We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Boat Trip”
Review of Wild Side Tours

Wild Side Tours
Ranked #9 of 34 Tours in Cocoa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Unique Eco boat tour through the Thousand Islands Nature Preserve in the Banana River. Educational, informative and fun presentations. See the other side of Cocoa Beach, Banana River, Indian River Lagoon, and the understanding of manatees, dolphins and birds, as well as the mangrove islands. Our 20 passenger catamaran, with open seating and coverage to provide shade allows for a more personal and interactive experience. Daily tours RESERVATIONS ARE REQUIRED. Private tours are also available for birding, photography, and marine science. Private charters for birthday parties, reunions company off time or you name it.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stroller parking
Rochdale / Kendal
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fabulous Boat Trip”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We took an afternoon trip with the lovely lady captain and had a wonderful time spotting birds and wild life. We were not disappointed in any way - free drinks were welcome on a hot afternoon. Our host was knowledgeable and friendly - all in all excellent.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SBrophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    13
    4
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kissimmee, FL
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We had a relaxing day full of dolphins”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We wanted to see manatee and dolphins with our in-town visitors, and this tour delivered on both of them. We also learned some things about different kinds of birds like wood storks, jumping fish and anahingas from Capt Jeanette, and learned how to see tracks of manatees. Beautiful scenery and it is funny to watch the dophins play with the people in the cage by diving under the boat.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ArtInMotionLLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Forget Seaworld... go do this.”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was an amazing activity for our day-trip to Cocoa Beach. We wanted something to do before taking on the theme parks, so we took off here to see the ocean. Our plane was delayed and we had to bump this up to our first rather than our last day of vacation, but the owners of Wild Side Tours kindly changed our reservation. It was thinking of storming, but the clouds held off and the tour was great! A small group and the Captain, who knew just where to look for the wildlife. We lucked out and saw ALL the little critters, from pelicans to manatees to dolphins! The dolphins were being playfully coy with us picture-takers, but stopped playing hide-and-seek around the boat long enough for us to get some great shots.
Of course, the wildlife here being WILD, there is no guarantee that you will see it all, but if anyone can find it, these tour operators can! Thanks for the experience!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank scipwraec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Both relaxing and exciting”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

It was my goal to see manatee on this visit to Cocoa Beach, and this tour allowed me to do so. This even included a baby manatee. We also observed dolphin, and many birds including osprey. I was fascinated by the mullets (fish not hair cuts ;0) ) that jump out of the water 2,3, and 4 times like a skipping rock. Captain Jeanette and Ben were knowledgeable, informative, and careful not to harm of scare the wildlife. It was also amazing that people live on the lagoon and can have all this in their back yards. If you are not inclined to do a kayak tour, this is the way to go.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ls_ct_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"Amazing"”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We absolutely loved our tour. We saw lots and lots of dolphins and manatees. Nature cooperated! They were jumping and rolling--many had young with them. Our kids (11, 9, and 7) were thrilled, and it was fun to see our guides get excited too. It was obvious that Capt Jeanette truly loves teaching others about ecology. They took our questions and let our interest guide the discussion.

We watched two loaded boats with stadium seating pass us, and felt grateful we picked Wildside where all guests have a seat on the edge and can look over the side of the boat. Binoculars and beverages were provided; and activity books and shells were provided for the kids.

The owner and employees of this business truly care about the environment and are in it for more than just making a buck off the tourists. I directly asked about whether other tour companies run "a less ethical" tour, and Jeanette was extremely professional answering the question. She did not bad-mouth the competition, only simply pointed out how Wildside operates and what Wildside does to protect and care for the animals and environment. Very impressed.

In short, our son, who loves science, says, "It was amazing!"

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Kellyecl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natureone1, Manager at Wild Side Tours, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Kelly,
It was great to meet your family. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Capt. Jeanette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Side Tours also viewed

Cocoa Beach, Brevard County
Cocoa Beach, Brevard County
 
Cocoa Beach, Brevard County
Cocoa Beach, Brevard County
 

Been to Wild Side Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing