We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Resort was disappointing in every way, except for the view.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Discovery Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Cocoa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
MI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Resort was disappointing in every way, except for the view.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2009

Resort units are old & need updating. Carpet is so worn, beds/ pillows are horrible & the furniture was awful. The overstuffed chair, which looked so comfortable, sinks almost to the floor when you sit on it. Tried to use the fitness center, but the air bikes were not well-maintained. Staff was ok; activities director was wonderful--friendly, knowledgeable, & enthusiastic.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiGramz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    95
    20
    7
    7
See reviews for
122
56
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville VA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2009

We returned to The Resort on Cocoa Beach again January 3-9, 2009, for our second early January Florida vacation. We had enjoyed our stay in early January 2008 so much that we exchanged for the same week at the same resort again this year. This year we were joined by several family members and close friends, making our group 11 total in two 2-BR units at that resort and one 2-BR unit at Discovery Beach Resort just a mile or two up the beach. We had some difficulties balancing everyone's different interests, idiosyncrasies, and vacation philosophies. No one wanted to be "in charge," either, but they kept acting as if we were supposed to be. Live and learn.

Both resorts were very nice. They actually are sister resorts managed by the same timeshare company. The Resort on Cocoa Beach is larger and has more amenities but most of its units are oceanview. Discovery Beach Resort is smaller but all units there are oceanfront. The units at both resorts have been very well maintained and remodeled within the last few years. The most significant thing about both is the very friendly, helpful attitude of the staffs--it reflects extremely well on the resort company that runs both.

Once again this year, some of our best experiences were enjoying nature on the Space Coast. The public boat ramps near Freedom 7 Elementary School again opened up the Thousand Islands of the Banana River lagoon where several of us saw hundreds, perhaps thousands, of birds, including the largest great blue herons I've ever seen. We also saw manatees and even a dolphin within just a few feet of the boat ramps. Merritt Island National Wildlife Refuge was again terrific, especially the wildlife drive. The Brevard Zoo in Melbourne (especially feeding the lorakeets) was a highlight. I even got in some surf paddling in my inflatable kayak.

This year we spent one day helping on a Habitat for Humanity house. Our family has traded charitable contributions in lieu of gifts at Christmas for several years and we decided doing volunteer work together would be a nice alternative. Not everyone agreed with the idea at first, but I think all of us who worked that day really enjoyed it. The local Habitat chapter seems well able to accommodate help from folks outside the local area. We worked on framing walls on the bare slab we found when we got to the site. It was really fantastic to be able to see such progress in one day's work. We got four walls built (with framing for doors and windows) and actually raised two of them. The Habitat worker onsite encouraged us to sign the wall joists after we got one exterior wall raised and write something about our hopes for the occupants--it was quite moving.

Three of us took the SunCruz casino cruise one night. Two playing craps were fairly lucky but one playing poker wasn't so lucky. The crew and casino staff were very friendly and we enjoyed ourselves but we didn't expect a glamorous cruise and weren't disappointed.

We've reserved a 2-BR oceanfront unit at Discovery Beach Resort for the first week of 2010. We've never returned on an annual basis to any timeshare vacation location and next year will be three in a row for us in Cocoa Beach. That says more than anything else I could write about how much we like it. It's not as far as Ft. Lauderdale/Miami but it is significantly warmer than Jacksonville/St. Augustine that time of year in our experience. I can't stand even the idea of driving on the beach, so it's better for us than the Daytona Beach area, too.

My advice remains the same--get away from Orlando and see the real Florida. Enjoy the many wonderful state and local parks and low-key, low-cost options to enjoy yourself.

Helpful?
3 Thank RangeRon78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2008

We spent ten days at the condo and had a grea time. The rooms were fine although due for some paint. Minor maintenance issue with a door was resovled almost immediately. In fact the one thing that struck me most was the super friendly staff. Ocean view was perfect and is walking distance to restaurants and a donut place.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scott6428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2008

Nice resort, I wouldnt give it a 5 star rating, but he rooms are very large, and with fully equipped kitchens, it was a nice place to stay. There is a pool and a hot tub, along with a game room, and sauna.There are tennis courts also above the parking. It is a beachfront hotel, with a beautiful view of the Atlantic Ocean. There are no beach chairs provided, you can rent them at an additional cost. It is close to the downtown area, and convenient to local shopping also. I would recommend staying here, and would come back to this place again.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tandmgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, CO
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2008

We stay at the Discovery Beach Resort every year and it remains a great place to stay.

You can't find better beach-front in Cocoa Beach. Every room is OCEAN FRONT. They are clean and well-equipped with everything you need.

The front desk staff is nice if you are nice. When we were checking in, there was a couple yelling and screaming at the front desk because they didn't get a room called "Nautalis Suites"...with a larger balcony. They were yelling and trying to bully the staff into giving them what they wanted even though those suites were booked.

The front desk staff finally had to say "look, we can't give you one. We simply don't have it." Some people just can't be pleased.

DSC is close to everything you'd want to do in the area. It's within walking distance of the pier, Ron Jons Surf Shop. And just a couple minute's drive to the cruise terminals, supermarkets, restraunts, etc...It's exactly 1 hour to Disney World and all of the Orlando attractions.

This year is the first year we tried surf-fishing. There is a dive/
bait/tackle shop just up the road that was selling complete ocean rods set ups for $30. We bought one and some bait and caught quite a few fish...Drum, Whiting, etc...

If you are a Timeshare owner, you choices in Cocoa BEach are Ron Jon's Cape Caribe, DSC, The Resort on Cocoa Beach, Las Olas...and they are all great. You can't go wrong with any of them.

  • Liked — The ocean front rooms
  • Disliked — The beds are hard and uncomfortable.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Susanf31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2008

This is by far the worst place I have ever stayed at. The room that was given to us was not what we reserved! I spoke to the manager and he was no help at all, not even accomodating for our trouble. I Have stayed at many places on Cocoa Beach and by far this was the most disappointing. My Recommendation: If you are staying with your family or just enjoying a leisurely trip, Do not stay here! Not worth what you pay for!! I could stay at the Marriott and get better accommodations and Much Better Service!!

  • Liked — that is was located on the beach
  • Disliked — my stay, the room and service by Discovery Beach Resort
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank roselen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2008

We exchanged our two bedroom condo timeshare week from Pompano Beach for a week at the Discovery Resort. We stayed in a two-bedroom on the sixth floor. We loved the accomodations, especially the oceanfront master room with the king-size bed. It is really nice to lie in bed and watch the waves and listen to the sounds of the ocean. The balcony was hugh and the unit was well maintained and clean. The pool is a nice size and clean as well. The restaurant on the premises wasn't open. We were disappointed in the restaurants there, but that's no reflection on the resort. We had a great italian dinner at Bella's in Melbourne, but weren't impressed with any others that we visited. The personnel at the front desk were friendly and helpful. We hope to go back soon for a few days if they have availability.

  • Liked — oceanfront spacious master bedroom
  • Disliked — bathrooms a little small
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jacobscc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cocoa Beach hotels
2.2 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Inn at Cocoa Beach
Inn at Cocoa Beach
#1 of 31 in Cocoa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cocoa Beach Hotel & Suites
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Beach Resort

Property: Discovery Beach Resort
Address: 300 Barlow Ave., Cocoa Beach, FL 32931
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Cocoa Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cocoa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Beach Hotel Cocoa Beach
Discovery Beach Cocoa
Discovery Beach Resort Cocoa Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing