We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Ocean Front Makes Up for Almost Anything...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Discovery Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Cocoa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta
Level Contributor
146 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Ocean Front Makes Up for Almost Anything...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Title says it all! highly recommend if you want to hear and see the ocean all of the time without leaving your balcony. Be sure to get up to at least 4th floor for the view. The bed was horrible, but hopefully they have replaced them all by now. The hot tub was out most of our stay, but was fixed before we left. The staff was cordial and helpful. We would go back, just for guarantee of oceanfront.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    88
    18
    7
    7
See reviews for
110
48
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, OH
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

An ideal place to get away from the turmoil of the big city. Workers were congenial and very helpful. All condos have ocean frontage, so no complaints about not seeing the ocean.. the sound of the waves were all that could be heard as you sit on the balcony. Very clean and spacious, all utensils furnished in kitchen, 2 large flat screen TVs, near many restaurants and a short drive to Patrick AFB and Cape Canaveral. Trouble with a TV had a maintenance man at the door about 2 minutes after I called and the TV was working fine in another 2 minutes. The Resort has a small pool and activities during the day. There is a restaurant on site with specials every day.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor, then you have the whole area and the ocean to view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ange L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

At the time of our stay, the pool was out of action for major repair work which was a pity. However, the rest of it was super. The apartment was huge and overlooked the beach. The onsite restaurant was superb - we usually tend to eat out, but the quality of the food was great and the bar served a perfect martini too! The location is just a five minute walk to the famous pier, with its own bars and restaurants - heaven!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Probably the friendliest hotel staff we have encountered. We have stayed at more well-appointed resorts, but the staff here was fantastic.

This was a laundry and recuperation stop between Paris and a cruise, and we selected it for the location near Port Canaveral and the in suite washer/dryer. Only disappointment was the lack of an in room Jacuzzi, which I misunderstood as available and it was not.

Our two bedroom suite was clean, well-equipped, comfortable and without disturbance. Higher floors were recommended for the ocean view, but as we were here just to do laundry and sleep for 2 nights, we requested a lower floor to allow for others to use the more preferred rooms. We had a suite on the 3rd floor and ended up enjoying our view tremendously - I can't help but wonder what it must be like higher up!

We were notified weeks ahead of our stay that the pool would be unavailable due to construction, but had not intended to use it anyway - the early notification was appreciated.

Front desk staff, again, were wonderful, can't say enough about them!

Will definitely consider this resort in the future prior to or following cruise out of Port Canaveral!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights after spending the prior week in Disneyworld - we needed some R&R. This is a short 45 minute drive from the Orlando airport and easily accessible.
The outside of the resort is "older" but my Husband, who lived in Florida before, says it's very local looking (teal green) and there a large shell on the front which is very suiting as the beach is covered in beautiful shells (and jelly fish).
The lobby needs a serious update, especially compared to their sister resort "Resort on cocoa beach" about 5 miles down the road. The staff were o.k, friendly and helpful if you needed something or had a question. But, I was having trouble with a luggage cart and instead of helping me or asking if he could assist with the luggage, he stood there (holding up the counter) and advised me how to "push" it properly.... Also, they don't really go through the fine print when you check-in ie. They will charge $5 per pool towel not in your room. If this is the case, someone should count the pool towels in my room with me so I know how many I am responsible for or how many they assume they left in the room for us. Also, that you must return the room cards upon check-out, we always leave them in our hotel room when staying away but I had to be brought back upstairs at 5 am, with a sleeping 3 year old, to ensure I returned the hotel key or I was charged $5 per card on the spot. Kind of silly but the evening counter man was nice about it.
The room was excellent. View was breathtaking (ask for a higher floor, we were on 6) they won't let you call ahead to get a higher room you have to ask upon check-in. Our room was newly renovated with new(er) cupboards in the kitchen, new fridge, microwave, dishwasher and TV's in the main room and master room. The bathrooms need new cupboards but nothing bad.
The room echoes a lot due to the tile floors and concrete hallways outside. We could hear every door slam and elevator and on the windy nights our balcony whistled extremely loud.
No TV channels for preschool aged kids, just Nickelodeon and Disney but it didn't play in the evenings so bring a small laptop and movies for the kids. There's a DVD player there too.
We drove to the Kennedy Space Centre one day (about 25 min away) and ate at the the Pier restaurant quiet a bit. AWESOME happy hours prices from 4-7 and it's right near the resort, a short beach walk. There's a grocery store 2 blocks up on the main strip along with a lot of restaurants, liquor stores etc.too.
The pool was under construction and they did notify us before arrival. It's been under construction for MONTHS and we had the pleasure of watching the "workers" for a few hours working on their tans, that's it. They're saying it's looking at Xmas for an opening and all the staff seemed frustrated about the slow process. It was unfortunate but we went to their sister resort for a pool day, no hot tub there though. Because, the pool was down we were able to use their beach toys and chairs, umbrellas, for free. I am glad because I would have been angry about paying to use old beach chairs and dollar store beach toys, they should be open to use by guests for free, all the time, but normally they charge $5 per item or $20/week.
We ate at the resort restaurant with a coupon due to the pool inconvenience and it was o.k. Old deli style with silk flowers on the table. Food was ok and service was good seen as how it was only one waitress, one cook.
All, in all, it was a great place. We would stay again especially for the price you cannot beat the view or the proximity to the beach and pier. Remember: this is not a full service hotel. No shampoo, conditioner or daily room cleaning. They come twice a week and ask if you need more towels or dish soap, toilet paper, paper towels. They provide one box of laundry soap so we bought some for the room. (there's a washer & dryer in the room and we used it a lot, even washed our sons bedding). The room is stocked with hair dryer, pots, pans, plates, wine glasses, coffee cups, blender, coffee machine, utensils, toaster etc. If you arrive late, bring some coffee in a Ziploc bag, for the morning, there is a Dunkin Donuts but it's a walk. (our room had coffee filters). We definitely could have lived here and we joked about staying forever a few times!

Room Tip: Upon arrival ask for a higher room. There are 8 floors but any view under the fourth would be block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissesHlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

My family stayed recently for three nights and generally had a good time. The appearance of the resort and the staff is below the level that I am used to seeing at similar resorts. The pool area was closed, and we were allowed to use the pool at the sister property down the beach. The TV in the living area didn't work for our first two days and we had numerous calls for service before the TV worked. I did speak to the management about this, and other issues we had with staff, and to their credit, they responded promptly and directly addressed our concerns. I believe that the staff has a real willingness to help, but there were a few communication breakdowns that lead to problems.

The location is great on Cocoa Beach. Definitely need a high floor room. We didn't visit the restaurant, bar or other available facilities.

I would recommend this facility to others, however do your homework and ask plenty of questions prior to making your reseervation, and you should have a great time.

Room Tip: Higher floor needed for clear view of ocean and cruise ship port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Went here for a last minute 1 week getaway looking for peace and relaxation. Hotel exceeded my expectations. I would have rated it a "five" except for the following - 1. smoking allowed on balconies - we "lived" on the balcony and about half the time someone was smoking below us - the smoke rising toward us was quite unpleasant. Can't the hotel provide a designated smoking area that will not impact other guests? 2. Bed was hard and sofa had some stains and sunk in too much - I have a very bad back so was in a lot of pain because of this. If you don't have back problems this probably would not be an issue for you. 3. Condo about 80% refurbished (they just didn't update some stuff) and the master bathroom was very awkward - unless you closed the door, the door in the master bathroom hit your but when you were using the sink. Also, the master bath toilet was tucked in too close to the sink / counter area.
Having said the negative let me tell you why we loved the place.
Very nice large 2 bedroom ocean front condo for a very reasonable price. Large outside balcony - great view of the ocean and the very frequent cruise ships that passed by - really fun to watch. Even the bedrooms had a pretty good view - Cocoa Beach Skyline and bay area.
Even though it seemed fairly occupied it was for the most part very quiet - only once in a while did you hear other quests or doors slamming - quite a pleasant surprise from most noisy vacation condos.
TV selection and reception very good. Kitchen utensils, toaster, coffeepot, etc. quite adequate.
Do request a high floor if you want a good view. Because there is a lot of vegetation the lower floors don't get as good of an ocean view. I stayed in, and preferred the North side of the property. On the South side you could potentially be overlooking A/C units from a nearby building (but you do get a better view of the pier)
Although there are a few negatives the positives far outweigh them. I'd come back here in a heartbeat and would recommend to all.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank funtraveling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cocoa Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Inn at Cocoa Beach
Inn at Cocoa Beach
#1 of 32 in Cocoa Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 782 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cocoa Beach Hotel & Suites
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Cocoa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Beach Resort

Property: Discovery Beach Resort
Address: 300 Barlow Ave, Cocoa Beach, FL 32931-3906
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Cocoa Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cocoa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Discovery Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Beach Hotel Cocoa Beach
Discovery Beach Cocoa
Discovery Beach Resort Cocoa Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing