We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Dream Come True”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Resort on Cocoa Beach
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Cocoa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Dream Come True”
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Maybe it was the fact that I was meeting my Long Distance Partner at the airport in Orlando to stay at his time share on Cocoa Beach. We had been apart for 17 months!!! Maybe it was the incredible weather, despite the fear of Hurricane Earl or maybe it was the fact that the resort was just so nice...
From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we had an incredible time. With a fully stocked kitchen we were able to cook together and only went out for dinner once to a Chinese Buffet down the road past the Air Base. Sorry can't remember the name of it but it's fairly new. The grocery store Publix is just down the road from the resort which made for easy access to everything we needed including a bottle of wine and some beer!! Can't shop for those items in Canadian grocery stores.
We didn't try the resort's restaurant, but only because we are not fans of "Authentic" mexican food. The pool bar was a nice plus if you felt like a cool drink and the lady working there was very helpful and friendly. In fact all of the staff at the resort were exactly that - friendly and eager to serve.
With the option to decline maid service we were able to just have a really quiet stay. We did get our towels replaced mid week and the bathrooms were cleaned.
We received daily messages on our in room phone regarding "events" which was nice too.
There's a lot to do at the resort too. Although we hit the resort at a bit of a "down time" regarding tourism/guests, things were still happening.
The beach was okay - not a typical tropical destination beach - ie. no Cabana's or palm trees but you can rent umbrella's and beach lounges if you like. I guess this is because of the possibility of hurricanes. It would be costly to replace these extras on an annual basis if the area were hit by a hurricane. Once you adjust to the lack of vegetation on the beach and realize that the waves are absolutely so much fun, you really don't care anymore. The pool was great while we were there but I imagine can be frustrating when it's busy as it's a little on the small side.
This is a great place for a family vacation or even a romantic getaway. The sunrises and sunsets were phenomenal. So many wonderful memories for my partner and myself.
We only made it to the Kennedy Space Centre but thought it was amazing - you need a little more than a day to take it all in and can get your ticket stamped so you can return.
The only thing I can say that might be a bit of a negative is that the hotel seems to have gone through some upgrades and really only needs a little more sprucing up. Otherwise, it's just fine.
We hope to be back one day on a repeated basis.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cowgirl46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    156
    30
    15
    11
See reviews for
305
97
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hicktown Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

We traded our timeshare week, (week 52 at a Gold Crown resort- Orange Lake, Orlando FL so when we said that we we're treated even better!) Our family was very pleased. We stayed in a two bedroom suite on the top floor. We had the island view. Not that we wanted the top floor, (actually we wanted a lower one, it was just on a 'first-come-first-serve' basis.) The top floor was very nice and had a great view of both, beach and island. You could see cruise ships. local attractions, and for some reason, a ton of fire trucks went by every day...? We took advantage of the resort while there, such as the free movie theater, tennis and basketball courts, arcade, live daily music and bingo, tasty Mexican restaraunt, the beach, pool and more. The Wifi was glitchy, probably because we were eight floors up. The room was very quiet, (in saying so, probably not a lot of night life) and had a jacuzzi bathtub. The resorts pool was kind of small. Someone said it was the best they'd ever seen, clearly they've never seen a pool. If you're here for the pool, I'd go to Orange Lake (The one I mentioned earlier- seven pools, slides, and a lazy river!!)

Outside of the resort, I STRONGLY recommend that you visit the world renowned Ron Jon Surf Shop. We even rented a surfboard (very inexpensive- $15 a day!!) and taught ourselves to surf. Just ask them for tips! And we went kayaking through the mangrove channels. If your tourguide's name is Ed, you're in luck. He was smart, funny, and honost. I don't remember his company's name though. We had manatee's come inches from us and under our boats- none of this was set up, either! Those were probably the two highlights of the trip. We'd stayed in the area before, and went to The Cove Restaraunt, and Freindly's. Both were the same, delicious, and freindly service and food we remember. The Cove even has live entertainment. We went to the Kennedy Space Center. Not all that great, kind of overrated, but on the same page not that bad.

The Island (with the exception of commercial and businesses) is two classes- the haves and the have nots. The beach side is very wealthy, and the other side is kind of...not. Not to say it was dangerous or anything though, it wasn't. For groceries, we just went to the Publix. For those (including me) who don't have a Publix in their state, it's kind of like a Kroger or a Food Lion. (We're from Michigan and don't have a Food Lion either, for that matter.) Publix is probably the best deal. If you're waiting to check in and you're hungry, DON'T go to the Denny's. It's very close, but really crowded because everyone else is waiting to check in, too. If you want to drive a little way, Ballad Park, which can be seen here: http://maps.google.com/maps?hl=en&q=ballard+park+melbourne+fl&um=1&ie=UTF-8&hq=&hnear=Ballard+Park&gl=us&ei=I7xFTNTNPNKNnQeL1-jqAw&sa=X&oi=geocode_result&ct=title&resnum=1&ved=0CBYQ8gEwAA. Just follow Thomas Barbour Street down and park. It has tennis courts, a boat launch, next to mansions, you can see manatees, but most of all, it's free! The trinket shops, with the exception of the Ron Jon are all the same, just as anywhere else. So, you've seen one you've seen them all.

The beach is very nice. If you get up early, like sixish, you can find very nice shells. We've found complete ones that are about six inches in diameter, sand dollars, broken and whole, and someone next to us saw a starfish. But, the starfish was still slive so we threw it back.

We didn't experience one problem on the trip, but won't be back as we like to change it up every year.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank giftedglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2010

My family and I had an excellent experience at the Resort and would recomment it highly. Yana at the front desk was awesome along with the rest of the entire staff. Anything we needed was brought to our VERY clean room immediately. We WILL return, if not several times. The beach was beautiful and the Resort has a walkway right to the ocean. Wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisoncocoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Ar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2010

This was our fourth stay at the Resort it it was the best yet! The rooms are very comfortable and well furnished (Nice big screen TV's in the living room and the master bedroom). All you need to do is bring your groceries! The experience started with Sandi, the Resort Manager. I'll spare you all the details, but she really helped me through a complicated situation. She was very good about keeping her word and I commend her for that! Next, Carol and her crew at the desk were never less than totally committed to our overall experience and the utmost professionals. Carol again extended great service and should be recognized! The grounds are always clean and the access to the beach is very close. Both my family and my extended family had a close to perfect stay and can't wait until our next trip. I will be staying at the same resort! Don't miss out if you get the chance to visit Cocoa Beach. None of us wanted to leave and that should say it all! Thanks again Sandi and Carol! See you next year!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florida4th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2010

This was a great hotel with a clean beach, beautiful pool and lobby and nice rooms. However, We had a few complaints. The staff was very friendly and you only had to present your room key to get board games, cards, tennis raquets and balls, basketballs, and other things. You need your drivers liscense in order to obtain the shuffle board and corn toss things. However, the tennis and basketball courts(as well as the hot tub were up high above the pool. This means there was a large set of steps to get to it and it was very hot during the day( not very accessible for the handicapped). Another complaint we had was the pluming. The toilets, dishwasher, and laundry were very loud, almost like you were running a high pressure hose at a brick wall.The rooms themselves were not very sound proof, if you turned on the tv in the master bedroom, the guest bedroom could hear it and you could also hear the people in the hall and in the unit above you. As for the compliments though, the Azteca II restraunt in the hotel was delicious, even for a non-mexican-food lover like me. The beach was clean and the waves were great for bogie boarding. There were also alot of bathrooms, at least four on the first floor along with a nice locker room by the pool. They had many activities and a complemantary spa day. Also very close to the Kennedy Space center, however it is $40 a person, so we didn't go.Overall, It was a very nice hotel with a friendly staff and clean facilities.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyHappyJoyJoy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawsonville, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2010

The Resort at CB is a great place for families, especially with children. The pool with kids splash area and the beach are nice. The rooms are clean and spacious - although we've only stayed on the 8th floor in a 2 bedroom "penthouse." The Resort is close to everything in the heart of CB.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillyF1sh72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Tennessee
Level Contributor
125 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Great hotel/condo unit. We had never been before and got a great 2bd/2ba unit that had an ocean view. They really have thought of everything here, your on the beach, have a great pool with a live band in the afternoon early evening, pool bar and food. There is a movie theater, lots of activities at the activities desk, kids game room with pool tables video games,etc. Great restaurants near the hotel. The unit was very clean and quiet and the towel exchange was very user friendly. The staff were very helpful, efficient and nice. Would stay again, didn't want to leave and only did because the place was sold out and couldnt extend our stay for another night!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nstadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cocoa Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
1.2 mi away
Inn at Cocoa Beach
Inn at Cocoa Beach
#1 of 31 in Cocoa Beach
912 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
2.0 mi away
Best Western Ocean Beach Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort on Cocoa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort on Cocoa Beach

Property: The Resort on Cocoa Beach
Address: 1600 N Atlantic Ave, Cocoa Beach, FL 32931-3229
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Cocoa Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cocoa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Resort on Cocoa Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on beautiful Cocoa Beach, yet close enough to Orlando and all major theme parks to "truly have the best of both worlds"; The Resort on Cocoa Beach is a premier destination in the Cocoa Beach area. We are located just minutes away from Port Canaveral and all major cruise terminals. We offer deluxe two bedroom, two bath condos with full kitchens. There is an endless array of fun activities both at the Resort or just minutes away. Enjoy surfing, golfing, kayaking, parasailing, deep sea fishing and Kennedy Space Center just to name a few! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your The Resort on Cocoa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort On Cocoa Beach Hotel Cocoa Beach
Hotel On Cocoa Beach
Resort Cocoa Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing