launch from there! It is a little dated. Everyone we met on the staff was very nice and helpful. The room was clean. We would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickiinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    95
    19
    7
    7
See reviews for
121
56
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2007

Had a wonderful vacation! We try to go somewhere new every year, and this year we picked Cocoa Beach. I've read some of the other reviews and don't know what to think. Maybe the staff has been replaced, because everyone that we dealt with was very pleasant.

The condo was a little dated, but clean - which is the important thing.

Loved the area - not too commercial. Very close to Kennedy Space Center. Which is very interesting, but very expensive - especially if you have more than one child.

If we go back to Cocoa Beach in the future, will definately consider staying here again.

  • Liked — Location and view
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4timesMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2007

We stayed in Discovery resort to visit local friends. The room was okey but the people were not friendly. I played basketball one day. The bouncing board for the basketball was broken and made a loud sound when the ball hits. .This is June and a big season for the turle hatching. My friend told me that Cocoa Beach has light ordinance from dusk to dawn to protect the new hatchlings but Discovery has big tennnis and basketball lights that was on until about 11 PM. Aparently , they are not very caring about environmental issues. IWhen I mention the problem to the management, I don't think they want to hear anything. I would not stay there again.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank jatrophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2007

I feel the need to express my opinion because it seems alot of people are unhappy with the front desk people. Well I must tell you there is a front desk lady named Gloria she is marvlous, infact this is our 3rd time staying there and we loved everything about it. We actually had no problems with any of the front desk personell, we all thought all of them were very curtious. Now for those of you who want 5 star wait on you hand and foot type of resort this is not for you, (there is a Hilton right down the street). Look if you want the type of resort that is family freindly. with great views of the ocean, and do not want to spend an arm and a leg, I would try this place out, no matter what some say you may have a different opinion. We love Discovery Beach and we will stay again next year when we go for our cruise to E. Carribean.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank angelfields2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2006

We stayed for three nights in early November.
This is a condo rental situation. Units are kept up well and directly face the beach. Very nice location.
Pool and hottub are very nice.
Internet service is offered. Restaurant is on premises.
City fishing pier is two blocks walk on the beach.
Would stay again.
Didnt use maid service.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2006

OK, where do I start? First of all, this is not a full service hotel, but a timeshare where the developer has retained some units for rental. So daily maid service, room service isn't going to happen. The units are 2-bedroom room, 2-bath condos with a full ocean balcony! Well kept, clean.

I read in other reviews the staff was nasty, they aren't - but because they all have been there what appears to be 10+ years, I do believe they are a little complacent. I found them helpful and very reasonable.

The restaurant is just ok. And oh yeah, what's up with the stray cats? There are a pack of 7 of them that hang out on the oceanside, didn't bother me, but just real strange.....

I would stay again when in CoCoa Beach....

  • Liked — View / Balcony
  • Disliked — Restaurant
  • Tips/Secrets — Get a room on the top floor for the best view
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Chicken_Carbonara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2006

We love the Cocoa Beach area and have stayed there in the past. It is the most "uncommercial" of any area in Florida and lovely weather. This resort is a little dated; however, it is clean and well-maintained outwardly. Upon check-in, the front desk person was very direct and curtly answered questions saying they were "very busy" right now. Every time we came down with a question, we felt like we were imposing and needed to apologize for bothering her. Enough said about that . . . as it continued on. We didn't count every item when we arrived and reported a broken glass a few days later and were told we should have mentioned it when we inventoried our unit. The beds are very hard and lumpy and the bathroom use is difficult for a disabled person (no handrails). I don't want to forget to mention that the view is lovely! Next time I will stay at another resort in the beautiful area.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank Hooverfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cocoa Beach hotels
2.2 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Inn at Cocoa Beach
Inn at Cocoa Beach
#1 of 31 in Cocoa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cocoa Beach Hotel & Suites
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Beach Resort

Property: Discovery Beach Resort
Address: 300 Barlow Ave., Cocoa Beach, FL 32931
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Cocoa Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cocoa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Beach Hotel Cocoa Beach
Discovery Beach Cocoa
Discovery Beach Resort Cocoa Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing