We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Resort on Cocoa Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Resort on Cocoa Beach
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Cocoa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Maria, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Family Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2006

We stayed at the Resort at Cocoa Beach for two nights prior to a cruise from Port Canaveral. We were late getting in to the resort due to bad weather (we drove from Orlando) but when we arrived, the front desk was very accommodating & check in was a breeze. As a reference - this property is located next door to the Hilton & they share the same beachfront.

I booked a 2 BR condo at this property as my husband & I were traveling with our three boys (ages 10, 12 & 12) and this was MUCH more economical that a hotel. The unit was VERY spacious, with twin beds in one room, king pullout couch in LR, and king bed in master BR. Master had its own bath with jacuzzi tub. Kids had their own bath & shower, and the layout of the place puts the LR between the two bedrooms for privacy :-)

This place was SPOTLESS and had fully stocked kitchen for a much longer stay. They provide beach towels for the pool & on-site beach and there is washer-dryer in the unit. They had an activities desk in the lobby that we did not use because we were there for such a short time. The only downside is that the on-site restaurant is not open for breakfast but you certainly stock up on groceries and eat in the unit. Markets and restaurants are very close, as are other shops, including RonJon Surf Shop.

We toured NASA & Kennedy space center the day before our cruise & loved that. MAKE SURE to allow for time to get to the Astronaut Hall Of Fame which was really the highlight of the experience. It is located away from the main visitor center so a car would be necessary. Since we flew into Orlando from LAX, we rented there but dropped off in Cocoa Beach & had the rental car company shuttle us to the cruise terminal. Hertz, Thrifty and Avis all have locations here.

If you are planning on visiting Orlando and want to spend time on the coast, I would definitely recommend this resort. It is a great economical choice for families and our unit could easily have handled up to 6 guests. Total price (the best part) for 2 nights??? Only $130 including taxes.....What a deal!

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness, roominess, price
  • Disliked — Restaurant not open for breakfast (not really an inconvenience)
  • Tips/Secrets — Great for pre and post-cruise stays, post Disney beach adventure
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JRSanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    151
    29
    13
    11
See reviews for
291
94
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aptos, Ca
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2006

Stayed here for 3 nights nov 3-5 2006. Great location, beautiful view of Ocean, huge suite. This place was very kid friendly (movie theatre, arcade, kid's programs etc.). We were there over the weekend though and there was nothing going on- be aware that most of the kid's activities are scheduled mon-fri. Real nice pool, had a great time there on a Sunday relaxing and listening to the live steel band musician. Room was HUGE, great place for a family. Did not try onsite restauraunt- lots of places to eat very close by- we liked Grills in Port Canaveral. There are also several large grocery stores very close by.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank denygold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2006

This is a top-notch resort. The rooms are very spacious and modern. They recently added high speed internet in all the suites, which is usually only found in hotels, not timeshares. I believe they are in the process of updating the furniture too!

Great location, right on the beach which was clean and quiet. Close to everything in Cocoa Beach, like shopping and restaurants.

The staff is very friendly and helpful, with activities by the pool. I especially like the mini-theatre. There is most always something playing throught the day and evening (we only used it in the evening).

We look forward to our next visit in March. Two "thumbs up" for this place!

  • Liked — Location, quality of rooms, overall appearance
  • Disliked — timeshare sales staff are difficult to deal with
  • Tips/Secrets — avoid timeshare salespeople
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank snowbird_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahomet, IL
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2006

My family had a wonderful stay at the Resort on Cocoa Beach. The hotel is very clean and comfortable. Everything was in excellent shape. There were many activities available to do at the hotel for children as well as adults. There is even childcare available for a reasonable fee right at the hotel. We did not use the movie theater so I can not comment on that but the movie's they had listed were good ones. The hotel staff were all very friendly and extremely helpful.

The area is very pleasant and it is easy to get around there. We ate at two wonderful restaurants while we were there. The Florida Seafood restaurant was excellent. We ate there on two occasions. They have an all you can eat seafood menu or a regular menu. It is located just outside of Cocoa Beach. The other restaurant was Grillz. It is in Port Canaveral. They also specialized in seafood (crab legs were to die for). We had heard that their cheese fries were comparable to Outbacks but we didn't get a chance to try them.

Our son loved the huge whirlpool tub in the master suite. The beds in the hotel are the most comfortable beds I believe I have ever slept on while traveling. The pool was a very nice temperature, not too warm and not cold. The hot tub was very relaxing as it was up above any noise coming from the pool. The bar at the pool was very nice. They make really good pina coladas. We also had some margaritas there which were very good.

We went to Disney and didn't have to stand in a line more than 10 minutes. We were there the second week in September and it was an excellent time of the year to go. Sea World was the same way. Not much crowd wise.

We went to the Polynesian Luau at Sea World. It was a wonderful show. We really enjoyed ourselves there. The food was not bad but you are really going for the show anyway. It was worth the money for this event.

We would definately return to this hotel in the future and will be recommending it to others.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and comfort of accommodations. Friendly staff and activites
  • Disliked — parking is a little far sometimes
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank raggedygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, ON, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2006

The resort was great. Especially for kids. Spacious (although with three kids we are always looking for bunk beds - but we made due with the pull out couch), master bed was almost too big. The closet could have been another bedroom :) Clean and comfortable - great views from the 5th floor and a nice patio table on the balcony -great for late night and early morning!

Only a few complaints, and small ones at that.... no dish soap - only dishwasher. Elevators slow. Lastly, restaurant service and selection VERY poor.....but not a huge deal - tons of places to eat and shop in the area. The slow'n'low BBq was awesome. And Shane at the Grill was a great waiter, with great recommendations.

Great pool bar, and nice for night swims with the kids, who all made tons of friends. Ordered a pizza by the pool one night - big hit with the kids.

One word of caution, JELLYFISH. We were taking surfing lessons just down the beach and I was stung very badly - five to six tenacles wrapped around both legs. I was just glad it was me and not the kids - and that it happened on our last day. I'm still suffering the effects three days later. And am a little "ocean shy" at the moment. Cocoa Beach - don't count me back anytime soon!!!

  • Liked — spacious
  • Disliked — had a funny smell,
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank burbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2006

After looking at numerous places in Florida to vacation last April, we decided on The Resort on Cocoa Beach. What a great decision. The Resort is truly "on the beach" and offered everything we could want for a vacation. Our big decision each day was do we go to the pool (which was large and with plenty of lounge chairs) or go to the beach --- where the "friendly beach attendent" did everything from set up our beach umbrella to offer dining recommendations. The beach was beautiful and perfect for walking. The Resort has an on-site movie theatre, small retail shop, game room, fitness room and varied daily activities. The staff members were all friendly and helpful. Check-in was a breeze --- no line and a very helpful front desk person. The two bedroom unit that we rented (the Resort is part of RCI) was immaculate and fully equipped. They even had a library of books where you could leave one of yours and take a "new" one. The one change we would suggest is an improved in-house restaurant. We have vacationed many places in Florida and the Carolinas and will definitely return to The Resort on Cocoa Beach!

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank happyonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2006

Can't wait to return May 13, 2006. Have "tons" of photos from there (being an amateur photographer & sold some shots in various cities). Unfortunately their restaurant had closed while there; so looking forward to seeing what the new (leased out space owner) dining experience will be. Both of us are former Hotel Sales Directors and Catering Directors from Dallas.........so we know how to evaluate a facility. The various restaurants that we frequented at C. Beach & C. Village were tops!

Hope Delinda & Lonnie are still playing there. They were so great most days playing poolside.

I would recommend this facility for all; (honeymooners, singles, friends, families....it suits everyone's enjoyment & needs.

  • Stayed September 2003
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MS Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cocoa Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral
1.2 mi away
Inn at Cocoa Beach
Inn at Cocoa Beach
#1 of 31 in Cocoa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Cocoa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort on Cocoa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort on Cocoa Beach

Property: Resort on Cocoa Beach
Address: 1600 N Atlantic Ave, Cocoa Beach, FL 32931-3229
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Cocoa Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cocoa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Resort on Cocoa Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on beautiful Cocoa Beach, yet close enough to Orlando and all major theme parks to "truly have the best of both worlds"; The Resort on Cocoa Beach is a premier destination in the Cocoa Beach area. We are located just minutes away from Port Canaveral and all major cruise terminals. We offer deluxe two bedroom, two bath condos with full kitchens. There is an endless array of fun activities both at the Resort or just minutes away. Enjoy surfing, golfing, kayaking, parasailing, deep sea fishing and Kennedy Space Center just to name a few! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Resort on Cocoa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort On Cocoa Beach Hotel Cocoa Beach
Hotel On Cocoa Beach
Resort Cocoa Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing